We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Esmeralda Inn

TripAdvisorUS$ 197*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 211*
US$ 197*
Great Deal
US$ 206*
US$ 211*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Esmeralda Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

565 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Esmeralda Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 562: English reviews
Ohio
Reviewed 13 May 2014

After three days in Asheville, we arrived at The Esmeralda to explore some natural beauty and slow down a bit. The lodge is decorated to rustic perfection and impeccably clean. The service and attention we received was top notch. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The breakfast provided was certainly a step above most hotel chain continental offerings. I especially appreciated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! This is a beautiful Inn. When it was re-built after the fire in 1997, the owners wanted to keep the flavor of the old building, but with modern conveniences and added safety. They succeeded! We have wonderful staff who take pride in the 100% cleanliness rating from the NC Dept. of Health. We are...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 12 May 2014

They use the words luxury rustic, and that pretty much sums it up. My room was adequate, clean bed and clean bathroom which are my main concerns. Bed was extremely comfortable and linens and towels were the best I ever used. Employees that I dealt with were all very nice and accommodating to my needs. Very nice public read, porches,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey P
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the thoughtful review! While our rooms are not as large as the hotel chains, we make up for space by having great beds and linens! We think of the Inn as home and every member of our staff takes pride in providing our guests with the best possible experience. We are very fortunate to have the people...

florida
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is our third visit to this beautiful Inn. The owners Doug and Aileen are most gracious and have kept the Inn up to standards and continue to improve the surroundings. They made us feel at home..This was one of our most relaxing visits. We had a premium mountain view room which was spacious with beautiful views of the mountains.The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clare07
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. We love it when our guests return again and again! It means we are succeeding at making our guests feel at home. This is such a beautiful area, and we are so lucky to be in the perfect spot to enjoy the views and the quiet especially in the evening. It's good that you...

Michigan Center, Michigan
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here many times under different owners. Rooms are clean and updated beautifully. Would stay here again if restaurant would be open for bkfst lunch and dinner. The food is so delicious when avail. Free brkfst was minimal, although fruit was very good. No decaf coffee though. Unfortunately the aura is very empty. I've stayed there when there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank RangerMI
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I'm sorry your stay was not as pleasurable as you would have liked. We always want our guests to feel welcome and at home. If you look at our reviews, you'll see that the majority of our guests feel the Inn is warm and inviting. If there is a problem, we...

Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great room with access to the upstairs porch complete with wicker furniture. It was good at evening to sit and enjoy a glass of wine. There is a fire pit and a 16 person hot tub outside. The room was fine; bathroom could have used more shelf space. There is also a restaurant in house. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JHR6301
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It's hard to beat our views and the sound of the River in the evening. I hope you made use of the Jacuzzi. There is no better way to unwind and relax after a day of hiking or shopping than to soak in a hot tub with a cold drink, gazing at the stars. When...

Etowah, North Carolina
Reviewed 8 May 2014

An impromptu trip to Lake Lure led me to book a couple of much needed nights away at The Esmeralda Inn. Scout at the front desk was welcoming and accommodating. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I would have loved a room with a view of the mountains, but I booked at the last minute, so I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad you found us! As we get further into the busy season, it's definitely a good idea to reserve in advance. But even though a couple of the rooms don't have a view of the mountains or river, they all have the wonderful beds, linens and toiletries to make your stay a little more than comfortable. The Jacuzzi is...

Atlanta, GA
Reviewed 7 May 2014

* We stayed at the Esmeralda for two nights. We were in town for a wedding and the stay couldn't have been better. * We had breakfast both days at the restaurant and the food was excellent. Since the Inn was full the wait time for the food was a little long. However this isn't a place for dash in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trvlbuff
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review! I'm so sorry 2 of your beers disappeared! As you said, we hope they enjoyed! The Inn was rebuilt on the original footprint of the old Inn after the fire in 1997. As a historical building, we were somewhat restricted on the size of the rooms. Your suggestion...

Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I spent last night at the Inn. It was our 25th wedding anniversary, and we thought this was the perfect place to stay. We couldn't have been more pleased. The staff was great and our room was nice. The outdoor fireplace was also a very nice feature. We would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbish8
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful review! We always want our guest's stay to be memorable, but when it's a special occasion like an anniversary, that's even better! We're in the perfect location to relax and rejuvenate, even if it's only for one night. I'm glad you enjoyed the fireplace. Last night was so lovely. What a nice way to celebrate....

Forest City, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I just spent last night at the Inn. A beautiful place to stay inside and out. Views are incredible. The staff was great and the room was perfect. The balcony was awesome. A place to sit, look at the mountains and listen to the river run. We can't wait to go back. We highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jimflow2012
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We are so fortunate to be in this beautiful spot. This is a wonderful time to be visiting the area, as so many trees are still in bloom. It's always peaceful on the porch or terrace, especially early in the morning or evening. I'm glad you enjoyed. We have a great staff. They take...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The staff catered to our every need for a work retreat. We had the whole inn to ourselves and enjoyed our meals and meetings all on location. The rooms were like new and very nice. The meeting space was wonderful with our own pantry for snacks and drinks. Food was superb and we all left a few pounds heavier. Most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Retiringonaboat
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! It was a pleasure having your group with us. We're just the right size for small business retreats, small weddings and family reunions. Having the entire house to yourself definitely has its advantages. You can play games and laugh long into the night and not disturb anyone! I'm glad everything was to your satisfaction....

249 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
3.3 km away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
23.5 km away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
31.4 km away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
101 reviews
32.0 km away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
5,661 reviews
7.1 km away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Price Range: ₹ 11,894 - ₹ 17,130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esmeralda Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Esmeralda Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Gastonia, North Carolina
6 months ago
Maryville, Tennessee
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Esmeralda Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the rooms that face Chimney Rock - Gorgeous”
BennyB513, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“We had a room in a cottage, very private, large and bed was wonderful”
408judy, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Terrace rooms facing the river have a great view of chimney rock.”
S1964WXstevem, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“We booked the honeymoon cabin which was wonderful”
NCGIRLTryon_Nc, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There is a hot tub and fire pit on the property that looks to be new and quite relaxing. We should have brought our swimsuits!”
RoyallenW, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 197* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 206
PricelineUS$ 211
Hotwire.comUS$ 206
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates