We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Marriott at Research Triangle Park

Show Prices
#18 of 72 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Marriott at Research Triangle Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Marriott at Research Triangle Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 317: English reviews
Oriental, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 December 2014

We stayed here on our return from Europe. We had some challenging logistics that popped up but the hotel staff addressed them immediately and expertly and their follow up was top notch. We had an excellent room on the Concierge Level. The only problem was the bed. It was so comfortable that we had a hard time getting up in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NCSTATEGUY
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear NCSTATEGUY, Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear you had a great stay. The Marriott beds are some of the best in the business, very comfortable. The free wi-fi is always a plus. We feel we have the cleanest and friendliest hotel in town. The entire staff has a complete understanding of what great customer service...

Palm Harbor, Florida
Reviewed 9 December 2014

We stayed there one night before we headed to Pinehurst for some golf. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. We arrived early and they stored our bags and golf gear until our rooms were ready. The cost of the room was very reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MARK L
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear Mark L, Thank you for your feedback. We are conveniently located right off I40 and 5 miles from the airport. It is a great location making it easy to get to anywhere in the triangle area. Our associates are the best. They are the friendliest team in town. They go out of their way to make our guests comfortable....

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 November 2014

I am part of a women's networking group who has been meeting bimonthly in the large breakfast area of the hotel. We liked having a large table and it being quieter than a coffee shop, as there are hardly any people there in the morning through the week. The $3.50 price for sub-par coffee was something we put up with,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jamie K
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear Jamie K, Thank you for your feedback, without honest feedback we can not improve. I have taken some time to research your comments and I respectively disagree. We serve Starbucks coffee and although some folks do not like Starbucks coffee I don't believe it is sub-par. Our buffet price is $16.95 per person, not $20 as you described. The...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 13 November 2014 via mobile

Was in for a couple of days of meetings in RTP and was so impressed with the value that this Marriott delivered. Spacious room that met all expectations. A fitness room that is minimalist but delivered. The front desk staff was welcoming and friendly. Location was tops. Just minutes from RDU and my company's offices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Perry C
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear Perry C, Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We have great rooms and a solid fitness center. It is spacious and equiped with modern equipment. We have a great location close to many businesses and just 5 miles to the airport. We are also located right off I40 and...

United States
Reviewed 13 November 2014

The rooms are very clean, comfortable bed, good working conditions at the desk (enough and easily accessible power outlets). The staff at the front desk was very friendly and efficient. Well equipped 24h gym. Very good wifi internet speed in the room. I had a complaint regarding the A/C unit being too loud during the night; I was particularly impressed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MN_Global
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear MN_Global, Thank you for your feedback. We feel we have the cleaniest and friendliest hotel in town. The 24HR gym is spacious with modern equipment and the wifi has been upgraded to comply with the latest standards. Thank you for reporting the AC unit issue. As you experienced we take every guest concern seriously and adress it immediately. I...

Macomb, Michigan
Reviewed 11 November 2014

This hotel got 4 stars because of the conveniences offered. The hotel is a little outdated, but clean. The service is outstanding. But the thing that stands out is the conveniences offered for the business traveler. From the shuttle bus from the airport and then to my business location to the business center, the focus on the business traveler is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheila G
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear Sheila G, Thank you for your feedback. We have a clean hotel and friendly staff. The staff goes out of their way to make guests feel at home. We renovated our banquet space in August and it is modern and beautiful. We are 5 miles from the airport and right off I40. Our shuttle takes guests within a 5...

Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewed 7 November 2014

I stayed here from 21st - 23rd Oct so can't say much about the hotel but for the short stay I had a beautiful experience from availability of airport shuttle to the cheerful front desk staff ever willing to help, the only downside was the mediocre food from Newtons. There was no microwave in the room, this is a lapse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ACD25122011
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback without honest feedback we can not improve. Please accept my apologies for the mediocre food in Newtons. We typically receive positive comments about our food quality in the restaurant. We have a breakfast buffet in the morning and a good variety of items on our menus. You are correct about no microwaves...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 25 October 2014

i reserved my room two weeks in advance and when I reached the hotel little past midnight, my double bed room reservation was not available. The front desk personnel Edrick says, rooms are not guaranteed a lot of people makes this mistake, the website says so. Upon asking whether he reported it to his management he had a smile on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Trip100085
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my apologies for the lack of doubles available. Unfortunately, your reservation was for a king bed room and we were out of doubles. We always try to accommodate guest request for doubles whenever possible, it just wasn’t possible in this situation, I am truly sorry. It is my understanding that...

Tacoma, WA
Reviewed 5 October 2014 via mobile

The rate was good for a king room with airport pickup and local shuttle. The shuttle does not run after 10 pm and pickup in the afternoon is warned as being by availability. Renting a car is recommended since the only restaurant is Newtons. The room was very comfortable but lacked a microwave. The workout space and pool were open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorthwestSensei
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear NorthwestSensei, Thank you for your feedback, without honest feedback we can not improve. We are conveniently located just five miles from the airport. We also provide shuttle service to local shops and restaurants in a five mile radius. There are many close by. Our rooms do not have microwaves, however one is available for use on the first floor...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Excellent location but service and the room was okay (mediocre) at best. Don't know what is going on with Marriott but as a loyal Platinum member i almost disappointed on every visit. The rooms didn't offer pay per movies (REALLY?), the concierge lounge was okay. Maybe because this location stays at capacity they don't feel the need to make you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dmann82
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review

Dear dmann82, Thank you for your feedback, without honest feedback we cannot improve. You indicated that your experience was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure...

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham Airport at Research Triangle Park
0.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center
5.0 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
1.4 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh Durham / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel on landscaped grounds, located near Fairgrounds, Duke University, University of North Carolina & Research Triangle Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marriott at Research Triangle Park

Address: 4700 Guardian Drive, Durham, NC 27703-8460
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range: ₹ 6,198 - ₹ 17,096 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott at Research Triangle Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott at Research Triangle Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott At Research Triangle Park Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham
Marriott Hotel Durham
Durham Marriott
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#6 Business Hotel in Durham
#16 Family Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marriott at Research Triangle Park staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago
over a year ago
Bradenton, Florida

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Marriott at Research Triangle Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room away from the elevator or ice machine! Higher floor to avoid the strong chlorine smell from the first floor pool”
 of 5 bubbles acli, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“It was very clean, but could not find a trash can in the parking lot or outside the hotel entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles 104patc104, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the highway side.”
 of 5 bubbles 86RickD86, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All are good”
 of 5 bubbles Ge0rgiaPil0t, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles Bruce066, 21 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay