We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sanderling Resort

Booking.comUS$ 315*
View Deal
#1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 315*
US$ 315*
US$ 315*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Sanderling Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

908 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sanderling Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 898: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 8 September 2014

We spend a well deserved 5 day vacation at the Sanderling. We were not happy with the location of our room when we checked in, but Jeffery (staff member) stepped up and offered 2 rooms that were more than perfect. He made our midweek move as seamless and effortless possible. Once settled in our new room we headed next door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happy-Biker-Guy
sanderlingresort, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. We appreciate your review and glad you got to experience all the resort has to offer. We look forward to your return.

Westminster, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 7 September 2014

We were impressed by the very friendly staff, all of whom greeted us pleasantly and seemed genuinely interested in making us feel welcome and comfortable. The restaurants were both very good, with the Lifesaving Station No. 5 coming out on top, for us, excellent meals! Stayed in the south building which was very clean and our room was fabulous. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David E
sanderlingresort, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad it was memorable. We appreciate your kind review and will share the feedback with the Team.

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 3 September 2014

My family stayed here for 4 nights and we had the best time. The staff is amazing. The accommodations are comfortable and beachy. The focus on families is really nice but not overkill. We enjoyed food at all of the restaurants with Kimball's Kitchen being the standout, but the Lifesaving Station was really fantastic and the menu was more interesting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AWRVA
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Glad you were able to get just a few hours "down the road" to the beach and enjoy a family vacation. Thank you for trying all the culinary options and enjoying the firepits. Hope you will keep us in mind the next time you are looking for a quick getaway.

Dyke, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Our family has been coming to Duck, NC for many years. In the past we have rented cottages on the beach for the entire family. This trip was different - my husband and I came for a weekend and stayed at Sanderling Resort in an oceanfront room. It was fabulous. We had two lovely dinners - one at each of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathi G
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting to join us for such a special occasion. Happy Anniversary! We are glad you hear you will be back again...maybe to celebrate your 41st (if not before). We appreciate the kind words and review.

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 3 September 2014

The Sanderling is a great spot. They have it all. We enjoyed the beach of course but also the pool (adult only for us). Nightly there are s'mores around the fire pit. Since it was vacation we tried the usual drinks. They were fine. The decor is Williams Sonoma chic and the adjoining restaurants along with the morning coffee is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet218
sanderlingresort, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry you experienced the traffic. It's normally just a Saturday (turnover day) between late June and Labor Day. Hope you will give the Outer Banks another try during a time that might be less busy. It's so delightful and of course we would like you to stay at...

binghamton,ny
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Good attention to detail.nicely done rooms,clean,amazing bathroom.Chairs ready on beach after calling the front desk.nice amenities. Everything shuts down by 10pm, which was a little early for us. Balconies way too small. Everyone super friendly. Beach was great- never felt crowded. Bought a bottle of wine and sat on the dunes at night. I could go on and on. Somewhat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maureen
sanderlingresort, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and had some #sanderlingmoments. We hope you will return in the future.

Montclair, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This is the only hotel in Duck - a bit farther away from the hustle and bustle of some other areas (both a plus and minus at times). We were able to drive to places to eat for variety. The room was quite large and bedding very nice. My kids did mention that the pull out sofa was uncomfortable to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatStam
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Lots of good information for travelers and for us to use as we continue to plan. We would never accept an employee being rude and we are sorry you encountered that. Thank you for taking advantage of many of the amenities and services that we offer. We do hope you will consider us again (and...

Maryland
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We have vacationed in Outer Banks for 15 years with the family. This was a special trip for our anniversary and The Sanderling did not disappoint. The staff is warm and attentive, the hotel is beautiful and the location is perfect. We really loved the tranquility pool. Our room had a working fireplace, large balcony and gorgeous room. We have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tricia E
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Happy Anniversary! We are honored you joined us for the special occasion and glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to many more visits! Thank you for taking the time to write the review.

Reviewed 31 August 2014

Our family had rented a house for a week with four other families in Duck. We had decided that after our week away we wanted to extend our time in Duck so we choose to stay at the Sanderling. I found the resort online and it looked very friendly and inviting so we booked three nights. When we checked in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Autumnsfirst1
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad you chose to extend your stay in the Outer Banks and learned about us. Thank you for sharing that with other travelers. We appreciate the kind words regarding our Team and will share them. We look forward to your return.

Reviewed 31 August 2014

We loved our 5-day weekday stay at the Sanderling Resort. It is a beautiful, comfortable, clean, and welcoming place--like an oversize beach house--with lots of amenities right there. Rooms are clean and well-appointed. All staff are very friendly, helpful, and efficient. Great location, private beach with chairs & umbrellas provided & set up for you. Adorable sanderlings darting in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WirtalaK
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad you found the Sanderling to be like being welcomed into a beach home by friends. That was the intent with the renovations of the Beach House. Thank you for the review which we do share with our staff. We love to see their smiles after they read these kind words and they know they made a...

673 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (356)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (165)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (284)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Oceanfront King Room (38)
Viewed
Oceanside King Room (38)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Premium Oceanfront King (42)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
14.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
22.9 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,150 reviews
33.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
37.0 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the Sanderling Resort, casually elegant first-class amenities blend seamlessly with the spectacular landscape to foster connection and renewal. Offering magnificent views of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound, our guests have the same unique opportunity to admire both a sunrise and sunset - both over water. The Resort's guestrooms with their oversized bathrooms and generous decks, are a perfect complement to the quality of the natural setting, while our acclaimed spa and pools provide both unparalleled serenity at the tranquility pool, or a boisterous family environment at the Resort pool. The Resort's renowned restaurants offer the finest dining on the Outer Banks, with perfectly prepared and presented fresh coastal cuisine and a choice of venues to match the time of day, the season and your mood. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949-4635
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Price Range: ₹ 15,603 - ₹ 35,893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck
The Sanderling
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sanderling Resort staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
11 months ago
NJ
8 months ago
Richmond, Virginia

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Sanderling Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms by the adult pool or the main building are better for families. Rooms on the ocean side have a better view.”
COxenford, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the beach house during the off season, it's maintained better.”
525naw, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“East facing rooms see sunrise over the Atlantic and west facing rooms see sunset over the Currituck Sound. Beautiful.”
5todds, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I loved the ocean side. Beautiful sunrises on our deck.”
, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Oceanfront room was extremely clean with an awesome view.”
taylorse1, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 315* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 315
TravelocityUS$ 315
TripAdvisorUS$ 315
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates