We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
See the most recent reviews
Showing 283: English reviews
Venice, United States
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Great stay and great staff. Excellent internet and breakfast. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. I recommend this hotel, loved the warm cookie on arrival and the friendly welcome. Room was not ready but staff expedited cleaning and offered free breakfast for the inconvenience. Well trained and professional staff throughout the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
Josh R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Thank you very much for making us your home away from home while visiting Wake Forest University. We appreciate all of your kind words and taking a moment to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the next opportunity your travels lead you back to our hotel. Thank you very much, Joshua Rubio General Manager

Franklin, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 November 2016

This hotel spent tons on its decor but lacked in hospitality and value of amenities. No vending so be prepared to pay premium prices from hotel. Breakfast is the same quality as a complimentary breakfast but with a $11 price tag. Perimeter doors left open all weekend so security is not a priority. You can dress it up but it...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisav38
Josh R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University, responded to this review

Hi Lisa, Thank you very much for speaking to me about the noted concerns prior to leaving. I hope the compensation is reflective of the appreciation for the feedback that helps us maintain a successful status. We appreciate your support in addressing the opportunities. You have my information, if you come back to the area, we'd love to have you...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

Great place to eat and to just relax. Hotel is great and the staff was outstanding! The food was great for the price. We went for lunch and we were not disappointed. We will be doing it again. Also to mention the hotel is decorated in a very modern way and looks fantastic!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rubio N
Josh R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University, responded to this review

Good morning Rubio N, Thank you very much for stopping by yesterday. As always, it was great seeing you. Hope you all enjoy the lunch another time and try different things. Have an awesome day, Joshua Rubio General Manager

Pounding Mill, Virginia
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Excellent service. It had clean rooms and nice amenities. The staff was extremely helpful. It was handy to get to the location of the hotel. The breakfast was very good. I would stay there again if I am in the area.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mairlyn K
Josh R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University, responded to this review

Dear Mairlyn, Thank you very much for taking a moment of your time to complete a rating for us on TripAdvisor and for your kind words. We appreciate you making us a stop on your travels and are glad to be a good fit. We look forward to the next opportunity your travels lead you back to our hotel. Thank...

Winter Park, Colorado
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Book this place for 4 nights on a business trip. They have no bell hop or no valet. I was denied room service due to they have a wedding and then when I told the manager the guy lied and said he didn't say that.This should be a 2 star hotel with low price not 5 star with high price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DispatchQueen1
Josh R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University, responded to this review

Dear DispatchQueen1, I am sorry we failed to meet a better level of service than your ranking on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate the information and take it very serious. I will personally use the noted examples as opportunities to maintain the high level of service we have been fortunate to provide. I'm sorry you didn't have the experience most of...

VIRGINIA BEACH, United States
Reviewed 28 October 2016

The hotel was booked to capacity, slight delay at front desk but warm friendly agent made the time go fast, not the mention the delicious cookies that were nice and warm. Room was clean and roomy, very comfortable, although we realized for a cold night we did not have operating heat, agent instantly came to check system apologized sincerely no...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
Josh R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to be a part of your Family Getaway. We also appreciate you taking a moment to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Thank you for all of the feedback, including the opportunities for us to have performed a little better. Thank you for all for the kind comments on cleanliness,...

Orlando, United States
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This hotel had a really nice renovation and was very well appointed. The beds were very comfortable and I loved that they provided water in the rooms daily. I had dinner in the restaurant one evening and it was very good. I would stay there again

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
Josh R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer, Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. We are glad to be a good fit for your travels and look forward to the next time you are with us. Have a wonderful day, Joshua Rubio General Manager

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I was visiting my daughter in nearby Wake Forest U and stayed for the first time at the new Doubletree, where we had a fine experience. Example, I requested early check-in because I had an overnight flight from the west coast to Charlotte and was in need of some sleep when I arrived at the hotel. The manager Josh Rubio,...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cgbroderick
Josh R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University, responded to this review

Dear cgbroderick, Thank you very much for making us your stop on such an important visit. I really appreciate your positive review and your kind words. I'm glad we were able to get you some rest. We look forward to the next visit to WFU. Have a wonderful evening. Joshua Rubio General Manager

Reviewed 24 October 2016

I recently stayed at the New DoubleTree in Winston Salem while visiting the area on business. the rooms were perfect while working and traveling. I travel a good bit for work and the bed by far makes this my favorite place to stay. I was able to get a perfect nights sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Firestarter C
Josh R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University, responded to this review

Dear Firestarter C, We appreciate you making us your choice for business. Thank you for the opportunity and for the perfect review. I'm glad we are good fit for your business travels as I know how important it is to have a good place to support you with your rest and accommodations so you can focus on your business and...

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This a awesome hotel and the staff is awesome also. Had a great experience with Sonya and Brandon at the front desk with check in. It was a little pricey because it was homecoming other than that that stay was great.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ncfamily2016
Josh R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University, responded to this review

Dear ncfamily2016, We are so glad you allowed us the opportunity to be a part of your Homecoming. Thank you for the positive review and letting us be a part of such an important event. I will recognize Brodie and Sonya personally and publicly. I apprecate you giving me the opportunity to do so. I look forward to having you...

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
10.3 km away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#3 of 37 in Winston Salem
552 reviews
9.5 km away
The Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
The Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#5 of 37 in Winston Salem
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
13.0 km away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
13.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
#7 of 37 in Winston Salem
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently situated near Wake Forest University, DoubleTree by Hilton Winston-Salem University is easily accessible from Hwy 52 and I-40. The Sara Lee Soccer Complex, BB&T Ballpark, Winston-Salem State University, and Salem College are all within a short drive. Corporate guests will appreciate our close proximity to area businesses, including Blue Cross & Blue Shield of North Carolina, Hanes Brand, BE Aerospace, Wilco-Hess, Wake Forest University Baptist Hospital and Forsyth Medical Center. Discover lots of attractions nearby; visit historic Old Salem or explore the many vineyards and wineries in the area. Spend an educational day out at SciWorks, shop at Hanes Mall, or for a more authentic experience, explore the vibrant downtown arts district. You will be welcomed with a warm signature DoubleTree cookie at check-in. The eclectic, contemporary decor of our hotel celebrates the arts and innovation for which Winston-Salem is known. Each of our 150 stylish guest rooms feature complimentary WiFi, a 42” TV, a mini-refrigerator, a large desk, and much more. Take advantage of complimentary amenities at our hotel, including a 24-hour fitness center and business center, an outdoor pool with fire pit, and complimentary WiFi in all public areas. Sip cocktails and savor American classics at Providence Restaurant and Bar - open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, for either dine-in or delivery to your room. With seven meetings rooms and over 5,000 sq. ft. of event space, our hotel is ideal for events ranging from corporate board meetings to more intimate social functions like anniversaries and weddings. Highlights Contemporary Winston-Salem hotel, just off Highway 52 and I-40 Minutes from Wake Forest University Close to historic Old Salem, shopping, dining, university campuses and sports grounds 6,000 sq.ft. meeting space and a complimentary 24-hour business center Complimentary cftness center and indoor swimming pool What to do around here Boasting an ideal location moments from Wake Forest University, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem – University, offers easy access to Highway 52 and I-40. Discover boutiques, tempting restaurants and bustling bars in downtown Winston-Salem. Take the kids for a fun, educational day out at SciWorks – an interactive science museum and planetarium. Learn about early American history in the unique Moravian settlement of Salem. Visit the Old Salem Museum and stroll around the award-winning gardens, which blend beauty, practicality and utility. Catch a tennis match or baseball game at BB&T Field and discover striking modern sculptures and paintings at the Southeastern Center for Contemporary Arts. Golf enthusiasts will appreciate our Winston-Salem, NC hotel’s close proximity to numerous beautiful golf courses, including Pine Brook Country Club, the Old Town Club and Reynolds Park Golf Course. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University

Address: 5790 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105 (Formerly University Hotel and Conference Center)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Price Range: ₹ 6,654 - ₹ 11,224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winston - Salem - University Parkway Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hotel restaurant has great food with a great staff.”
 of 5 bubbles Road521Runner, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Fourth floor quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Plandry75, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“5th floor was very nice”
 of 5 bubbles B4066PNmichaels, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The king suite is a bigger and better room the rest suck for the price”
 of 5 bubbles DispatchQueen1, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Every room has been perfect, I have stayed several times”
 of 5 bubbles 454firestarterc, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5