We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

393 reviews
Save
Traveller (144)
Room & Suite (33)
Pool & Beach (15)
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“jumping pillow”(13 reviews)
“outdoor pool”(27 reviews)
“trout ponds”(6 reviews)
Free Parking
Pool
Restaurant
Pets Allowed
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (393)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
181
103
41
29
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
181
103
41
29
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjumping pillowoutdoor pooltrout pondstravel trailerbunk bedsdeluxe cabintent sitegreat campgroundbath housesplanned activitiesbig cove roadmingo fallscamp storepull thrudog parkrv siteslabor day
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A Kamping Kabin on the river is the most peaceful, satisfying, fun experience you can have. There is so much for a family to do that you never need to leave the campground for a wonderful vacation. You will love it.

Thank Sara Y
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Upon checking in everything was great. We had a nice escort that showed us to our cabin.   We had a deluxe cabin with two queen beds. The cabin was warm & relaxing. The creek right out the front door was amazing! Perfect view and the...More

4  Thank bornredprincess
Response from Joanne F, General Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOAResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your response it helps us grow and learn in customer service. I wish you all the best in finding your perfect campground.

Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend this KOA! We have stayed here a few times and have not been disappointed. It is probably one of the nicest spots from Maggie Valley to Gatlinburg if you like amenities. Last time we took our 30’ trailer and booked a VIP spot....More

Thank Hbruns1
Response from Joanne F, General Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOAResponded 27 November 2017

We are so happy that you had a good time here with us. Hope you visit again soon.

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed the night. Nice location, great to see Cherokee. The little cabins and the grounds were very clean. Late check in was a bit of a struggle due to low lighting. I would call ahead if you are going to be late getting in

Thank klovan1
Response from Joanne F, General Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOAResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for visiting with us hope you stay with us again.

Reviewed 19 October 2017

Simply wonderful. My family and I stayed 3 nights from 20th - 23rd August, across the Eclipse in an upgraded tent site. Despite being full to bursting it wasn't too noisy and I get the impression the staff reinforced quiet hours. Ladies bathrooms clean but...More

Thank MissJely
Response from Joanne F, General Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOAResponded 27 November 2017

We are so glad you had a good time with us. The Eclipse was amazing. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345678
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Details
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (144)
Room & Suite (33)
Pool & Beach (15)
Dining (2)
Family and Play Areas (14)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
destiny g
4 October 2017|
Answer
Response from Roadtripnana | Reviewed this property |
Well... your visit has came and gone. My apologies for seeing your question. You can fish for sure. We didn’t personally see any other wildlife out of the normal deer, squirrels, and birds. Hope your trip was awesome!
0
Votes
tearls2017
20 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 143camp | Reviewed this property |
When you check in ask them about he weather !! They will accommodate you if there are cabins available, you will be soaked if you stay in a tent that isn't properly covered or waterproofed
1
Vote
Mary P
30 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 143camp | Reviewed this property |
They have a drop box outside of the office and you can fill out your paper and then finish check in the next morning if you know what site you are going to, but calling ahead would not be a bad idea
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123
Room Tips
"All camp sights were laid out great, they also had alot cabins to rent very well done."
Read review
"River Cabins are the BEST!!!!"
Read review
"If you need Wi-Fi or Verizon coverage - forget it. You won't get those here."
Read review
"Whatever you do, don't stay at a yellow site that butts up against another yellow site."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing