We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wingate by Wyndham Southport

1511 N Howe St, Southport, NC 28461-2608
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Artshak Studio and Gallery
    1.2 km
  • 2 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 3 January 2016
survey
Stay over. It was hair everywhere. It was a lot. I didn't say... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

872 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Southport
See the most recent reviews
Showing 871: English reviews
Burlington, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 January 2016

My room was hot. A/C not working. I was too tired upon arrival to change rooms immdiately. The front desk clerk "pushed some buttons" to see if she could get it working. It seemed like it was blowing a bit cooler so we decided to let it run to see if it would cool the room. We went out and...

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanessafZ9990DO
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Ddear Guest, Thank you for supplying us with the concerns that you had during your stay with us over the New Year's holiday. I do want to apologize for all of this inconveniences that you had while at our hotel. From my understanding the AC units blower had stopped and needed to be replaced and that is why tyhe unit...

Port Royal
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theron S
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Englewood, New Jersey
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Our room was clean, quiet, well appointed and spacious with a mini refrigerator. Breakfast was supplied in the downstairs area. There is a pool outside. Business center and very limited gym facility on premise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJRLURAY
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Wingate Hotel in Southport for your lodging during your visit. We appreciate you taking the time out of your schedule to post a review regarding your stay. Hope to see you in the future. Wingate By Wyndham Southport, NC

Asheboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 9 December 2015

This was our 1st trip to Southport and a first at a Wingate by Wyndham. We were here 4 days and 3 nights and had a wonderful time. Staff was courteous and so helpful. The breakfast was an added plus. This hotel appeared to be full, but was very quiet and we were on the 1st floor.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael51r
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear from you and to learn that we were able to give you a pleasant, comfortable and convenient experience. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the breakfast and service. It means a lot to hear from guests who are satisfied with our services and amenities. Thank you for sharing this review.

Hillsborough, New Jersey
Reviewed 7 December 2015

The room seemed clean enough but had a distinct musty smell . I think the a/c filter needed cleaning . The smell got less and less as the few days went by. I would stay here again only after a room inspection first. Sevice was very good and location , excellent.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joepU6159TC
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for supplying us with the concerns you had during your stay. We want to apologize for the musty smell in your room and notify you that we have mentioned this issue to the housekeeping staff and maintenance personnel so it can be taken care of as soon as possible. We are glad to hear that everything...

Reviewed 2 December 2015 via mobile

I stay here on a regular basis due to work so I have come to think of this place as a second home. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff is excellent. I highly recommend you stay a night. I'm betting you will want to stay another?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We just want to thank you for your nice comments regarding your stays with us. We are delighted to know that you think of our hotel as your second home and that the rooms are comfortable. Will let the staff know that you think they are excellent. Also thank you for recommending to others our hotel. Wingate Southport...

Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewed 20 November 2015

First time in the area, visiting friends on Oak Island. Clean, comfortable, quiet room. Nice breakfast. Great price compared to other hotels in the area. Irish bar and Walgreens only steps away. Had a problem with the room phones not working but the night receptionist was very attentive and tried to solve the problem herself. Although it turned out that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marq57
WingateSouthpor... N, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. We are happy to hear that our front desk employee tried to come up with a solution to your problem with the phones. We are sorry that it could not be fixed during your stay. We will bring this up in our next employee meeting...

asheboro
Reviewed 16 November 2015

They require a photo ID to get a room. Took my license and entered info on computer, supposedly to return any lost item. No photo Id no room. Curtains in room bad shape holes and tears. Exposed wiring (18 inches) from a/c on floor, was instructed by front desk to kick it under the A/C! Outside spot light was aimed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joseph g
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize that you had an overall unsatisfactory experience in our hotel. Rest assured that this will be forwarded to our management to have them look into it and also to our staff to have them reminded of their duties. We hope that you can still give us another chance to prove how much we value your business on...

Kenosha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 14 November 2015

This was a weekend trip to see Southport NC. The location was ok, about 1 mile away from tourist attractions. It is in a strip mall parking lot,which I thought was odd,but turned out to be a bonus! There is an Irish restaurant & a new local brewery! The hotel was beautiful,had great amenities & a full breakfast. The staff...

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rjer2015
WingateSouthpor... N, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for commenting on your stay. We are glad that everything was to your liking and that the staff was very helpful. We hope you stay with us again in the future. Wingate by Wyndham Southport, NC

United States
Reviewed 11 November 2015

The couch pillows that are used for the bed should be replaced with full-sized King Pillows The couch pillows that are used for the bed should be replaced with full-sized King Collin . Most uncomfortable pillows I've ever had at a hotel

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank benjaminlg2015
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for commenting on your stay with us. The small brown pillows that are on the beds are decorative pillows (just for looks). Sorry that you thought the standard pillows on the bed was uncomfortable, they are the Wyndham Brand pillows that we have to order and have in the hotel. Will mention to management that we...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
460 reviews
2.8 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
216 reviews
9.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
390 reviews
16.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
16.4 km away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located 45 minutes from Fort Fisher Aquarium in Kure Beach NC ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Southport

Address: 1511 N Howe St, Southport, NC 28461-2608
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Price Range: ₹ 5,664 - ₹ 10,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Southport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Southport Hotel Southport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wingate by Wyndham Southport staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Wingate by Wyndham Southport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Run run very fast Hampton inn is up the road”
 of 5 bubbles robertbI5457UL, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try staying at another hotal”
 of 5 bubbles 562rp2, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Did not see any preferences”
 of 5 bubbles bljh2014, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Hard to see where to turn in - use the shopping center entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles 633coleenw, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 314 which was on the corner by the elevator. Some noise early AM”
 of 5 bubbles WendyK429, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5