We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

618 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 614: English reviews
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service shown from from every member of the staff from the moment that we checked in until the moment that we checked out. Thida, the manager of the restaurant, especially went above an beyond to make our stay special by anticipating our needs and meeting them before we even had to ask. We come to Charlotte periodically, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prichardcrandall
Princeton, West Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Close to everything. Excellent service. Has dining and a bar. Alfresco dining also. Within walking distance to concert hall. The hotel also validates your parking for the parking building. Clean room and hallways.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rlwimmer61674
Sayville, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a beautiful hotel , excellent service, beautiful room with a great view - thank you Janet ! breakfast was great, excellent service, hope to come back and see you again ! Large comfortable lobby area . Executive room on top level was beautiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn C
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Held rehearsal dinner at holiday inn and Hatha and Demitrius were the banquet captains for the dinner and did a great job. Valerie was our coordinator and did a great job organizing everything. Had the suite which was nicer than I expected!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark525252
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have to give two stars not one only because the staff was really nice and caring. The room was clean and the lobby was nice. However we could hear everything from inside our room and couldn't sleep ALL night. It was terrible. Now we have to drive back home on no sleep for 5 hours. I'm quite upset, wouldn't recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sydney S
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this review

Dear Sydney S, Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business with us. I am glad to read your positive feedback on the cleanliness of the room and acknowledged our nice and caring staff. However, we are truly sorry for any...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked at this hotel for a family wedding that was at a nearby venue. It was 1 of 2 hotels at which the wedding couple had a block of rooms. First the good points. It was close to the wedding venue and the bed was very comfortable. The number of negatives is, unfortunately, much longer. The biggest unfortunate situation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this review

Dear Rick R, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are deeply sorry for the unexpected experience you had with the service you received from our staff and also our facilities such as our elevator fell short of your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to...

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came to Charlotte for a race and stayed at the Holiday Inn with my family. It was wonderful! The staff was very pleasant, and the breakfast buffet was amazing! The food was warm and they had everything (eggs, pancakes, hash browns, CHOCOLATE MILK, muffins, fruit, grits). The breakfast staff, Myrian, Andrea, Thida, and Demetrius, were also super helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kcs3au
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Good hotel . Had decent breakfast. Lady at the reception was really friendly and helpful . Location is great. Only bad thing is walls are paper thin u can hear everything that's happening outside of ur door and window .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manish P
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 30 October 2016

On October 27, I checked in to the Holiday Inn on University Executive Drive in Charlotte NC. I checked in, the hotel staff member created a key for me and wrote down the room number. I proceeded to the room, entered the key, and the door unlocked. I pushed it open with a little effort, only to discover a man...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 790brittt
HICUmgmt, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this review

Dear 790brittt, We deeply apologize for the situation that you were in. Be assured that we treat these comments seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. These comments will be discussed with the appropriate departments. This is definitely not up to our standards and deeply regret for falling short on our regular standards on this...

Reviewed 29 October 2016

I was in meetings at this Holiday Inn over 2 days. While I didn't stay there overnight I was in the meeting room and common areas over the course of two days. Overall it was a nice facility. My biggest complaint would be the plastic coffee stirrer that remained against the wall in the lobby bathroom for both days. That...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jguild76
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this review

Dear jguild76, Thank you for considering the Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place, NC for your business meetings and we are happy to have accommodated your group for this purpose. It is always our goal to ensure that the cleanliness of our facility exceeds , if not meets, the expectations of our guests, whether they be staying in or visiting for...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
24.8 km away
Homewood Suites Charlotte/Ayrsley
27.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Ballantyne Area
0.4 km away
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
HYATT house Charlotte Center City
23.4 km away
Hyatt Place Charlotte/Arrowood
10.1 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place is located in the heart of University Area Charlotte, NC. We neighbor Carolina's Medical Center University Hospital, Wachovia, Solectron, Phillip Morris, IBM, BellSouth, AT&T, Allstate, Verizon, EDS, TIAA CREF, EPRI-NDE, McKesson Downtown Charlotte, SouthPark Mall, and the Charlotte Convention Center. All while just 20 minutes away from Charlotte Douglas International Airport. Additionally some of the more EXCITING ATTRACTIONS within 5 minutes of our hotel include: Lowes Motor Speedway, Concord Mills Mall, Northlake Mall, The Charlotte Bobcat Arena, Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre, Douglas International Airport, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University Research Park and Bank of America Panthers Stadium. Our restaurant is a great first stop to enjoy a hot breakfast buffet and cooked-to-order selections. Guests can stay productive with complimentary High-Speed Internet Access. Complete your stay by recharging in our Fitness Center and/or our Seasonal Outdoor Pool. When visiting Charlotte, we hope you will feel at home with the Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place

Address: 8520 University Exec Park Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-3365
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Price Range: ₹ 6,497 - ₹ 10,829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#7 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#15 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Boynton Beach, Florida
over a year ago
Boynton Beach, Florida
Woodside, California
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I always stay away from the vending machines”
 of 5 bubbles rlwimmer61674, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are nice and ask politely, you will be treated to the same courtesy.”
 of 5 bubbles 956jona, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors and near the end of the hallway is best.”
 of 5 bubbles cindyw436, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are no rooms with a view that I know of, so anyroom is ok as it is not on a noisy street or anything.”
 of 5 bubbles Ceez787, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“3 floor and higher is good.”
 of 5 bubbles Jai_notfromequador, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay