We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre

Expedia.comUS$ 103*
View Deal
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 128*
US$ 103*
US$ 128*
US$ 103*
US$ 128*
US$ 103*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 111: English reviews
Start your review of Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre
 Click to rate
Kaniva, Australia
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Felt at home due to it been out in the sticks and surrounded by used building materials. Was handy not having to use bins and been able to throw rubbish simply in the car park. Don't forget to wipe your shoes on the way out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KingBillyJoshBottle
Fremantle
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We have stayed here each time we go to Melbourne - about 5 times in the past 7 years - and each time enjoy the unpretentious style. The check in is painless, the check out equally so. The rooms/suites are larger than the norm, quiet, convenient to car and the staff super friendly and helpful. The location is bushy suburban...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monika40Fremantle
Violetta P, Front Office Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre. We are pleased that we continue to provide a high level of customer service to all our guests, especially return guests such as yourselves, and look forward to you returning to stay with us.

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on our wedding night after alternative accommodation plans fell through. You need to accept that this place is not a brand new shiny hotel but I am glad after staying that it wasn't. The charm it has is very cute and the facilities are otherwise well maintained. Bed was a bit firm but ok and linen very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lola_sylph
Violetta P, Front Office Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of the Eltham Gateway & Hotel Conference Centre. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Marble Deluxe Spa Suite. As you would be aware, we are currently undergoing a refurbishment and aim to provide a high standard of accommodation to our guests. Should you have the opportunity to stay in Eltham again,...

Reviewed 6 March 2017

I recently invited one of my clients from America to visit and suggested the Eltham Gateway as it was in close proximity of where we would work. After having good reviews I had no problem recommending this hotel. Unfortunately the reviews must be for some other hotel. My client stayed for 6 nights and during that time only had his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owen W
Violetta P, Front Office Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi Owen, Thank you for your feedback. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment to the property, which has been posted on all websites to bring this to the attention of potential guests. We have addressed the manner in which property is being disposed of to the contractor, as it is not acceptable to pile up in our carpark. I will...

Grovedale, Australia
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Have spent a few nights at Eltham Gateway over the years when family occasions arise and was surprised this time that it was all stylishly updated. After a busy weekend and upon returning home I panicked a little when I noticed my cash-filled wallet missing from my bag. Ringing around to the places we had visited over the weekend I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette G
Violetta P, Front Office Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi Annette, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We pride ourselves in our customer service and staff honesty. I am glad we found your wallet.

Reviewed 27 December 2016

My check in was nice and easy and parking was available almost right outside my room. The room I had didn't look as new as some of those in the pictures, but it was nice and clean and comfortable. Unfortunately I arrived just after room service had finished so I didn't get the chance to try the food. Wifi was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouLouWhitsundays
Violetta P, Operations Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2016

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and was there for 5 nights and found the experience pretty disappointing. It is very "tired" and run down. One of the conference rooms had curtains that had fallen down on the floor and were still on the floor the next day and in another, the fly screen door had come off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slc1970
Violetta P, Operations Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologise for the less than satisfactory conditions you encountered during your stay. The maintenance issues you reported have been rectified and our housekeeping department have been asked to review the issues you have raised. With regards to the coffee machine in the restaurant not being accessible,...

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Room could not get warm, cold night. Mind you the guys smoking and drinking until 2am outside seemed warm enough. Shower/bath was dirty also. The noise early in the morning from another rooms water pipes was very loud. The staff were nice though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoffhiboz
Violetta P, Operations Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We will look into the heating of your room and the status of your bathroom. The Eltham Gateway is currently going through a refurbishment and upgrade to our rooms. We take pride in our customer service and were pleased to hear your review on our staff.

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as had a function in the area. Admittedly did not spend much time in the room, but it was neat and clean and refurbished. Beds were comfortable and we slept well. Only complaint were the water pipes from the room next door were very loud waking us up in the morning! Apart from that was a very pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Familyof4Victoria
Violetta P, Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Eltham Gateway. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

The Eltham GH & CC is a very tired old lady. Old stained carpet, drapes coming off their fittings and windows that don't close properly. First room we were given had a broken bed. Horrible 80's shower over bath but the water was hot. Bar fridge well stocked and helpful reception. Would not recommend -- at $130 a night for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SallyHMansfield
Violetta P, Front Office Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi Sally, Thank you for your honest feedback. Fortunately, we are in the process of arranging a major refurbishment of the property, as yes, the rooms are looking a little tired. I am glad we could move you to a more comfortable room.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eltham
9.6 km away
Beau Monde International - a boutique Hotel
9.3 km away
Best Western Mill Park Motel
13.3 km away
Quest Ivanhoe
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
522 reviews
13.6 km away
Quest Mont Albert
Quest Mont Albert
#1 of 2 in Box Hill
299 reviews
16.1 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel 115 Kew
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre rivals the most renowned Conference Venues and Conference Centres in Victoria. A retreat-style hotel boasting easy access to Melbourne CBD and airport, Eltham Gateway is a favourite accommodation provider and comes highly recommended for weekend getaways, special events and corporate conferences and stop-over stays. Set in magnificent, treed gardens, Eltham Gateway's facilities and accommodation are ideal for short or long stays, weddings, functions, workshops and seminars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1339 Main Rd, Eltham, Victoria 3095, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Eltham
Price Range: ₹ 5,511 - ₹ 9,282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go for the units at the back. The front ones aren't too noisy at all, but the birds are more entertaining ate the back.”
monika40Fremantle, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They are renovating the place so maybe in a few months it might get better??”
976owenw, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Want a good room? Don't stay here.”
slc1970, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay at the place up the road”
MerlinsRoad, 10 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Our room was upstairs and would not suit disabled or older patrons.”
P2432YZpatriciap, 2 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 103* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 103
Orbitz.comUS$ 103
HotelQuicklyUS$ 128
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates