We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40

Show Prices
#11 of 72 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill \/ I-40
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40
See the most recent reviews
Showing 189: English reviews
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location, location, location. It's just off I-40 about half way between downtown Chapel Hill and Durham. Very convenient for both Duke and UNC Hospitals. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast was reasonably good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sgw44
Jonathan A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We do have a very convenient location. Upon your next visit please speak to the breakfast staff to let them know what you are looking for. They work really hard and always want to improve their service. Suggestions on improvement are always welcome. We look forward to your next visit to...

Waxhaw, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with family twice in the month of October. This hotel is very clean, well managed and the staff has great customer service. I recommend this hotel to business and pleasure travelers. The GM is very well connected to his team.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma0930
Jonathan A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff takes great pride in their work and always strive to take care of our guest needs. We look forward to your next visit to the area.

Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hats off to Hilton Homewood a Suite. This experience exemplified what business travel should be. This was a complete 180 from my stay in Charlotte last week. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate me, room was comfortable and the service was impeccable. The only downside was that my trip was only 2 days and I was so comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
Jonathan A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We wish you could have stayed longer as well, hopefully next time. Thank you for the wonderful comments and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Statham, Georgia
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We were invited to stay here as the rest of family did for a wedding event. We ran late for the wedding and BARELY had time to change. We called ahead and the clerk had our room keys ready. We literally THREW our wedding clothes on and ran out. When we returned after the wedding we were exhausted. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
Jonathan A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are grateful that overall you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the breakfast service. We have brought this to their attention and hopefully will not be running out of items any time soon. As for the ice maker, I apologize unfortunately we cannot have ice sitting in the bin upon your arrival, due...

Chapel Hill, United States
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This was an excellent hotel. Can't wait until I have a longer stay either at this one or another. The service was great. Staff were nice, inviting and very helpful. I would recommend for family or couple. It's really nice to have the kitchen and separate bedroom. The balcony would come in handy in warmer weather.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virginia P
Jonathan A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and for staying with us. Thank you for the recommendations, they are always appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon..

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 24 October 2016

You'll be disappointed if you're a return visitor since the recent remodel. Rooms have less comfortable furniture, the table/desk still hits you in the chin when sit down, and the food at breakfast and evening social has gone downhill. The only good thing is that the staff is competent and courteous.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ma700271
Jonathan A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40, responded to this review

I apologize you were disappointed during your recent stay. The table chairs have been here for quite sometime, however we will be switching them out with higher sitting chairs in the next few months. I apologize you felt our complimentary breakfast and social were not to your expectation. Our staff does try to give a wide variety of food as...

Reviewed 16 October 2016

When our power was out, I knew where I would stay! the service was prompt, staff were accessible, and accommodating. Thank you for being available for emergencies and I especially like having 24/7 coffee available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 213gwenw
Jonathan A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your understand with the power outage. We look forward to your next visit to the area.

san diego
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We have stayed a number of Homewood Suites over the years and this one did not measure up to the others. The two rooms in the suite were smaller than the ones we stayed in before. Because these suites should be able to accommodate 4 people, the bathroom is usually accessible from a hallway, but this bathroom was in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandiegoeater749
Jonathan A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40, responded to this review

I apologize for your experience with us. Our back up lighting did come on, unfortunately it was on for the 2 hours during the outage. Since then we have purchased alternative lighting if this happens again. I apologize for the fruit. We do purchase the fruit fresh every other day. We will retrain the staff on sorting through that fruit...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Lights were out due to Hurricane Matthew. There weren't a backup generator. Couldn't go to another hotel without paying double. Hotel did not discount the room or give a refund. Doubt we will use this location. Again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 903laquisham
Jonathan A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40, responded to this review

We apologize for the lights going out during the storm. From my understanding most hotels in the area, rarely loose power and if so usually during a severe circumstance. I apologize you may not stay with us again. Hopefully you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Stay at this hotel for 5 days for business. This is the second time we stay in this place. The hotel located near shopping area. Check in and out was easy, breakfast and dinner were good and staff are very friendly. The room was cleaned and very comfortable. I believe they also have shuttle for guests that are going for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deb-5584
Jonathan A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are in a great location, close to I-40 as well as multiple shops and restaurants. We do provide a shuttle for our guest to both hospitals during the week. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
0.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
15.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Durham Chapel Hill
9.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
6.2 km away
Hyatt Place Durham / Southpoint
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Durham-Chapel Hill has completed a multi-million dollar renovation to provide you with a fresh, new stay. New furniture and appliances, new carpet and wall vinyl - everything is fresh and new! The lobby and breakfast room have been enhanced with beautiful decor to make you feel more at home. Our pool, patio and BBQ area have also been upgraded to add a special touch to each area of the hotel you can experience during your stay. Make yourself at home in a spacious one bedroom suites, some with balconies. Choose from King or Double Queen bedding to accommodate your needs. This all-suites hotel is ideally located for travelers visiting the Raleigh-Durham and Chapel Hill, North Carolina area. Just off I-40 with easy access to area highways, our extended stay hotel is 15 miles from Raleigh-Durham International Airport (RDU). Duke University Medical Center, Duke University, UNC-Chapel Hill, prominent corporations, museums and other area attractions are less than 10 miles away. Make yourself at home in a spacious one bedroom suites, some with balconies. Surf the web using our complimentary high-speed internet access. Stock your refrigerator with your favorite beverages and sweet treats from our Suite Shop. Start your day with our complimentary full hot breakfast, served in our lobby. Monday through Thursday, we offer complimentary evening dinner and drinks*. Exercise in the fitness room. Use the grills and have a barbeque by our outdoor pool. Stay with us to enjoy our hotel location near Research Triangle Park, home to more than 170 companies including IBM, Cisco Systems, GlaxoSmithKline and the Research Triangle Institute. Treyburn Corporate Park is also nearby. Take campus tours or attend exciting cultural and sporting events at Duke University, UNC-Chapel Hill and other area colleges. We look forward to being your "Home" when visiting Durham! *Local and state laws apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40

Address: 3600 Mount Moriah Rd, Durham, NC 27707-9028
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range: ₹ 8,282 - ₹ 14,663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / i-40 Hotel Durham
Homewood Suites Durham
Hilton Durham
Homewood Durham
Durham Homewood Suites
Durham Hilton
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#23 Business Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms towards the back of the hotel are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles sbP7429UH, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Balcony rooms are awesome.”
 of 5 bubbles sunhawkins, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Good location off the highway”
 of 5 bubbles MB2034, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Two room suites located in back of property, far from lobby but quiet location”
 of 5 bubbles Haleyfam5, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I would think all rooms would be great.”
 of 5 bubbles CDillon, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay