We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Cove Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Cove Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 260: English reviews
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We felt sort of mixed about our stay at the Cove. This is a "managed" B&B; I.e., not run by the owners. We felt like the manager was somewhat burned out and trying hard to control her irritation. She did well mostly, but there were times we felt like we were imposing. We felt this B&B lacked the intimacy we... More 

Thank VA_Rover
Sharon B, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I am sorry that your expectations were not met. Communication while you are here is a great way to avoid this kind of disappointment, and you did not give me any indication that you were unhappy during your stay, or at checkout. I know that you were the only guests for a portion of your... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

The social area and kitchen were comfortable and well stocked. The hostess and her sister welcomed us as if we were old friends coming for a visit. Sharon was very good at telling about the area restaurants, attractions and a lot of the history of the island. If we hadn't been out and about so much, there were plenty of... More 

Thank Micgigs
Sharon B, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, and so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at The Cove! We look forward to your return visit. More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We stayed two nights at The Cove during a very hot and very humid weekend. The clean room was amply sized with a king bed. Two Adirondack chairs populated the balcony. The room's amenities were not exceptional but adequate. The two breakfasts we had were quite delicious, although somewhat meager considering their web site's comment: "The Cove’s incomparable full-plated and... More 

Thank CarolinaGuy
Sharon B, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your response. We certainly did enjoy having you folks here, and appreciate your feedback, we always strive for improvement and are glad for all comments. Again thanks, hope to see you back here at The Cove. P.S., just a note that all of our rooms are one queen bed. More 

1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2016

A nice, quiet and rustic place with easy access to the light house, the Springer Trail and the town itself. First the good: the wine buffet is a wonderful concept and I hope it continues. Now the not so good: for a Bed and Breakfast the Cove was extremely limited in that it offered no choices; no toast, no pastries,... More 

Thank Obbe H
Sharon B, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your response, we appreciate it. You are right, we need to inject some new recipes in our rotation! We always appreciate new recipes, so feel free to pass along at info@thecovebb.com. Again, thanks for your feedback, and hope to see you back again here on the island. More 

Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2016

First time I booked a place based on other reviewers comments and was disappointed. This place was not inexpensive (close to $200/night) and is very outdated/worn. Carpets are stained, showers filthy (stayed in sandpiper). I don't even think our bathroom was cleaned upon our arrival. There was long hair in the shower, as well as sink. Sitting on the deck... More 

Thank Tammy B
Sharon B, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Again, as I told your friend, I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you had any kind of cleanliness concerns, you should have left me know immediately when you found it as that obviously is not our standard. And yes, that room was cleaned prior to your arrival, and I actually vacuumed during... More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The Cove has a very good location in beautiful Ocracoke island, and our overall stay was great with nice sea breeze, beautiful views, great seafood. Our Sandpiper room was fine, location and view made up for the room average features. Bikes provided were great, would highly recommend to spend time biking on the island. Wine happy hour is nice, quality... More 

Thank Herve B
Sharon B, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello, I am so sorry your were disappointed in your stay at The Cove. I admit and apologize that I did miss the food requirements, so sorry if I cam across as rude or uncaring, it certainly was not the case. I am glad to see that you were able to enjoy most of the rest of your stay. More 

Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We stayed in the Pamlico Suite on the third floor and it was great. We had a view of the ocean off the balcony(which you can also sun on too). Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. Sharon and John were delightful and breakfast was always delicious and we looked forward to it every morning. We enjoyed our stay at... More 

1 Thank jatha56
Sharon B, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks you so much, we so enjoyed having you here with us. It was a pleasure meeting you/getting to know you both. We are hoping as well to see you soon! More 

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 nights midweek at The Cove right before July 4th. We stayed in the Flamingo room on the 2nd floor with a queen bed and giant patio overlooking the backyard and neighbors. It might be possible to see the lighthouse during the winter, but too many trees and leaves in June. My husband and I love Ocracoke and... More 

Thank CalypsoW
Sharon B, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! You are so right, it really does make a much more enjoyable experience when you take part in the "social" part of staying here. Our guest (including you of course) are a most interesting mix of folks, and we have lots of fun and lively conversations. We... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2016

My fiancee, girlfriend at the start of the trip, and I stayed in the Sandpiper room. It was a gorgeous room with a beautiful view. While the room was fantastic, the hosts were the best part of the trip. Sharon and John are amazing and I could not have planned such a perfect proposal on Okcracoke Island without them. They... More 

1 Thank Chris Z
Fred W, Owner at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We were all pleased to be part of your new journey, and wish for you a long and happy life together. Thanks for the kind remarks! More 

Utica, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Sharon and John are a "hoot"! Even more so if Sharon's sister Amy is visiting, which she was when we were there, May1-5, 2016! :) Located very/very near the Ocracoke Lighthouse, about 150 walking meters away. :) Pretty cool since you can easily see it from the property. We stayed in the Portsmouth Suite on the 3rd floor. Wonderful room,... More 

1 Thank vkingta
Fred W, Owner at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your delightful review- I couldn't have said it better myself! Do come back soon. More 

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (37)
Room/Suite (3)
Dining (2)
View from Room (8)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (5)
Dining (1)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
29.5 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 12 in Hatteras Island
128 reviews
29.4 km away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 6 in Hatteras Island
2 reviews
30.1 km away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Burrus House Inn
The Burrus House Inn
#6 of 10 in Manteo
74 reviews
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Suites
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
After an hour ferry ride you'll find yourself really able to unwind. Four rooms and three suites, a scrumptious full breakfast (such as Eggs Benedict, stuffed French toast, pumpkin pancakes and others) can make lunch optional. You'll love our fig preserves, made with our very own figs. Our complimentary evening wine and light hors d'oeuvres reception and bikes, together with water and sunset vistas like none before will embrace you. 14 Miles of undeveloped beach, charter fishing, charming shopping or just doin' nothin' will have you coming back! See you soon? ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cove Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 Loop Road, P.O. Box 1300, Ocracoke, NC 27960-1300
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Price Range: ₹ 10,091 - ₹ 10,091 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Cove b&b
The Cove Hotel Ocracoke
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cove Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Marathon, Florida

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Cove Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a lighthouse view.”
 of 5 bubbles CarolinaGuy, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We choose the third floor (I always do choose the top floor) for the better view and for a quieter room.”
 of 5 bubbles jatha56, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The Sandpiper room stays chilly, so if you like things hot I suggest you book another room in the house.”
 of 5 bubbles 159chrisz, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“I think any room would be excellent”
 of 5 bubbles Mulletbreath, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Best Sunset Views”
 of 5 bubbles bethhR6679CT, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5