We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Colonial Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 302: English reviews
Start your review of Colonial Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location but rooms are dated and the bathroom was dirty and the shower curtain had mold on it. Little pricey for this. It's a shame the building needs some maintenance also. Office doesn't open till noon and closes at 5. How do you sell you rooms if no one is in the office. I have 32 years experience in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dawn W
Derby, Vermont
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms are clean. The location is perfect. They don't pay attention to details like filling in holes or scraping before painting. The area around the bathroom faucet was filthy. The sink had almost zero water pressure and no hot water until after I complained. Somehow it was fixed almost immediately. Strange. Only lights in the bedroom were over the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dancingbluewolf
Cai P, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you had find our location perfect and that the room was clean during your stay. Please accept my sincerest apology for the inconvenience during your stay. I had asked for our maintenance to address the water and lights issue for future guests....

Harrisburg, PA
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I want to start out by saying I knew this was a old motel that has stood the passing of time. We picked this hotel because it was oceanfront and I brought our dog. We stayed here in May 2016. We wanted oceanfront room so we took one of the basic rooms on the sand dune looking out on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zap3852
Cai P, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I sincerely appreciate your kind words and positive feedback about your stay last year. I am very happy to hear that you guys will be back this year. Don't forget that returning guest discount is still valid until May 24, 2017 if you are staying just...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 November 2016

My experience started by placing a call directly to the inn last week. I explained I was looking for a pet friendly room for 2 nights, with a patio directly facing the ocean. The person taking the reservation, Theresa, not only booked me exactly what I was looking for but gave me a third night for an extremely low rate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RaleighBill
Cai P, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I sincerely appreciate your kind words about our staff and your wonderful experience during your stay at our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to the Outer Banks. I hope that you would visit the Outer Banks and stay...

Northern VA
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Room was very small, refrigerator didn't work, remote didn't work and it had cockroaches. We went and bought raid which made the situation worse, with coughing, irratated throats, etc. Then to top it off, drunk couple above us was either fighting, or having a MMA brawl. Not a got trip at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZooKeeperof9
Cai P, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Hi. I sincerely apologize about the inconvenience during your stay. I am sorry that your room amenities did not work at all. We do our very best to have the maintenance personnel check the appliances all the time, if this was brought up to the Front Desk attention, we would certainly do something about it. I sincerely hope you enjoyed...

Reviewed 24 October 2016

this is what you should expect from an older fishing motel. good location to beach. room price a little high for what you get. room was clean, the bed was, for better words """BAD"""", like to have killed me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
Cai P, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Hi Stuart! Thank you for your honest feedback. I do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. I sincerely hope you enjoyed your visit to the Outer Banks otherwise.

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Old, tired, dirty - horrible place. When I checked out, I was asked if everything was alright - couldn't bring myself to list the issues with this place and frankly just wanted to get out of there and forget the experience - so just mumbled "yes" and left. The only good thing about it is the location next to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sail1960
Cai P, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that your stay wasn't enjoyable. I would love to speak with you personally to address the issues during your stay. I do hope you enjoyed your visit to the Outer Banks otherwise.

Pedricktown, United States
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We had a wonderful time for our first trip to Nags Head! For the price we paid for a 5 day stay for a 2 bedroom mini apartment was great! It is a quaint little motel/inn. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. I made a last minute (a few months before going) to add an extra night stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam G
Cai P, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Pam, first, let me thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. Your detailed feedback means a lot to us. We work very hard to make all of our guests' stay truly memorable. I am very happy to hear that our staff were able to help you with your needs. Colonial Inn is truly a...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 6 October 2016

My husband and I have not visited the Outer Banks for 25 years and we were looking forward to our visit. Unfortunately, this place ruined our experience. It was WAY overpriced, the most expensive of our trip, and by far in the worst condition. The toilet was loose so it moved every time you used it, the sink was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _d22sch
Cai P, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that your experience during your stay at our hotel wasn't enjoyable. I am addressing all these room issues to be fixed as soon as possible. I do hope you enjoyed your visit to the Outer Banks otherwise.

Mooresville, Indiana
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We stayed on the second floor in a beach front room.. The only thing good about this place is ocean front rooms are steps from the beach. No Ocean view from inside your room. The staff was very nice but the fact is this place is old. No updates, our floor had a hole in it covered by carpet, dust...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lsr213
Cai P, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest feedback. We do take every feedback seriously and rest assured we have addressed your concerns to the management. Every winter, we do upgrades and we hope after this winter you can give us another chance. I sincerely you enjoyed your visit to the Outer Banks otherwise.

302 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (114)
Viewed
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, Kitchen (34)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Deluxe Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, Kitchen (26)
Viewed
Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds, Kitchenette (18)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
8.2 km away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
7.6 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
404 reviews
6.6 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,443 reviews
4.3 km away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#9 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 3329 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9267
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Price Range: ₹ 7,140 - ₹ 15,181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Colonial Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Colonial Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Oceanfront rooms are the best.”
Zap3852, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the ocean offer the best ambiance”
RaleighBill, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just don't go to this "Hotel"”
Sail1960, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we had ocean front”
js556677, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here!”
TameraP_13, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5