We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Booking.comUS$ 68*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 142*
US$ 68*
Great Deal
US$ 73*
US$ 73*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 161: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went to this hotel as it was close to the hospital my mother was staying in. The tv volume was broken/stuck on low, there were yellow pee stains down the bowl of the toilet, the sink was rusted and dripped there was crumbs under the table, dust and dirt.... it was very dingy!!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 547neilt
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Dear 547neilt, Please accept our sincerest apologies for the housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay in our hotel. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we want to assure you that the housekeeping issues which you have brought to our attention are being addressed with renewed efforts to improve upon our policies to...

Sussex, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One star is being generous for this place. First of all we showed up at 1:50 to check in and were turned away and told that check in was at 3, and there were no cars in the lot at all. We came back at 3 and were told that we were the only ones booked for tonight (but still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miranda2221
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Dear miranda2221, Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and detailed review regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. I am very sorry to hear of the difficulties you experienced with our internet connection, We already informed management about this already as we see this a serious matter. We promise to be more careful soon...

Beaufort, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

I don't mind basic; I don't mind showing some age, but I do mind a lack of cleanliness. The straw that broke the camel's back was the large wad of hair around the drain in the bathtub; that was just gross - and showed gross negligence. Sorry, but I certainly won't go back to this Howard Johnson Express. I only...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johngJ4891HK
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Dear johngJ4891HK, We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we want to assure you that the housekeeping issues which you have brought to our attention are being addressed with renewed efforts to improve upon our policies to ensure that each guest has a pleasant and comfortable experience in the future. We understand that you are...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank crystalmF1822RK
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was satisfactory . Everything worked. However , the maids did not clean the room very well. The beds were not made as well as I make mine at home. Just kind of thrown together. The price for the room was not a good value. I will let people know about my dissatisfaction on yelp and Facebook.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A2052AArobertc
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Dear A2052AArobertc, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we want to assure you that the housekeeping issues which you have brought to our attention are being addressed with renewed efforts to improve upon our policies to ensure that each guest has a pleasant and comfortable experience in the future.

Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E6934XArobertw
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Wilson, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was decent and contained what I needed which was mainly a place to lay my head at night and somewhere to shower. I do not require too much. What did bother me is that they advertise to be clean and tell you to leave the linens on the floor or in the tub if you want new and...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O3019ZHjessicam
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Dear O3019ZHjessicam, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable,...

Hope Mills, North Carolina
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jolynnq2017
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Sanford, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 April 2017

The place was clean and the desk personal were pleasant, but some one is tying to use my credit card I booked the room with.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank richarddU259SA
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

Dear richarddU259SA, I am very sorry to hear of the miscommunication and inconveniences that you experienced with you credit card, Please feel free to contact us if this situation has not been resolved to your satisfaction. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you give us a chance to serve you again...

Belhaven, North Carolina
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davidgV1464PF
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this review

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
1.4 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#35 of 44 in Wilmington
132 reviews
1.7 km away
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
#41 of 44 in Wilmington
236 reviews
1.3 km away
Quality Inn Wilmington
Quality Inn Wilmington
#33 of 44 in Wilmington
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 44 in Wilmington
78 reviews
2.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
1.6 km away
Jameson Inn Wilmington
Jameson Inn Wilmington
#27 of 44 in Wilmington
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Address: 3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403-1403
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Price Range: ₹ 4,071 - ₹ 8,013 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Wilmington
Wilmington Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“comeback after their renovation is done”
MatthewT561, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were street level.”
memecoble, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are comfortable and you are able to park right in front of room.”
jameseleeper, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go Somewhere Else!”
582chuckp, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Try to get a room close to the lobby.”
WeBJamman, 26 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 68* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 73
TravelocityUS$ 73
AMOMAUS$ 142
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates