We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham

Show Prices
#37 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park \/ Durham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 155: English reviews
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Stayed here for one night whilst travelling through NC, nice hotel in quiet area, with nice rooms with everything you need, good Candlewood Cupboard with the usual free coffee 24/7. Nice fitness room. Efficient check in although no IHG Rewards Club Recognition until I informed the receptionist and provided my ID Card. In summary a great room, good shower, great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie1948
Darren S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

Sounds like we hit on all cylinders on your one night stay! We apologize your IHG recognition was not caught immediately at check-in because we certainly value our IHG members. We appreciate your review and happy to see we are your hotel of choice when Durham comes back into your destination travel plans. Best regards, Darren Sheehan Area General Manager

Inverness, Florida
Reviewed 5 April 2016

I'm planning to be in Durham for a month or so (extended) so called Candlewood directly and spoke to Tara, who was very friendly and answered my questions. Always nice to talk to someone who doesn't make you feel like you're "bothering" them. Already a plus and hope to call back and confirm reservations once I get my travel plans...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Independent2013
Darren S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

Fantastic! Great to see you posted such a nice review on your first impressions over the phone of our team member. We strive to continue that positive impression when you actually come and stay with us! Thank you, Darren Sheehan Area General Manager

Reviewed 31 March 2016

I found this a great location close to the airport! Close to Streets South Point Mall where you can shop and find great restaurants. Gym was a good size. Laundry access is FREE you just need to buy the soap, which is available in the mini store located by the front desk. Room are a good size, like the mini...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LordBentley
Darren S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate you taking time to complete such a nice review on our property. We appreciate you pointing out our great location along with our other property conveniences like the kitchen in every room, FREE Fitness & Laundry Room along with clean hotel. Looking forward to your return when Durham is back in your travel plans! Sincerely, Darren Sheehan...

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were in town visiting family and needed an affordable place to stay for a couple nights. The rates were great and the value was even better. We had a nice quiet room. The staff was very helpful and even let us see the room before we booked since this was our first stay at a Candlewood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimmieH82
Darren S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

Dear KimmieH82- I am so glad to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us! We are here to serve, so the next time you are in the area, please stop by and see us! Jeannie Mahone Assistant General Manager

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 February 2016

My parents and I stayed in separate suites for 8 nights over the last two weeks. This is one of the very best hotel experiences I've had. I cannot praise the staff enough. They went above and beyond in accommodating my and my parents' needs during our stay, including location of the rooms, among other things -- and all with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie963
Darren S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

Thank you for all your kind words & praise of our hotel, cleanliness, location and it's team. We are always striving to treat our guests as they would like to be treated and then add some icing on top. Very happy your experience with us was just that... Thank you, Darren Sheehan Area General Manager

Benton Harbor, Michigan
Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

This past storm me and my family spent the weekend with Candlewood it was as great. Staff was there even with the horrible weather and were in great sperit front office manager tara was a great help with my son who always has a million questions. Will be back again our home away from home.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Going2bhomes00n
Darren S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

Dear Going2bhomes00n- I am so glad you had fun while we were all "snowed in"! We would love to have you back sometime...hopefully with better weather! Jeannie Mahone-AGM

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

Been here for a long while. There is not a better place for extended stay.Jeanne Tara Paige and Andreas are the best to make certain all needs are satisfied. Couldn't ask for better. Sid the van driver always has time to help with anything. Anthony maintenance engineer makes sure any issue is handled quickly. I would suggest to anyone needing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jordaninc
Darren S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to tell us about your stay! We really appreciate you recognizing key members & management of our team who stood out to make your personal stay a more warm & comfortable one. Best Regards, Darren Sheehan Area General Manager

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 18 January 2016

This is my favorite place to stay. Every time I come to the Raleigh/Durham area I come here. The staff is always friendly. The hotel is always clean. The location is great, and very convenient. I love Tara, and Jennifer in housekeeping is fantastic. Thank you to all of you who work so hard to make this place great!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
Darren S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

It is always nice to read a nice review of our property, team and location. It is always appreciated when individuals on the team are recognized for their "great" service. We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to Durham. Thank you, Darren Sheehan Area General Manager

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 14 January 2016

On Monday, January 11th 2016 I woke up in the middle of the night with bugs in the bed. There were several locations of the bed bugs; in the bed, on the bed skirt, and on the restroom floor. I went to the front desk to report the problem. They offered to move me to a different room within the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmb1818
Darren S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

We were very discouraged to read we felt short on you having a positive stay with us. You and I spoke directly and I was confident we addressed this to your satisfaction. Thank you, Darren Sheehan Area General Manager

Somerset, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Fours days of quiet relaxation. Visiting our daughter to get away from a hectic fall. My room has a kitchenette which is just right size for one person. Pleasantly appointed. The building seems to be quiet with no noise coming throught the walls from either side. The facility is clean and well maintained. The only problem I've had is using...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rebboeb
Darren S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you had such a nice experience while visiting your daughter. I personally have my cell service through a popular carrier and I too have bad cell service in that location however; this is my carrier's area coverage that is lacking. I apologize you experienced the same situation with your phone. Definitely happy to hear your...

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.1 km away
Extended Stay America - Durham - Research Triangle Park - Hwy 54
1.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Research Triangle Pk
5.5 km away
Comfort Suites Raleigh Durham Airport/RTP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
5.4 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh Durham / Airport
4.8 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 2004 Quality Excellence Award Winner, Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP, conveniently located at I-40 and Hwy 55, exit 278. This beautiful property is in the heart of Research Triangle Park (RTP), and within minutes of Raleigh Durham International Airport, Southpoint Mall, GlaxoSmithKline, BASF, Bayer, IBM, NIEHS, USEPA, Duke University, UNC Chapel Hill, NCCU, Duke Medical Center, and the Vein Clinic. Shuttle service is available Monday-Friday to local attractions and businesses within 5 miles of hotel. At Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with 2 separate phone lines and FREE HIGH SPEED INTERNET. Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP provides our guests a Free Fitness Center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our Free Guest Laundry room. Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP is within walking distance of many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to Dine In, a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as Sodas, Snacks, and Ice Cream. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham

Address: 1818 E NC Hwy 54, Durham, NC 27713
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range: ₹ 5,215 - ₹ 6,819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, Nc Hotel Durham
Candlewood Suites Durham
Candlewood Durham
Durham Candlewood Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#14 Family Hotel in Durham
#20 Business Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
fair lawn, nj usa
over a year ago
fair lawn, nj usa
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I always prefer the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Tarheeldude, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great location. Great Rates.”
 of 5 bubbles rs2001stew, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Find a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles bobbib45, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“please ask to be on the 3rd floor, it seems all rooms there are properly maintained”
 of 5 bubbles TravellingOracle, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose a non-adjoining room on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles TallTraveler2013, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5