We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Cypress Knee Trl, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-9223
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Official Hotel Site
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Traveluro
travelup.com
View all 16 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (429)
Room & Suite (96)
Pool & Beach (53)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Beachwoods Resort
Updated 24/04/20

About

#1 of 5 Speciality lodging in Kitty Hawk
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled between the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound in the middle of a 100-acre maritime forest, Beachwoods Resort is a hidden gem and a four-season destination in the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Ideal for outdoor-enthusiasts, the sprawling property is surrounded by lakes, woodlands, rolling dunes and wildlife lovers, and lies adjacent to a 700-acre nature preserve. Families will love spending time at the largest outdoor pool in the Outer Banks as well as the indoor waterpark, complete with an interactive water play structure, a hydro jet spa, water sprays, a hot tub and more. Stay in one of 150 spacious suites, offered in one-, two-, and three-bedroom accommodation choices with fully-equipped kitchens and 42" HD TVs. After recent renovations and enhancements, this Diamond Resorts property has emerged as a premier choice among resorts in Outer Banks, NC, offering the perfect blend of beach and woodlands to create a private, lush oasis of relaxation and adventure.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Vending machine
Game room
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Tennis court
Water park
Fishing
Kids club
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Seating area
Separate living room
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
536Reviews35Q+A91Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 154
  • 176
  • 100
  • 52
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
D D wrote a review 5 Oct
North Carolina123 contributions56 helpful votes
The resort is a great place to stay. Had a one bedroom unit. It is clean and has smart tvs with great wifi if you want to view movies. We towed our motorcycle and there was a dedicated place to leave the trailer. Loved that you had to have a key to get through the gate. The battery in our door lock went dead, and someone came to fix it in a reasonable time. And, they have dedicated parking at the beach. Don't have much to say about the amenities because we did not use any. Good water pressure in the shower and full size washer and dryer (shared with another unit) in the hallway, along with extra storage space.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Other at Beachwoods Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and glad we were able to help you have a good stay. - MP
Read more
Dreamer01776296318 wrote a review 2 Oct
1 contribution
Let me tell you about my stay at your resort! My husband and I arrived at after 11am on Tuesday, September 14, 2011. Check-in was 4pm BUT at 11:33am we were informed that housekeeping was prioritizing our room and they would text my husband as soon as the room was ready. Housekeeping also sent a trial text to make sure all was working, this is the kind of service which we expected to receive given our past experience with this resort and all other timeshares that we have used. Therefore we sat patiently waiting. We went to the desk several times (over 10 times) and was told to expect the room to be "ready soon". There were very few check ins during our wait so we kept expecting to be soon. We waited until 4:00 pm at which time my husband was ready to turn around and go back home. We again went to the desk and now the room was ready (no text ever received from housekeeping). You treated us inconsiderately and your visitors ought to know what to expect!!!!! In addition, when we arrived at our building there was no indicator as to which unit was A or B. We walked up the first set of 12 rickety steps with another set of 20 rickety steps to find out that we were at the wrong unit. Carrying suitcases, we had to come down the 20 rickety steps and then went to the other set of rickety steps. The wood on the steps actually bowed when you walked on them. They were entirely unsafe. Given the unexpected wait on our arrival and the rickety steps, we decided to cut 2 days off of our 4 day stay. We expected to be treated with respect. If the room was unable to be ready until 4pm, you should have been honest with us and just told us. In addition, we now are paying resort fees (other than the timeshare rental) for things that we did not want to use, after being treated in such a manner.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Other at Beachwoods Resort
Responded 1 week ago
We understand how frustrated you must feel and will share this with our team to further improve our resort as we want to make sure all of our guests are having a great experience with us. If you have any other feedback you would like to share with our resort, please reach out to us. - MP
Read more
Anne H wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
After al long year of seclusion and work, everyone needed a vacation. This hit the spot. Close to everything and tucked in behind it all. Large three bedroom had everything we needed close to beach snd pool.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Other at Beachwoods Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are glad your experience with us was amazing and we hope to see you again with us! - MP
Read more
Daisy Fleur wrote a review Sep 2021
Columbia, Maryland1 contribution1 helpful vote
This resort has really gone down. I have visited this location several times and this is the worst I've seen it. I had to wash my own sheets upon arrival because they were dingy and did not smell clean. The apartments smelled stale as well. I ended up spending 2 hours cleaning because I wasn't satisfied with how the rooms looked and smelled. Dirty walls. Dirty carpets. Roaches in sinks. I know the resort is built near the woods and wood roaches exsist but I've lived near the woods most of my life and I have never seen as many roaches as I've seen here. It wouldn't be a big deal if that was the only issue but between the dirty apartments, awful smelling rooms, long check in times, and mosquitoes hanging out in the apartments with the roaches it's a little too much to ignore. If this were a Redroof Inn I'd be more understanding but this resort prides its self on being a Diamond resort. Years ago maybe but as of now not even close. If you like clean rooms stay away. If you don't mind killing bugs and cleaning up after the previous guests then it's not a bad resort. I'm sure the cleaning crew is overworked and underpaid. I don't blame them I blame whoever makes the decision to continue to except guest when they clearly don't have the manpower to keep up with the demand. TL/DR. Dirty and has wood roaches.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Other at Beachwoods Resort
Responded 1 week ago
We understand how frustrated you must feel and will share this with our team to further improve our resort. If you have any other feedback you would like to share with our resort, please reach out to us. - MP
Read more
pgbell101513 wrote a review Sep 2021
Tuckerton, New Jersey8 contributions1 helpful vote
We had an amazing time with our family! This resort is so convenient because it’s location makes it easy to stores and restaurants! Plus it’s really nice and well maintained. The pool is beautiful and the pool area is relaxing but very inviting.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Other at Beachwoods Resort
Responded 11 Sep 2021
We love knowing that you and your family were able to spend amazing quality time at our resort! Thank you for sharing, we hope to see you all again soon. -HN
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$129 - US$451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Barrier Island Station at Kitty Hawk
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastOuter BanksKitty Hawk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Beachwoods Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Beachwoods Resort?
Nearby attractions include OB-Xscape Rooms (1.0 km) and Monument to a Century of Flight (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Beachwoods Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Beachwoods Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Beachwoods Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Beachwoods Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Beachwoods Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Duck Donuts, Steamers, and High Cotton NC BBQ.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Beachwoods Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Beachwoods Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Kitty Hawk.
Are any cleaning services offered at Beachwoods Resort?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Beachwoods Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Beachwoods Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kitty Hawk Lifesaving Station #7 (4.3 km).