We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fontana Village Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fontana Village Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fontana Village Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 468: English reviews
Atlanta
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Fontana Village Resort offers all kinds of accommodations. There are motel like rooms, lodge rooms, duplexes, small trailer like cabins, and larger cabins. It's a large property with a couple pools, putt-putt golf, ice cream shop, lazy river, varying size fire pits, a post office, gift shop, General Store, and 2 restaurants. The prices seem to vary greatly depending on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrincessPeach71
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review! It is really helpful to us when we can details such as this regarding our guests stay with us! It sounds like you were able to partake in many of the onsite amenities. We also appreciate you visiting the restaurants as well. We hope that your visit to the Smokies was...

Skillman, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We rented 4 cabins for a family reunion at Fontana Village and had a really nice time! The cabins were clean, nicely decorated. We loved the porches and the fire pits were nice to have too. The views of the Smokeys from our porch were breathtaking! Our only complaint about the cabins was in the limited kitchen ware they provided....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tflan1
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent visit with us! We are happy that your family had a reunion. We are definitely the perfect spot to spend quality family time together. There are many activities available that are suitable for all ages. It sounds like you were able to enjoy some outdoor fun! I do apologize about the limited kitchen...

Lawrenceville, Georgia
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I cannot not say what the actual lodge rooms are like, we rented a cabin for our first visit here. The cabins have what you need. Some are fancier than others, that should be obvious from the website but every cabin has what you need.We were there for a family reunion so we did visit other cabins as well to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas R
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a nice review! We love to hear how our guest’s vacations turned out. It sounds like you were able to visit the different outlets and accommodations here on property! We hope that the next time you visit you can stay longer and take in all that we have to offer! We are definitely meant...

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Like many hotels in the North Carolina and Tennessee area, we had to pay a deposit of one night's stay upon making our reservation. We chose the one-bedroom "cabin" over a lodge room because it was a better value. We would have a full basic kitchen plus a small living room so that we could spread out at the end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SapphireVoyager
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such an informative review! We love to hear guest’s feedback, and details such as yours are very helpful to us! Like you many of our guests choose the cabin option. The cabins are equipped with everything you need to vacation here for a week, all while giving you the privacy and space of being at...

Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

A good getaway from the hustle of life, no cell service although there is Wi-Fi . Take the boat tour on the Lake at Sunset , very educational and beautiful. The resturuant is pretty much it if you stay in the lodge, a bit captive and the prices Will reflect. Food was pretty good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JLGuess
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent visit with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself while staying with us. We are happy that you were able to participate in the Lake Tour. It is such a wonderful experience and the history is fascinating! We love for folks to learn about the history behind Fontana Village and the Dam. We...

Knoxville
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I stayed in a lodge room a few weeks ago for 2 nights. The room was ok but they need to ditch the awful foam blankets. Ugh. The restaurant choices are limited but the dining room staff is very friendly & attentive. My problem was with their customer service, or lack of. I left a nightshirt in the room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your business and are happy that our dining room staff was accommodating. I apologize that you were not responded to by phone or email. If you would like to call the resort and ask to speak to the General Manager please feel free to do so. I’m sure...

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed one weekend at Fontana Village in one of the one-bedroom cabins. It was pretty basic with a small living area with a tiny couch and one chair. The kitchen was sparsely furnished with exactly 3 plates, 3 forks, 3 cups, etc. There wasn't a dining room table, so we moved the little wrought iron table in from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jtwo73
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. While we strive to ensure everyone has a great time, that isn’t always the case. We apologize that your visit wasn’t what you had hoped it would be. Unfortunately we are in a remote part of the state which is appealing to most, but not all. We do try to plan...

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at a cabin which was out dated but clean and cozy. There were lots of things to do in the resort swimming, horseback riding, hiking, boating and fishing. Just a short drive for sightseeing to the Fontana Lake and dam was great, which seem to be a part of the resort. There is no cell service but access...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveling_advisor123
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a nice review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities that the resort has to offer its guests. There are also a lot of activities to do that are very nearby, so we hope you were able to enjoy those as well! Cell service is very limited here, but we...

Suffolk, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our first visit to FV was for a seven-night stay. Here's the good and not so good: Good -- Views were spectacular. Lazy river/pool was nice for our 12 year old and 7 year old. Wildwood Grill food and service. Seeing 'no service' on my cellphone was fantastic. Room was sufficient. Hopefully you're not coming here to spend days in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent vacation. We appreciate you taking the time to list out what you felt was good and what you felt needed to be looked at. The area is definitely one of a kind so we are happy that you enjoyed your experience with the scenery, history, etc. We...

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We too read the reviews from years past. After talking with the staff and the efforts put forth to rejuvenate FV, I appreciated this place even more. Yes I agree there is room for improvement yet the few bumps that we hit I felt as if the staff was more than accommodating. This place has something for everyone and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Worksmartplayhard
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

WOW!! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of our property! It sounds like you truly enjoyed yourself while staying here. It also sounds like you were able to participate in MANY activities as well! I thoroughly enjoyed reading your review, you really highlighted on every topic and that is very useful information! We can’t wait to host...

359 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (303)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (137)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Price Range: ₹ 9,004 - ₹ 11,012 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fontana Village Resort staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Fontana Village Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed outside of the Lodge in rooms separate from that building closer to the restaurant.”
NickDanger, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our cabin was spacious, had a view, and gave privacy.”
S2531XGlauraw, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have a bit of privacy, but the cabins are the best!”
pkmom2014, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Cabins have full kitchens. Take your groceries..some things can be purchased at the resort store.”
Ithecook, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to get a fireplace. Bundles of wood and fire starter are only $4.”
gmacarthur81, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5