We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fitzroy River Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fitzroy Crossing
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 329: English reviews
Start your review of Fitzroy River Lodge
 Click to rate
Bochum, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We just stayed one night with a little tent.The camping site is full of kangaroos running around which is very nice.The pool is beautiful. The bathrooms are fine,the kitchen was so awful:looked like no one cleaned it for weeks. All full of dead insects. Generally overpriced.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank C K
John J, General Manager at Fitzroy River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear C K, Thank you for taking the time to review our Fitzroy River Lodge. We have put in place a regular scope of works to ensure the kitchen is in its best presentable condition at all times. We have had a significant wet season which has made it difficult to keep on top of everything, however...no excuses. Thank you...

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 January 2017

What a huge Camping Ground! We only stayed one night, but found everything we needed, as well as space to wander round. The facilities were good, laundry room available, and cooking facilities. There is plenty of space for vans and tents, as well as areas for tour groups. There is a pool, and a Bistro & bar. Internet is only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CMB425032
JR230463, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzroy River Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review we appreciate your time and comments

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Stayed here for a few nights in one of the safari tents. It was like glamping and didn't even feel like we were in a tent. Spacious and clean with attached bathroom. There was a fan inside and at night it was cool enough to sleep. The restaurant was expensive, but had decent food for dinner and good coffee. Wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shiri1130
John J, General Manager at Fitzroy River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Shiri1130, Thank you for your review. For the benefit of your fellow travellers the Safari tents are now being erected for the start of the season and will continue to be a unique accommodation option. Chef Kandula and his crew had revamped the menu, having launched this last Monday, and this has already been met with very positive feedback....

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while passing through with our camper van, lovely area well maintained and great for the kids. nice and quite as it was off season but perfect for us will definitely be stopping in again on our way back..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe G
JR230463, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzroy River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we appreciate your comments and your time thank you

Sydney
Reviewed 21 November 2016

OK by now on our Kimberley trip we knew what to expect price-wise but this place was the most expensive per night than anywhere else we stayed on our trip between Kununurra and Broome. Unfortunately there isn't much choice in the area and this place exploits it. We wouldn't have minded if it was clean and tidy but it wasn't....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helot
JR230463, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzroy River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we appreciate your time and comments for the FRL thank you

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

This camping ground is a lovely park with beautiful trees, excellent facilities and good coffee and restaurants to boot! It's one of the more expensive ones but well worth it. We had a delightful respite from the heat under the shade of the many trees. Happily recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Etypealicat
JR230463, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzroy River Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments we appreciate your time

Reviewed 1 November 2016

The wildlife can be found all around with beautiful relaxing and well kept grounds. The rooms were clean with a very comfortable bed with a roomy bathroom. Our meals were all very good. There are various types of accommation here to chose from so all taste are catered for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoMaz2go
John J, General Manager at Fitzroy River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear GoMaz2go, Thank you for reviewing Fitzroy River Lodge. This a wonderful review and a select few individuals should be recognised for their efforts in ensuring the property continues to strive for the standards for which it is widely renowned: Kelly and the Housekeeping team Ronny, Marcus and the Maintenance/Grounds crew Chef Kandula and his culinary team and, of course,...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We knew we would arrive here tired after a long drive from Derby via Windjana Gorge and Tunnel Creek, so we booked the luxury option. There are two of these self contained suites, and they are wonderful. Set apart from the campground and the motel units, they are on stilts and overlook the river. They have a big deck with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greenjag
John J, General Manager at Fitzroy River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Greenjag, Thank you for this wonderful review. It's going up on our "Wall of Fame". You're absolutely right. The views from the deck of the Riverview studios are stunning and what better place to enjoy the vista of the might Fitzroy River and the wildlife that thrive around the grounds and on its banks. Thanks again, Greenjag, and we...

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Highly overpriced tent with a "donger" bathroom attached for $205 a night for 1 adult and 2 children. The airconditioner is on a stand and you have to feed it water from a jug! Extremely loud all night! We ordered takeaway from the restaurant and were told we would be phoned when it was ready. When we eventually went up...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kylie M
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 October 2016

This place is in a good location, it is quiet and clean,I stayed in a motel type of room, the rooms are good with comfortable beds, if you want to cook your own meals you need to use the camping kitchen, the service was very good except for at the bar where some basic manners and a smile would not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GarryB314
JR230463, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzroy River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we appreciate your time and comments

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy Crossing
0.0 km away
Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge
Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 3 in Purnululu National Park
48 reviews
0.0 km away
Mitchell Falls Wilderness Lodge
Mitchell Falls Wilderness Lodge
#39 of 74 in Kimberley Region
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Fitzroy River Lodge

Address: Great Northern Highway, Fitzroy Crossing, Western Australia 6765, Australia (Formerly Flag Inn Fitzroy River Lodge)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Fitzroy Crossing
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzroy River Lodge 3*
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fitzroy River Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Rosebud, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Fitzroy River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't bother.”
 of 5 bubbles KylieM715, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“get there early for choice of sites - starts to fill up by 2pm”
 of 5 bubbles geoffreya369, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There were stairs up to the lodge if that is a problem for some but I managed!!”
 of 5 bubbles margaretc6, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try and stay in the Lodge”
 of 5 bubbles holidayauckland, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We didn't stayed on hotel. We only stayed & parked our motor home for just overnight.”
 of 5 bubbles lolitat933, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5