We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Outer Banks Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Outer Banks Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Outer Banks Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 259: English reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit to the outerbanks and first one in seven years for my wife. Our first stay at the Inn also. Thanks to the Management and Staff when a problem came up with our third party reservation. We were able to extend our stay for an additional day as orginally planned W/O having to change rooms. Extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
Cai P, Guest Relations Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

Hi Bruce, thank you for your positive feedback! We are very glad we were able to help you with your needs and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you visit us again soon.

Reviewed 1 November 2014

The staff were very nice and welcoming.I read one review that complained of a musty smell and that was noticeable in the room I stayed in (102) but it was tolerable. The room was nicely set up. I liked the mini fridge and the microwave and the newer flat screen tv was nice. I brought my laptop and my own...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelEC21
Cai P, Guest Relations Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback and kind words with regard to our staff. We really appreciate it as we take pride in having a warm, caring and friendly staff. We do, however, apologize for the bags of towel and toiletries left outside of your room. We will make sure to address this issue to our housekeeping department. I do...

Lynchburg
Reviewed 30 October 2014

One of the things we truly appreciate about the Outer Banks is its warm and friendly people. Our customer service experiences at eateries and businesses have all been pleasurable…with the exception of the Outer Banks Inn. It was a lone individual, but I had the unpleasant experience that was Emily both at check-in and check-out. I can say without reservation...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Mangia69
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

The Outer Banks is certainly known for warm and friendly people which is part of many things that make our beautiful area so unique. I first want to say that I sincerely apologize for the experience you encountered with a staff member. We are known for excellent customer service and this situation is certainly atypical. I remember that situation specifically...

Gorges, Normandy
Reviewed 27 October 2014

We stayed one night on an impromptu trip to Outer Banks. The room was clean; everything worked; the staff were frlendly and the price excellent. It was about 3 a short block walk to beach access and there were several places to eat nearby. Standard amenities including refrigerator, microwave and in-room coffee; expanded Continental breakfast with cereal, bagels and cream...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a601mom
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the positive feedback. I will certainly share with the staff and we hope you are able to come visit the Outer Banks again soon.

Hickory, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 October 2014 via mobile

We booked a house in Waves to arrive on Sat evening. Our Friday opened up so we decided to come down a day early. I searched for a hotel on the northern end of the outer banks so we could hit all the attractions up there before heading south for the week. We didn't need much just a bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atlasymm
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words and I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the property. I do apologize for the loud guests you encountered. We hope you return soon.

Reviewed 19 October 2014

I very much enjoyed my time at the Outer Banks Inn. The staff were friendly and helpful, it was quiet and in a great location. It's an easy walk to the beach and there's a 24-hour pharmacy right down the street. Their prices are the best, and the continental breakfast was much better than I expected. There is one exception,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cshepard01
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely appreciate the kind words and do apologize for the dampness you encountered. Certain times of the year we have encountered this in certain rooms and are working diligently to find ways to eliminate this issue during the off season. I am very confident in our plan as we have consulted a number of experts and other businesses in...

Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 12 October 2014

The Outer Banks Inn was a new one for me. I typically stay a little farther south, but pay quite a bit more. For the money, the OBI was just fine. The staff was extremely friendly. I've read a lot of OBI reviews talking about the musty smell in 3rd floor rooms. I was on the 2nd floor and experienced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy Z
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting with us and writing a review of the Outer Banks Inn Roy! We certainly are glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay including the location, the staff, and the amenities! We certainly hope that you will come back to visit us! There is a 20% discount for returning guests who book directly through us in...

Melbourne, Florida
Reviewed 27 September 2014

My husband, daughter and I all stayed here at the Outer Banks Inn during our very first visit to the OBX! We were here Sept 23-26. Our room was clean and the staff (all the way down to housekeeping) was all very nice to us. We did not get a chance to take in the breakfast that was offered at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

Megan - that is so cool you came down to photograph the lighthouses. We are so glad you and your family enjoyed the stay despite the noise. We are able to accommodate requests if you mention them when making the reservation, like staying in a room toward the interior. We are sorry that the noise kept you up and appreciate...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Based upon TripAdvisor reviews, we booked the Outer Banks Inn thinking it may at least be above average, especially considering the cost. To our dismay, the room was very dated with cheap towels and a constant bad musty smell. Altgough it's close to the beach and we found a great Thai restaurant within walking distance, our overall impression was poor....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank geogman2014
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

Hey "Geogman"! We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at the Outer Banks Inn. We offer low prices compared to other hotels on the Outer Banks. The Outer Banks Inn was updated and renovated in June of 2012. We are actively working on the musty smell, as this is a high humidity area. We do...

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 14 September 2014

My room was comfortable and clean, and the location was convenient, very close to public beach access and the Wright Brothers Memorial. Unfortunately, my room was next to a door that was accessible to guests 24 hours, a day, thus my room was extremely noisy. You can also forget about an early check in. The breakfast served was good, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JeannineKW
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review

Jeannine - we are glad your room was clean and comfortable and that you found the location convenient. Next time you are going to stay, call to request a room closer to the middle of the building and we will certainly try and keep you away from the door. Guest rooms are guaranteed by 4pm, but we do allow early...

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (91)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Other (36)
Viewed
King Room (18)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.5 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
1,057 reviews
1.0 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
1,099 reviews
1.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
389 reviews
3.3 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
760 reviews
7.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Friendly smiles are contagious, and courteous service is our standard. Our staff cares about your needs and will ensure that your visit is a very pleasant and memorable one. The Outer Banks Inn is nestled at MP 9 in the heart of Kill Devil Hills, NC. Let our experienced staff do the work for you. With our state of the art beach shuttle, trips to the beach are easy and hassle free. Let our front desk staff know when you are ready for a ride. Enjoy our continental breakfast, fresh every morning in the lobby. We are also pleased to offer Bath & Body Works bath amenities and LG flat screen televisions in every room. Relax by our outdoor pool, or just relax on the beach.We know the area and would love to assist you with your plans and activities during your stay. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey’s Ridge State Park is right up the road and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is about a mile away. There are many restaurants close by and we will help you find the perfect match for a great evening out.The Outer Banks Inn truly cares about your satisfaction and we welcome any suggestions that might help us improve our service to you. We appreciate the opportunity to present our hotel to you. We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us. If you are looking for a memorable experience for the entire family, the Outer Banks Inn is the place for you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Outer Banks Inn

Address: 1003 S Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-8706
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: ₹ 3,675 - ₹ 12,456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Outer Banks Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Outer Banks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Inn Kill Devil Hills, NC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Outer Banks Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Outer Banks Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pool, good Wi-Fi and cable”
 of 5 bubbles Tomsteffek, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the middle where the hallway bends are large.”
 of 5 bubbles alanbU7034VG, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“This place has second floor rooms but no elevator. Ask for the first floor if you don't want to climb.”
 of 5 bubbles Kathyinthebox, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near outside exit are noisy from steel door opening and closing.”
 of 5 bubbles lorrainer229, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“There is no elevator so if steps are a problem, choose a room on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 479gregoryk, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay