We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tonsley Hotel Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Tonsley Hotel Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 70: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A Wake was arranged at very short notice at the suburban hotel. The party of grieving relatives and friends had a room to ourselves. The food platters, presented by the friendly staff members, were well presented and delicious. Easy parking in front of the room we were allocated was a bonus due to heavy late afternoon traffic on South Road.

Helpful?
Thank MacLachlan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The spa room is well kitted out with a large two person spa and kind sized bed. The room is clean and visually pleasing. Check in service is friendly and welcoming, they offered us late check out as we arrived later at night which is thoughtful. If staying on a weekend be aware that it is quite busy with other... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carly J
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Overall not a bad stay, only negative and a pet hate was that our meal in the bistro whilst eating our entre the main meals arrived. When returned to our table the bulk of the food was luke warm, not a good reflection on the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Modern and inviting decor, good choice food & beverage in comfortable surrounds...surprising pleasant venue located amongst industry and heavy traffic. Quality food and beverage options at modest pricing.

Helpful?
Thank Lee W
HurleyHotelGroup, Manager at Tonsley Hotel Motel, responded to this review

Thank your for your review - look forward to seeing you again More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The Tonsley Hotel was just the place to take a quick one night stopover. I needed to book a place that had late check-in (10.00pm) and that was also close to Flinders University. When I arrived, all the paper work was done and I just needed to show photo ID. A very helpful lady explained my options in getting to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela K
HurleyHotelGroup, Manager at Tonsley Hotel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - If you would like to try our recently renovated Deluxe and Executive Rooms you will find the decor much more modern. More 

Broken Hill
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Very happy with locarion & room facilities. Bed was very comfortable. Was a bit worried about the noise from the hotel but this wasnt an issue. Beautiful modern bathroom. I would definately stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank shaz2801
HurleyHotelGroup, Manager at Tonsley Hotel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review - look forward to seeing you again. More 

Tamworth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The staff at the Tonsley are an absolute tribute to the hotel. The rooms are fantastic, the food is divine and the service is marvellous, the Tonsley is a real win and I would recommend it to everyone.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nathanbS110SR
HurleyHotelGroup, Manager at Tonsley Hotel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for you fantastic review - much appreciated. More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Poor comfort: the king size bed has a hard bar in the middle that hurts your back and the mattress is old. The room are not isolated - it is noisy. I could hear my neighbours coughing, watching tv. The service is not great - my shampoo sample barely used was thrown off and not replaced. When I asked for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank clot342
HurleyHotelGroup, Manager at Tonsley Hotel Motel, responded to this review

So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay - would you be able to email the hotel and let then know which room you were staying in, please. I am concerned about your comments and would like to discuss with the staff. manager@tonsleyhotel.com.au More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

We were looking to have an early dinner then get home to snuggle up and watch a movie. We did a search for all day dining and come up with the Tonsley hotel. Arrived at 3:45 approx the bistro was empty ( not surprised) due to the time. We sat down and looked at the menu and the specials, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clive-Cherie W
HurleyHotelGroup, Manager at Tonsley Hotel Motel, responded to this review

So sorry for your bad experience at the Tonsley - please if you ever have a poorly cooked meal - call for the manager and we would nave replaced the meal. Will pass your comments on to the relevant team members. More 

Kalangadoo
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Love staying here. When we are travelling to Adelaide it's the only place we stay. Very convenient, close to Westfied Marion shopping centre as well. Staff are very friendly and the rooms are lovely. Meals at the hotel are beautiful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank susanaA3639OF
HurleyHotelGroup, Manager at Tonsley Hotel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. More 

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly Park
6.4 km away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
3.5 km away
Marion Motel and Apartments
7.9 km away
Arkaba Hotel
Arkaba Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fullarton
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
616 reviews
6.3 km away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
6.6 km away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Open 7 days from 8am - Accommodation 20 well presented rooms including 3 stunning new Spa Rooms 2 Bars includes new Sports Bar with Big Screen - Bistro - Breakfast - Lunch - Dinner served daily - 2 Function rooms - Quality Food & Wine - Browse Bottle Shop / Wine Store - Onsite Gaming Room - Live Entertainment Tonsley Hotel gateway to the Fleurieu Peninsula & Kangaroo Island Sealink - South Road just 4.2 km south of Cross Rd **Distance from *City - 10km *McLaren Vale - 30km *Airport - 11km *Adelaide Oval - 11km *Cape Jervis - 97km (KI Sealink) *SA Aquatic & Leisure - km *Finders Uni & Medical Centre - 2km *Westfield Shopping-town Marion - 4km *Glenelg Beach - 10km ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tonsley Hotel Motel

Address: 1274 South Rd | Adelaide, Clovelly Park, Marion, South Australia 5042, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Marion > Clovelly Park
Price Range: ₹ 6,077 - ₹ 8,682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tonsley Hotel Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tonsley Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tonsley Hotel Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Roast of the Day!”
 of 5 bubbles 671leew, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go for one with a newer air conditioner. Old ones too loud and noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles TdeF2014, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Despite being on noisy South Road, we did not hear the traffic, very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 921kayep, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Go for the King room with Spa. Sometimes a reduced special is available for 2 nights including a $50 meal voucher.”
 of 5 bubbles OutbackPhantom, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are away from traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Carol196055, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay