We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
13 Edward St, Tanunda, South Australia 5352 Australia
E-mail hotel
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Destinia.com
FindHotel
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (1)

About

#6 of 14 in Tanunda
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
See why so many travelers make The Dove Cote their bed and breakfast of choice when visiting Tanunda. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a romantic setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you. You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a kitchenette, bringing comfort and convenience to your visit. Plus, The Dove Cote offers barbeque facilities, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available. For those interested in checking out Bethany Historical Walk (0.5 mi) while visiting Tanunda, The Dove Cote is a short distance away. When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out The Clubhouse and Tanunda Hotel, which are some pubs that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike. Tanunda is also home to Kaiserstuhl Conservation Park, a popular park that is not too far from The Dove Cote. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at The Dove Cote as you experience all of the things Tanunda has to offer. Please note if you are considering the two bedroom Cottage Apartment pricing is based on twin share Bedroom One Only. If you need a Second Bed there will be an extra cost.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Breakfast in the room
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quaint
58Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 45
  • 7
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rebecca E wrote a review Mar 2022
Glenelg, Australia243 contributions66 helpful votes
+1
Charming cottage in the heart of Tanunda, but the garden could use a little more love. Stayed here for 3 nights over the March long weekend. Towels are soft, kitchen well equipped and plenty of breakfast provisions (eggs, bacon, yogurt, cereal, milk, orange juice etc). Beds are comfy (if a little soft for my liking) but I slept very well. Beautiful big spa in the bathroom and good shower. Port and chocolates on arrival were a nice touch and undercover parking for 2 cars. There were some beautiful white doves in the dove coat too. My bedroom was upstairs and the only bathroom is downstairs so you need to be mindful of that if you have trouble with stairs, or need to get up to use the bathroom in the night. Couches were also cheap and uncomfortable. The gardens have the potential to be really pretty, but they were looking a bit unloved. Not like in some of the pictures. The wooden bench in the garden was quite rickety. But nothing that a new bench, more water and some fertiliser wouldn’t fix though. Be careful when booking too. It’s advertised as 2br cottage. We booked for two of us and when we arrived the 2nd bedroom was locked. They didn’t realise we were two single friends and would be using both bedrooms. At first they told us it would cost an extra $50 per night per person, but then reduced it to an extra $100 total for the 3 nights, then told us how to unlock the 2nd bedroom. Might have been an issue with us not being clear about bedding requirements, or the booking system. Just might be best to check with the owners prior to booking so everyone is clear on requirements and costs.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew John, Owner at The Dove Cote
Responded 14 Mar 2022
Hi Rebecca, Thank you for your comments and you are correct.On the Tripadvisor site the information about the beds is not right. We will correct it accordingly. Like wise we will review your comments about the property and we advise that we are in the process of acquiring a new gardener. We will refund your $100.00 payment to the credit card. Thank you for your comments.
Read more
DAROHATH wrote a review Oct 2021
Cairns, Australia572 contributions181 helpful votes
We stayed in the Cottage, which was spacious and well appointed. It’s centrally located and within easy walking distance of Tanunda’s restaurants and pub. After our trip to the Barossa was cut short in July, due to the lockdown, Matthew was most accommodating and we were able to return in September. The Queen bed was comfortable and afforded us both 3 sound nights sleep. The spa is a pleasant way to relax at the end of the day and the breakfast provisions were generous and delicious, particularly the mushrooms. Would definitely recommend the DoveCote for a quiet Barossa getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Deborah K wrote a review Oct 2020
Second Valley, Australia82 contributions36 helpful votes
Weekend away and couldn’t have wished for more. We stayed in the studio and will definitely be back. Absolutely beautiful, generous breakfast provisions, plus all the little personal touches, chocolates, port, fresh fruit, the place was spotlessly clean, the bed sooo comfortable the towels fluffy. Walking distance to pubs restaurants, the rose garden out the front and side just beautiful. There is absolutely nothing to fault here. Will certainly be recommending to all. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We stayed in the studio and it was perfect.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
colleenr20 wrote a review Jan 2020
Hackham11 contributions6 helpful votes
My partner and I loved staying here. Very comfortable and clean. Slept well given the serenity. Breakfast provisions very generous. Enjoyed a pizza from Amanti with a lovely Shiraz and danced under the stars on the patio. Spa was a welcome treat after touring the wineries. Only one hiccup when we locked ourselves out but our host quickly arrived to save us. Thank you. Would definitely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Peter D wrote a review Nov 2019
Hervey Bay, Australia1469 contributions152 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here for a couple of nights recently, toward the end of our holiday in S.A. This is a very comfortable and cosy place, within easy walking distance of the main strip In Tanunda, and shops, cafes and restaurants. It is very well appointed with a small kitchenette which allows you to cook if you don’t feel like eating out. Lounge area with plenty of information provided on things to do in the Barossa. Our bed was large and comfortable, and the bathroom is quite large, with separate shower and bath. Breakfast provisions were provided, and in fact a very generous amount (eggs, bacon, yoghurt, cereal, bread, orange juice, tomatoes, mushrooms). Complimentary port and chocolates are also provided. We stayed in the studio which is in the front of the building. There is also the cottage, which is larger. However there was no noise apparent from the guests staying in the cottage whilst we were there. There are laundry facilities and outdoor BBQ areas (with BBQ’s) for both the cottage and the studio. Also check out the fantail doves in the back garden. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Dove Cote.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
J J wrote a review Oct 2019
Brisbane, Australia28 contributions7 helpful votes
This little place is just amazing, quaint charming and homely and very clean. It has everything that you could ever need including port , chocolates and the most amazing breakfast supplies all in the price. Mushrooms, tomatoes, eggs and bacon along with juice and a loaf of bread for your toast. Walking distance to Main Street and the most beautiful little doves 🕊 in the backyard. Thank you for a incredible experience and we wouldn’t stay anywhere else. Can’t wait to return to the dove cote🕊🍇🍷🕊🍇🕊
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
LynnMtIsa_Qld wrote a review Apr 2019
Mt Isa, Qld38 contributions11 helpful votes
After reading the glowing reviews my husband and I based ourselves here to tour the Barossa Valley. We were met with a charming older style cottage. As we were the only people staying onsite we had three nights of private, quiet lodgings. There were bountiful provisions for breakfast. So much so that we had to leave some behind. These provisions could prepared in the small kitchen or outside BBQ. The cove is within easy walking distance of the main shopping district of Tanunda. We ate out one night at one of the hotels and ate in house from our hunting and gathering of the Barossa the other nights. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the bathroom provided plenty of good pressure and comfortably temperature water. The only negative were some minor maintenance issues that I am sure the owner has attended to after being alerted to .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Sandra P wrote a review Nov 2018
Terrigal, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
This was our first visit to the Barossa. We were celebrating our 30th Wedding Anniversary and stayed in the cottage. It was a great cottage with lots of charm. Very clean. Comfy bed. Close walk to shops, restaurants and pubs. The breakfast provisions were amazing. So much food and delicious. It was great to see the white doves around the cottage too. We would like to return with some friends next time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
SolihullBrockers wrote a review Oct 2018
Solihull41 contributions19 helpful votes
En route from Adelaide to Melbourne we broke our journey with two nights at Dove Cottage. What a beautiful quirky house with mezzanine floor, pretty garden with (of course) a dove cote. Well equipped kitchen - a generous supply of bacon, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms, bread etc for breakfast. There was even a decanter of port on the sideboard for our return in the evenings! I actually wanted to live there! Such attention to detail! Disaster - my husband left his leather jacket behind - but no problem - the owner kindly sent it on and we picked it up in Sydney. Al in all - a delightful property and a lovely two night stay
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
G1176 wrote a review Aug 2018
Brisbane, Australia46 contributions10 helpful votes
Very centrally located. Clean. Good little kitchen with bountiful breakfast provisions. Clean bathrooms. Comfy beds. Upstairs downstairs works well for a couple of mates or family. Walking distance to Tanunda pubs and restaurants like the great FermentAsian and 1918.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$117 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaBarossa ValleyTanunda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Dove Cote
Which popular attractions are close to The Dove Cote?
Nearby attractions include Z Wine (0.5 km), Town Walk of Tanunda (0.4 km), and Artisans of Barossa Tasting Room (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Dove Cote?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at The Dove Cote?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Dove Cote?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Dove Cote?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Dove Cote?
Conveniently located restaurants include Red Door espresso - Kitchen & Pantry, Beans and Cream, and Kampung Kitchen.
Are there any historical sites close to The Dove Cote?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Langmeil Winery (2.2 km).