We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Brookstown Inn

Expedia.comUS$ 150*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Brookstown Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

585 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Brookstown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 584: English reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

We just stayed for one night, and had breakfast and dinner plans with our son, so missed the milk and cookies and breakfast buffet. We ended up reserving a suite because the inn was otherwise full due to 2 wedding parties. Getting to the room required going through the reception, but it was actually pretty discreet and didn't prove to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bonnie M
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

Bonnie M, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us while visiting Winston-Salem. We are glad that you enjoyed your suite and that noise was not an issue with your location and wedding receptions going on. We hope that on your next trip to the Historic Brookstown Inn that you will make it for the milk and cookies at bed...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 September 2015

The room was lovely, comfortable and clean. The cocktail social in the evening was relaxing, and the bartender gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner that was within walking distance. Location could not have been better- we were able to easily walk over to Old Salem and make the most of our brief time there. I highly recommend Brookstown Inn!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ljeanne18
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

Ljeanne18, Thank you for sharing about your recent experience at the Historic Brookstown Inn. Great hospitality is our number one priority here and it is always a pleasure to hear that we are succeeding. Our property is an easy and beautiful walk to Old Salem Museums & Gardens. We are glad that you had time during your trip to visit...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 20 September 2015

We spent one night for a next day visit to Wake Forest. The hotel is about 10 minutes away. Positives: Staff was friendly. Has charm, you can tell it is a renovated warehouse. Off the lobby the have happy hour and milk and cookies at night Room on 4th floor was huge. Bathroom was a recent upgrade To the back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CardioDoc70
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

CardioDoc70, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff and the spaciousness of your 4th floor room. The courtyard is certainly a wonderful space for friends and family to enjoy breakfast, or an evening glass of wine! We are disappointed that there were aspects of your stay that were not great,...

Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Extraordinary accomodation, fancy interiors, friendly stuff and tasty breakfast! Historic charm and a contemporary energy create the perfect destination for comfortable stay in.I felt in love in this hotel from the first look!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ksenija T
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

Ksenija T, Thank you for letting us and other travelers know about your recent stay at the Historic Brookstown Inn. We are delighted to have had you stay with us during your trip to Winston-Salem. Your description of our property is a wonderful highlight of what we hope all of our guests experience. We love to hear that you loved...

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewed 11 September 2015

I stayed in The Old Salem Suite, it had a separate seating area with a fireplace and a flat screen TV. I also loved having fresh flowers in the room. The wine and cheese reception and breakfast was wonderful. I did not get the cookies and milk, but what a great service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

Elaine B, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. The Old Salem Suite is one of our Executive Suites and we are pleased that you were able to enjoy a stay there while visiting Winston-Salem. We hope you will make it for the cookies and milk at bedtime on your next trip. Until then, best wishes and safe travels.

Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

We arrived on Saturday in the early afternoon for the 4:00 pm wedding. The check in process was quick and pleasant. The suite was very cozy, clean and well decorated. The wedding, reception and meal were beyond amazing. Every staff member we encountered during our stay was courteous and helpful. We will definitely come back when we can stay longer....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracy K
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

Tracy K, Thank you for your review. Our staff takes pride in helping guests in all of their needs and we will pass your praise onto them. We are so happy to have been a part of the Newman wedding weekend! Such a wonderful group of people and a joyous occasion. We thank you for letting others know about us...

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 1 September 2015

I found this hotel on TripAdvisor and studied the reviews. I stayed for two nights in a suite. I was very impressed that this hotel has an historic designation as a former cotton mill. The parking was easy. The staff was helpful and polite. Walking through the lobby you will see historic photos of the building's former use. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judge247
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

Judge247, We thank you for your kind words and review of our property. We are delighted to hear that you took the recommendation from fellow travelers on TripAdvisor and enjoyed a stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn. Your review has captured the essence of our Inn; the warmth and comforting atmosphere that we strive to provide for all...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 28 August 2015

I just stayed for two nights at the Brookstown Inn. It is an historically significant site which originally was a manufacturing plant. The renovations into an inn are just wonderful; the staff so nice (yes, of course it is in the south). We missed out on the free drinks in the evening because we were at the Winston-Salem Open and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary Moore R
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

Mary Moore R, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn. We are so proud that we are the best inn you have ever stayed in! Hopefully on your next trip to Winston-Salem you will have time in the evening to join us during our wine and cheese reception....

Charlotte, NC
Reviewed 26 August 2015

I had given this hotel a great build up to my friend as I had heard so many excellent comments on it through the years. Unfortunately, our room was very much in need of renovation and a thorough cleaning. It had a permanently closed door to the street that was unsightly and filthy. The air conditioning in the room did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dowagerton2
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

dowagerton2, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us in July. We are disheartened that your time at the Historic Brookstown Inn did not meet your expectations. We are very sorry that you did not receive a timely response from us concerning your stay, unfortunately we do not have any record of your...

Reviewed 25 August 2015

We loved our stay. The room was spacious and well appointed. The lobby area and courtyard were very nice. Parking was plentiful. The staff was very helpful The Winston Visitor Center, Children's Museum, and Old Salem were all in easy walking distance. A great stay indeed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lee C
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

Lee C, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are glad to have had you as a guest here during the RJR Reunion. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy a nice walk to our neighbors at the Children’s Museum and Old Salem during your time here at...

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
4.6 km away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
412 reviews
0.9 km away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
186 reviews
11.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
0.3 km away
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rate includes hot breakfast, complimentary wine and cheese reception in the evenings, cookies and milk at bedtime. The Brookstown Inn was built in 1837. The Inn has the charm and ambiance of old-world architecture with all the conveniences of a modern conference facility. Its hallmarks of exposed brick walls and wooden beams enhance its Early American decor and help you escape to the charm of yesteryear. We are within a short walk of the restored 1766 Moravian village of Old Salem and convenient to the Winston-Salem business district, North Carolina School of the Arts, the Southeastern Center for Contemporary Arts (SECCA), Winston Salem State University, Wake Forest University, and Salem College. The property is also only a short distance from Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center and Forsyth Memorial Hospital. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brookstown Inn

Address: 200 Brookstown Ave, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5209
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Price Range: ₹ 9,241 - ₹ 12,860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brookstown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brookstown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookstown Hotel Winston Salem
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Brookstown Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Brookstown Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel has numerous suites that are unique and reasonably priced.”
Sam12681268, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 222 has 2 lg windows overlooking beautifully landscaped central courtyard. Centrally located between parking lot and all common areas.”
PandEPoultry, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“If mobility impaired talk to the staff before reserving a room”
MarkG102, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 308 is cavernous with two double beds”
scott6459, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Only a suite”
Offrah, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 150* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 150
getaroom.comUS$ 155
Brookstown InnUS$ 154
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates