We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley

Save
Share
Barossa Valley Way, Tanunda, South Australia 5352 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Traveluro
$96
View deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com$108
View all 14 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (179)
Room & Suite (39)
Pool & Beach (13)

About

#3 of 14 Specialty lodging in Tanunda
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley is located in the charming town of Tanunda in the heart of the Barossa Valley, Australia's best-known wine region and South Australia's most visited tourist destination. At the end of the day exploring, Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley has a range of accommodation options to suit all. Choose from Deluxe self-contained cabins, your home away from home, through to Powered and Unpowered campsites. Our playground, swimming pool and inflatable trampoline will keep the young and the young at heart entertained.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Vending machine
Bicycle rental
Game room
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Water park
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
383Reviews9Q+A64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 170
  • 139
  • 40
  • 20
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mark R wrote a review Jun 2022
Greater Adelaide, Australia32 contributions27 helpful votes
Very disappointing Discovery Park, no internet or tv reception. Sites are very small and we were charged peak rate. When I asked the difference between peak and off peak the reception staff said don’t know we charge the peak rate whenever we are busy. Doubt I would be back
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check the rates before you book
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Barossa Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Mark, thanks for staying with us at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley. We’re disappointed to read you didn’t love your time with us in park and are really sorry it was due to our lack of internet and TV reception and pricing of our sites. We always attempt to provide an awesome holiday destination and apologise profusely that this wasn’t the case. Due to our location in the region the internet and Tv reception can be difficult to access at the best of times and are investigating our options to improve these facilities going forward. Please know we’ve spoken with our management team about your comments and thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Kind Regards, the Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley team.
Read more
Steve wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
If you are about to spend between $179 - $250 / night for a 'glamping tent' please note that you are about to enter a lottery! There are 12 Deluxe Safari Tents situated in the compound area however they are not all equal!. TENT 4 is situated about 3 metres from the swimming pool filter shed! The pool filter operates 24 hours a day and is constantly audible through the canvas sides. Rather than enjoying some expensive camping tranquility; you will endure the constant and significant noise of a large motor operating just outside your canvas walls! Unbelievable! Management have been aware of this significant problem for years and fail to remedy the problem! It is disgraceful that they do not disclose this obvious issue to potential guests. I will pursue this with the hierarchy of Discovery Parks and Consumer Affairs.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid Tent 4.... if you want any sleep!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Barossa Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley
Responded 4 weeks ago
G'day Steve, thanks for staying at Discovery Parks - Barossa and sharing your comments. We have received your feedback via multiple platforms and have contacted you directly regarding your concerns about your recent stay on the great state voucher booking and offered due compensation. Once again, we are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact us directly should you wish to discuss further. Warm Regards, Discovery Parks - Barossa Manager.
Read more
Marcodili wrote a review May 2022
Dili, East Timor143 contributions54 helpful votes
we loved this place ,it is in a beautiful position in tanunda very well looked after and green and clean with great facilities,the cabins were very good and the toilets and showers were clean and modern ,do yourself a favour and stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: book an ensuite cabin with a verandah
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Barossa Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley
Responded 18 May 2022
G’day Mark, thanks for staying with us at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley and taking 5 to provide your kind words. We’re ecstatic your stay with us was 5-Stars! We hope to see you stay again in this amazing region. Your comments will be passed onto and shared with our team. Kind Regards, the Discovery Parks team.
Read more
Mr P wrote a review Apr 2022
Greater Adelaide, Australia122 contributions83 helpful votes
+1
No usable WiFi, TV reception hopeless, staff not overly friendly, ground dusty, toilet blocks clean, camp kitchen OK, but really @ nearly $70 per night for weekends for a very basic powered site, no thank you, looking elsewhere next time! This park has nothing much extra to offer a stay in what is truly a beautiful area of SA. Will be looking at staying somewhere else in the Barossa next time!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Find another park perhaps Nuriootpa Big 4
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Barossa Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley
Responded 13 Apr 2022
G'day Mr P, thanks for staying at Discovery Parks - Barossa and sharing your feedback. It is disappointing to read that your stay didn't meet your expectations. I am sorry that you experienced issues with your Wi-fi and TV signal, being in the Valley we do experience problems from time to time, please accept our apologies. We appreciate all feedback as we work tirelessly to improve our facilities and services. Warm Regards, Discovery Parks - team.
Read more
PammyJ1960 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
I recently stayed in a Deluxe Safari Tent at Discovery Park Barossa Valley. I took my sister along to celebrate her 80th birthday. I requested twin beds and rang the day before our arrival to confirm we would have twin beds, but on arrival to our tent, I was rather miffed to find the bed made up as one King. A quick phone call and someone was over to rectify this. Then after using the very nice en suite bathroom, for the first time, I discovered a used wet towel still hanging on the back of our bathroom door. A brief email to the team and someone came over to collect the used towel that we left out on the verandah. The car park for the safari tents is located on the other side of the creek and you have a short walk over to the safari tent site which is restricted to safari tent guests only. Some tents are located close to this path but our tent, number 2 ,was tucked into the corner and required walking across the stepping stone path which is surrounded by smaller rocks. This was really a difficult journey for my sister and it was impossible for her to use her walker along this rocky stepping stone path. If you are coming with anyone who has any difficulty in walking, please make sure you find out which tent you are allocated first and that it is easy to access. I don't recall anywhere on their website that indicates that this is could be a problem. Tent 2 would also have the least desirable view from the balcony of all of the tents. Our first night stay was so peaceful and I felt very refreshed the first morning after a wonderful nights sleep in the very comfortable bed. Alas our second night was totally wrecked as the vineyard that abuts the safari tent area, (directly alongside the back of tent 2), had its vines harvested during the night. How could we be so unlucky! The harvest truck commenced at 12.30am and went until 4.30am. The noise was deafening and it was totally impossible to sleep. We had to check out at 10am and my nerves were all on edge due to the terrible night. I was very concerned about driving home after having so little sleep. I spoke to reception about it on my way out and whilst I appreciate it is something above their control, I really felt there was very little concern given to the effect that this had on us and how it totally wrecked what was supposed to be a relaxing stay and a special way to celebrate my sister's 80th birthday. A little bit of empathy from the park staff would have gone a long way but it was dismissed with 'we didn't know about and I've let our manager know'.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Tent 2 -hard to walk along the stepping stones to get to especially if you have difficulties ...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Barossa Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Hi hartpj, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We're really sorry to read you had an unpleasent experience with us at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley. We'd like to chat with you further around this, so please know we'll get in touch directly as soon as we're able. If you have any questions in the mean time, please reach out to us. Kind regards, the Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley team.
Read more
Kay W wrote a review Mar 2022
Perth6 contributions6 helpful votes
Very disappointed deluxe cabin 35 seems to be stuck away from the other deluxe cabins as an afterthought. Could not use our balcony almost touching next cabins car no privacy no grass not near BBQ facilities. Cabin great but won’t stay here again. If you get this one you have definitely drawn the short straw !
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Barossa Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley
Responded 25 Mar 2022
G’day kayw773, thanks for taking 5 to leave your kind words and staying with us at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley. We’re happy to know you enjoyed your stay, but are sorry to read the cabin location wasn’t as expected. Please know we’ll follow this up with our reception crew to improve our communication and guest expectations. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, the Discovery Parks team.
Read more
nfturnbull wrote a review Mar 2022
Adelaide, Australia40 contributions11 helpful votes
We have stayed here before but the price seemed to have gone up dramatically. $65 for a powered site per night. It is the most we have ever paid. The park is quite nice and good facilities for families. Pool. Water park and bouncing pillow. Our Son hired a cabin. Very disappointed as they only realised the fridge wasn't working the first morning there. Went to reception and explained they had to throw out all their food. Someone came and had a look but nothing was done. Asked for some compensation for the lost food but to no avail. Ended up being quite an expensive weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Barossa Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley
Responded 20 Mar 2022
G'day Mr & Mrs Turnbull, thanks for staying at Discovery Parks - Barossa and sharing your comments. It is disappointing to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. Our rates vary daily and are inline with similar parks in our network and our competitors, I am sorry that you thought it expensive. Our maintenance team attended to the refrigerator and advised as it was over-filled the air was unable to flow and cool, we checked the fridge multiple times throughout that afternoon and also after receiving your review today and it was cooling and functioning as normal, as you were out on the day a 'maintenance' card was left to advise this had been attended to, please accept our apologies if this wasn't verbally communicated to you. I am sorry to learn that some of the food went to waste, please feel free to contact me directly at the Park, should you wish to discuss further. We appreciate your feedback and take all comments onboard as we work to improve our Park and services. Warm Regards, Discovery Parks - Barossa Manager.
Read more
Ree A wrote a review Mar 2022
Adelaide, Australia59 contributions21 helpful votes
We stayed for 5 nights recently. The facilities are awesome and the it is amazingly family friendly.. However we have an 18’ van that only just fitted on our site ….with no practical place to put the car.it was an absolute nightmare trying to get out of our site with trees so close to the van! We watched many bigger vans ….the norm these days ….. not being able to fit into their sites and having to move. Beware of the Lpremium sites. Terminology. Many of the vans were struggling to fit into them! And just be aware that there were plenty of European Wasps around!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Barossa Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley
Responded 8 Mar 2022
G'day TripAdvisor User, thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We're happy to know you liked your time with us at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley but are sorry you found our site to be a little tight. If you need any assistance in future, please be sure to chat with one of our friendly staff members. We're glad this didn't deter your stay and hope we can welcome you back again soon! Kind Regards, the Discovery Parks team.
Read more
Nicki C wrote a review Jan 2022
Adelaide, Australia10 contributions1 helpful vote
This park has great facilities and the glamping was amazing when we stayed there. Could not fault it at all. But unfortunately our recent stay was not as good. The cabin in our eyes was very overpriced for what you got. And Very unclean. Kitchen cupboards were dirty marks everywhere also on walls etc also the couch has a huge stain on it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Barossa Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley
Responded 24 Jan 2022
G’day valued guest, thanks for staying with us at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley and sharing your feedback. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our safari tents and our awesome park facilities, it is disappointing to read that your recent stay missed the mark, please accept our sincere apologies. We have a manager on-call 24 hours/day and appreciate the opportunity to address any issues experienced at the time, I am sorry if this wasn't communicated to you. We appreciate all feedback as we tireless work to improve our services and facilities. We hope to welcome you back for a better stay in the not too distant future. Warm Regards - Discovery Parks team.
Read more
brittjudge wrote a review Jan 2022
Adelaide, Australia22 contributions1 helpful vote
We camped here for a birthday celebrations. The team were so accomodating in adding extra people and checking in earlier on the day. We had a no power site and it was spacious and only a few other campers. The facilities here were great from the bathrooms , pools and coffee van onsite. The only thing I could fault was the galas in the trees very early and ongoing in the morning however it is all a part of the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Barossa Reviews, Owner at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley
Responded 24 Jan 2022
G’day Brittany, thanks for staying with us and taking the time to leave your feedback. We are thrilled that you had a great experience at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley and you enjoyed our facilities and starting your day with a tasty brew from our friends at Fresh Bean. I am sorry to read of the early wake up call from the birds, but as you say all part of the experience. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, the Discovery Parks team.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$61 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Tanunda Caravan & Tourist Park
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaBarossa ValleyTanunda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley
Which popular attractions are close to Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley?
Nearby attractions include Bethany Wines (0.9 km), Artisans of Barossa Tasting Room (1.1 km), and Langmeil Church (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley?
Conveniently located restaurants include Red Door espresso - Kitchen & Pantry, Kampung Kitchen, and Darling's Food with Passion Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Langmeil Winery (2.9 km).
Is Discovery Parks - Barossa Valley accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.