We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shell Island Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

929 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Shell Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 927: English reviews
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 31 December 2016

loved the location and the service. it was perfect for our family and exactly as posted on the website. Our kids had carry-out from the restaurant 2x's. they loved it and it was good value. the beach was perfect, as was the pool and hot tub. thanks for a great stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alicia l
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Alicia for taking your time to share your experiences. We are glad your children enjoyed our restaurant. Our menu is very extensive as well as very reasonably priced, maybe next time you will have a chance to try it out for yourself. It means a lot to hear people like yourself who bring their families here, say such...

Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Let me start by saying this place has amazing views, decent pools & hot tub. Everything else pretty much sucks. This place is not much more than a low-class motel. The rooms are extremely small, dirty and worn out. This place could be truly amazing with a complete overhaul. Start by educating your front desk staff and then move on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CJS1958
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

CJS1958, Thank you for taking the time to write us your opinion. I am glad you enjoyed the views we had to offer as well as our pool areas. I am very sorry to hear that there were a few items that did not meet your expectations. I would however like the opportunity to hear more of your feedback. If...

Raleigh
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

The perfect get a way. This time of year is my time to go to the beach. Peaceful, serene and relaxed. Most of the tourist are gone and you get to chill with the locals. This place has a great staff and very accommodating. From the front desk, house keeping and restaurant/bar staff, they are truly friendly and courteous. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rhodney H
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks Rhodney! You are correct the off-season is a prime time to have this beach all to yourself. We are glad that your stay was perfect from every angle, to include our staff and our accommodations and we look forward to seeing you again this year, whether that is peak season or off season, we are awaiting your arrival!

Cary, North Carolina
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Stayed here over the weekend for a weekend getaway. Was our first time staying here and it was great, price was great, the resort was nice and clean and decorated for Christmas, staff were nice and friendly. They have an indoor and outdoor pool and hot tub. Have a nice fitness room. Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. bar is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisc1978
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you chrisc1978, and we hope you had a wonderful holiday season. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our festive decorations, immaculate accommodations, newly renovated fitness room, ocean front restaurant & lounge, friendly staff, ocean view, everything! Now that we are in a new year, we look forward to seeing you time and time again in the...

Littleton, CO
Reviewed 30 November 2016

My sister, son, and I stayed here at Shell Island Resort. The location is absolutely great! The people that work at the resort are very friendly. The room was not great. There are 2 sink/toilet areas and one shower area that was good for all of us. The rest of the room was not that great. There is not enough...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MammaTraveler
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you MammaTraveler, for your honest and heart felt feedback. It is concerning to hear all of the issues you claim to have had with your unit, and I feel as though these issues could have been resolved immediately, had we known about them prior to your review. If you would like to speak with me in detail about the...

Bailey
Reviewed 27 November 2016

After posting review read where other were not as satisfied. Did not understand and question if they were actual guests. Hot tub worked entire time we were there Nov 23 to Nov 26. families seemed to really enjoy this time with their children. Maid staff excellent, each call promptly met by staff. Breakfast was a 10 and omelet bar chef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaJudy1
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks GrandmaJudy1! I am so glad to hear you had a great stay with us on all accounts. I am also glad that you chose Shell Island as the venue for gathering your family for the holidays. Hopefully it won't be too long before you are here to enjoy our property once more, and we look forward to it as...

Kernersville, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 November 2016

The location and beach views are amazing. Really good post summer rates plus AAA discount. Awesome Thanksgiving buffet! It is worth making it an annual family event. The room was all you need for two people. The thing least liked was just an uncomfortable couch, but that's a personal opinion. If you are a sheller, you are in luck! Most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaniceD9
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 November 2016

This is a "Hotel" in part only. Most of the rooms seem to be interval ownership and they are furnished in a variety of ways, Ours was OK but it was too packed with furniture. Very little storage space for luggage, etc. The staff were friendly but not well trained - our waitress never offered cream and sugar. At three...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vandenbergh2016
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

The place was very nice just a little pricey. The Resort rooms seem smaller than the pictures on the internet. The ocean view is beautiful and the seafood in the area was awesome. My sisters and I had a very good time at the cousins reunion.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christa E
Atlanta, GA
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

The location and views are unbeatable; however, the rooms could use some renovating and deep cleaning. When we checked into our room, I noticed the room was different than the pictures on the website. The door to the HVAC unit looked like it had not been cleaned in years. I took some tissue and cleaned it, and balls of dust...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gtg308x

965 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (340)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (599)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Premium Double Full Kitchen Suite (76)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Full Kitchen Suite (71)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Suite (78)
Viewed
Premium King Suite (78)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Corner Suite (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
5.4 km away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
119 reviews
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
5.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
25.1 km away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
24.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: ₹ 8,982 - ₹ 24,065 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shell Island Resort staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Shell Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are Ocean View, great location”
 of 5 bubbles portergg, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all of the rooms have an ocean view and well appointed kitchens !”
 of 5 bubbles kingtutNorthCarolina, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Maybe higher than 2nd floor for better views”
 of 5 bubbles WI_Muskego, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“book elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles CJS1958, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles MammaTraveler, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5