We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1731 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7940
8 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Booking.com
US$ 92
View deal
Expedia.com
US$ 92
View deal
ZenHotels.com
US$ 87
View deal
Agoda.comUS$ 90
Hotels.comUS$ 92
travelup.comUS$ 113
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (407)
Room & Suite (404)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 20 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Enjoy the room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool (seasonal),fitness center, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms on the oceanfront and main building include: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 2 night stay required in season.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Telephone
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
1078Reviews50Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 567
  • 325
  • 92
  • 49
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
David M wrote a review Sep 2021
Bristol, Virginia141 contributions34 helpful votes
I visited Kill Devil Hills for Labor Day weekend 2021. I stayed one night in a ocean front king room. When making the reservation I asked for an early check-in. Upon arrival on a Thursday morning about 11:00 AM I observed few cars in the parking lot. I went to check in only to be told the room was not ready —-their check-in was 4:00 PM. I informed the male desk clerk I had asked for an early check-in and gave him $20.00 hoping the room would be ready sooner. He said he would call me as soon as it was ready. At 4:00 PM I went back to the hotel and was told the room was now ready. I never received a call back. Upon entering the hotel I observed one elevator. It was old and very slow. Two of the three emergency steps were taped off as they had been painted. The room was clean. They had removed the phones in the room along—- the facility is very dated. They offered no room service. Also no free breakfast. They did have free coffee in the lobby. Upon departure I observed a lady teaching a child to scuba dive in the indoor pool. I inquired of the desk clerk about the room not being ready the previous day and he said were you the one which gave me the $20.00 l said I was and he then commented he thought about me that morning and wondered when I was able to check into the room. I told him 4:00 PM. As I was leaving he took a phone reservation from a customer. They asked about early check-in and he said their check-in was 4:00 PM. I told him he should have said you can’t get in until 4:00 PM, so don’t inquire. He then said yesterday they were very busy and my room did not get cleaned until late. I left and then went to the house my brother-in-law had rented for remainder of the weekend. Sea Ranch Resort has poor customer service, the facility is very dated. Walkways on the exterior of the building. I paid over $350. for one night. This was my first trip to Kill Devil Hills. A bad experience at Sea Ranch Resort.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Owner at Sea Ranch Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
We very much appreciate that you chose Sea Ranch Resort for your overnight stay, and are sorry you were disappointed and that expectations did line not up. Early check-ins can be requested but are not commonly extended simply because of the narrow window our housekeepers have to thoroughly prepare rooms for arrival. We are glad to know you found the room to be clean, however, and ready at check-in time. The team will discuss your comments regarding this matter. Our resort has an array of amenities unusual for the Outer Banks: event space, on-site restaurant, covered pool and fitness facilities. There is no bell staff, but there are luggage carts available. We acknowledge the elevators run a bit slow. We maintain the property regularly and recently painted the stairs, though we try our best to do most work in the off season so as not to interfere with busy times and guest experience. Occasionally though, a project cannot wait. Regarding dining, guests who prefer not to dine within our Beachside Bistro can place an order with us to be enjoyed in the room and a member of our staff can usually deliver it. That option is considered to be in-room delivery rather than traditional room service. Though we regret you left unhappy, we hope you and the readers find this information helpful.
Read more
annkilian wrote a review May 2021
Alexandria, Virginia2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
Our nine-day stay was wonderful. Room was spotless and ready upon arrival. Check-in staff, restaurant staff and housekeeping staff were friendly and intent on making our stay issue free. location RIGHT ON THE BEACH cannot be better. We have reservations fo0r October.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Owner at Sea Ranch Resort
Responded 18 May 2021
We appreciate your nine-day stay with us and are delighted to know you will be back in October! It's a wonderful time of year to visit. Your experience here is very important to us so we thank you also for sharing your comments with us and other travelers. :)
Read more
kayearth wrote a review Sep 2021
earth19 contributions21 helpful votes
A great location - right on a long and beautiful beach -- spectacular views from the sea-facing rooms. The two-bedroom suite was great for a family of 5. Full kitchen, with a refrigerator, dishwasher, and washer-dryer made things very convenient (we have three young kids - 5-12 years) for a few lunches that would have been difficult to have outside -- the kids had just come back from the beach (wet and sand all over them) and wanted to go back to the beach right after. Lots of good restaurant options near by. The Wright Brothers memorial is close by. The resort has a nice beach-side restaurant. The minor blemishes are that (1) the property itself is "functional" and not "pretty" -- it is a rectangular structure without much character, and (2) room service - including cleaning service - is not available -- perhaps due to Covid. Bottom line, I loved the place given the beach access and the very comfortable room with a spectacular view. I will definitely visit again -- entire family loved the trip.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Owner at Sea Ranch Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are happy to know that your family had a great time during your stay at Sea Ranch Resort! Thank you for selecting us for your Outer Banks getaway. Yes, visitors who like room to spread out and/or families with young children tend to really enjoy our 2-bedroom condos with the convenience of living space, full kitchens and a washer & dryer. Young ones often make lots of trips back and forth during the day. :) Glad also that you liked dining at our Beachside Bistro and our central location to popular spots around town. A little history in case you’re interested: the oceanfront building was built after our main lobby building was there, almost certainly with the idea of maximizing the beautiful ocean views. The balconies used to be enclosed; ownership removed those structures to open things up nicely and provide clear views. Regarding cleaning service at Sea Ranch, it has not been offered during guest stays since covid arrived in order to help reduce exposure for both guests and staff; however, fresh towels can be supplied upon request. It was a pleasure to have your family with us and we look forward to your return.
Read more
vwp wrote a review Sep 2021
Onancock, Virginia211 contributions82 helpful votes
It would take a lot to recover from the poor experience Sea Ranch Resort gave me when booking a room, but it mostly delivered. It is not a resort, just an old motel, but the location cannot be beat. I booked a balcony room and it was truly only 50 feet from the high tide line. I know it is not easy to maintain anything with this much salt spray, but we did have to call maintenance 2 times in 2 days. To their credit, they came almost instantaneously. Now if they could only teach the desk staff to be friendly and customer oriented, it would have 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Owner at Sea Ranch Resort
Responded 15 Sep 2021
We appreciate that you chose Sea Ranch Resort for your recent Outer Banks visit! We value hospitable service and consistently receive feedback on the friendliness & helpfulness of the team so we apologize that your reservation experience was not a positive one. We're glad you stuck with us, though, and enjoyed your stay, location and quick response from maintenance. We hope you visit again on your next trip to the area — it would be a pleasure to have you back with us.
Read more
Cap wrote a review Aug 2021
Nags Head, North Carolina1 contribution
Our close family friend was able to use the beach wheelchair provided by the Sea Ranch. He spent a few hours on the beach. Thank you to the wonderful staff that helped make an unforgettable experience for us all. A special thanks to Mary Anne and the young man that checked all the tires and straps for us.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Owner at Sea Ranch Resort
Responded 6 Sep 2021
You are welcome - happy to assist with the chair! We are glad he enjoyed time on the beach and that you all were able to share the experience together. Thank you for coming to Sea Ranch and for the nice review about our team.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$78 - US$267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sea ranch hotel kill devil hills, sea hotel kill devil hills
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastOuter BanksKill Devil Hills
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sea Ranch Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sea Ranch Resort?
Nearby attractions include Avalon Fishing Pier (1.2 km), Mom's Sweet Shop (0.4 km), and RC Kill Devil Hills Movies 10 (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sea Ranch Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sea Ranch Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sea Ranch Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sea Ranch Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sea Ranch Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beachside Bistro, Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar, and Goombays Grille & Raw Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sea Ranch Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Sea Ranch Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Kill Devil Hills.
Are pets allowed at Sea Ranch Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sea Ranch Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Sea Ranch Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wright Brothers National Memorial (2.5 km) and Kitty Hawk Lifesaving Station #7 (3.7 km).