We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Riverwalk

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Riverwalk
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riverwalk
See the most recent reviews
Showing 267: English reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I purchased the living social deal because I figured that the #1 ranked B & B doesn't come up everyday. Anyway this was my first B & B and I now know why it is ranked number 1. Mr Michael was extremely helpful and if you want to know the best places to eat during you stay he knows them...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nwmorgan
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was the first time I had stayed in the historic district of Wilmington. Living Social had a great deal to stay at The Clarendon Inn that I couldn't pass up, especially after reading the reviews here. The location was perfect, which allowed us to pretty much park the car and walk to wherever we wanted. Our host Mike was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank machu500
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I took my boyfriend this to the Clarendon for a quick Valentine's weekend getaway. I got a deal through Living Social for 2 nights, which included breakfast and a bottle of wine all for under $200! I have been to the Wilmington area a bunch but usually stay at the beach and then come downtown for a night. Staying downtown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NC_BeachGurl
North Carolina
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed at Clarendon Inn in Wilmington, NC on December 25 and 25 this past year (2011). We were very pleased with the accomodatons and the price as well as the friendliness of the staff and the excellent trip preparation emails we received from the Innkeeper to make our stay more enjoyable. We were concerned about the availability of places...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Breck S
InnkeeperMichael, Manager at Hotel Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review of the Clarendon Inn. It was our pleasure to share the Christmas holidays with you and your family. We strive to give the very best customer service to all of our guest and it is nice to hear that we are doing a good job. We look forward to having you visit us...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed there for a wedding. It is a nice place. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The hotel is located within walking distance of many good bars and restaurants as well as the river walk in Wilmington. We loved the outside patio on the street side. It is an nice area to sit and have a drink and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Hangry
InnkeeperMichael, Manager at Hotel Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Clarendon Inn. I want to apologize for appearing to be condecending when asked where to put the dirty dishes. I simply was pointing you and others to the place designated for dirty dishes. We strive to give the very best customer service and I...

Cary, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Great location, very friendly service, rooms were clean and big, very reasonably priced. Only aspect keeping this from 5 stars is the breakfast was only so-so. For an "inn" the breakfast was fine, but as a bed-and-breakfast, the breakfast was so-so.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DurhamTerp
InnkeeperMichael, Manager at Hotel Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for lovely comments about your recent stay at the Clarendon Inn. As you stated our breakfast is really designed more as an Inn breakfast as that is truly what we are. We are not a typical B&B in a lovely victorian home. We operate under a B&B license because we are not a hotel or motel and B&B...

Teaneck,NJ
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This most pleasant bed and breakfast is not your stereotyped "quaint" B&B but rather a modern facility with large hallways, a spacious computer room and a comfortable dining area serving a very nice,tasty breakfast prepared by its delightful operator, Michael. Rooms are equally comfortable, sufficiently large with adequately sized,modern bathrooms.Well-located near several of Wilmongton's top restaurants, it has fair prices...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank efarkasTeaneck_NJ
San Rafael, California
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This is a lovely, extremely well-maintained B&B in the heart of Wilmington, NC, very quiet location, but easy walking distance to everything. The rooms and public areas are very attractive, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. Michael, the innkeeper, is a true professional and was very helpful, accommodating, and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marney C
Delaware
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed here in late November. I can't say enough good about this place, the innkeepers, the location, the cleanliness, the room decor. ALL FIVE STARS! The Innkeeper is so personable and helpful. I am picky about Inns, but nothing below a five star rating on any part of this place. I can't wait to return!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank S Paige
CHarleston SC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My fiance & I stayed here for a weekend night for a short overnight trip. The Inn itself is very clean and well decorated, the rooms are all very nice & there is plenty of privacy. We thought the price was very reasonable and its location (we were walking everywhere downtown/on the river front) is perfect! Michael's breakfast was delicious,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenn5215
InnkeeperMichael, Manager at Hotel Riverwalk, responded to this review

We are continually humbled by the very kind words of our guest. "Thank you" just does not seem adequate to convey our heartfelt appreciation for your kindness. Just a reminder that Wilmington is a beautiful place to spend a few days or a weekend during the Holiday season. The beautiful historic downtown business area and historic homes are all beautifully...

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.6 km away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.7 km away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 45 in Wilmington
1,236 reviews
0.5 km away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#26 of 45 in Wilmington
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
10.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
0.1 km away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 45 in Wilmington
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Riverwalk is ideally located in the heart of downtown Wilmington, NC, just steps away from the unique shops, fine restaurants and entertainment offered in the historic district. The property's convenient and central location allows our guests to easily take in all the sights and sounds Wilmington has to offer from strolling down the Cape Fear River Walk, enjoying the great weather, watching a film crew on location or savoring a beautiful sunset over downtown and the river. Formerly the Claredon Inn, Hotel Riverwalk has undergone extensive renovations that provides our guests with a casual yet sophisticated lodging experience. Our spacious and comfortable rooms now feature king beds with upholstered headboards, new luxury mattresses, upscale linens and flat screen televisions. Rooms also provide guests with complimentary wireless internet, expanded cable package, refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, iron with board, hairdryer and a writing desk. All rooms have individually controlled central heating and air, ceiling fans and a beautiful bathroom stocked with plush towels and William Roam all-American made toiletries. Complimentary on-site parking is provided and Hotel Riverwalk is a secured facility only accessible to our guests. There are three patio areas that surround the property for guest use. Smoking is not permitted except in designated areas. Each morning our guests are provided a Grab & Go continental breakfast to be enjoyed in the transformed lobby, on the patio or in the guests' room. Office Hours are from 9:00am to 7:00pm. Check-in is from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Check out time is 11:00am. We are unable to accommodate children under age of 12. We are unable to accommodate pets but will be happy to refer you to local boarding facilities. We look forward to having you as our guest and working to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Riverwalk

Address: 117 S 2nd St, Now Open & Taking Reservations, Wilmington, NC 28401-4458 (Formerly Clarendon Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Price Range: ₹ 9,006 - ₹ 16,533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Wilmington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Riverwalk staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Riverwalk staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are great; depends if you want king bed or two queens.”
 of 5 bubbles MomoK57, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“quiet and cozy, but yet close to everything downtown. ceiling fan and quiet AC with the perfect level of white noise to put you to sleep”
 of 5 bubbles F7262RMmattb, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are nicely appointed, beds are extremely comfortable and owner Troy is very helpful and accommodating”
 of 5 bubbles machome2, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles jmb4325, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing 2nd Street have light at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 2-from-nc, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5