We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

LuxuryCollectionUS$ 299*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

771 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 758: English reviews
SS
Reviewed 22 April 2015

Beautuful hotel, immacuately landscaped, gorgeous golf course, frendly and pleasant staff who greeted you at the door immediately and even remembered our names later! Very helpful in directing us to other sights to see in the area!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KRCody
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Dear KRCody, Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Ballantyne. It is wonderful to know the friendly service of our staff stood out in your mind. Complemented by our grounds and local recommendations, providing exceptional service is our commitment to creating a memorable experience for our guests. We hope you will keep our hotel in mind if your travels...

Reviewed 21 April 2015

I attended an 80's themed fundraiser that was held on-property and stayed overnight at the resort. The Ballantyne Hotel is simply impeccable in terms of cleanliness, the staff is superb (extremely friendly and helpful) and their event and meeting space is spectacular. We had such a wonderful time and I highly recommend staying for a long weekend (even for locals)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mommy B
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mommy B, Thank you for reviewing your experience at The Ballantyne. We know the crowd enjoyed themselves at the fundraiser, and we are delighted to hear this from a happy overnight guest as well. Your recommendation of our hotel as a destination for locals is much appreciated, as we love being a retreat for guests near and far. We...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 20 April 2015

The Ballantyne is simply beautiful from the moment you walk in and the service is amazing. Unfortunately, my husband and I had a brief stay. I got stuck in traffic from the airport and he was trying to surprise me with a prenatal massage. They would only agree to do a 15 minute massage rather than refund his purchase, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose O
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rose O, Thank you for sharing this review. It is unfortunate that we were unable to accommodate you for the full prenatal massage. Had there been room later in the schedule, we would have been happy to offer the full service. If you do visit again someday, we look forward to the chance to provide you with a relaxing...

Greensboro NC
Reviewed 16 April 2015

My wife and I stayed here while we did the Dana Rader golf school. Rooms were great, meals were too. Not inexpensive, but a very nice hotel. I think they do a lot of business conferences, but it worked well for us too. Lots of retails and restaurants in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hrh13
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Dear hrh13, We appreciate you sharing your recent experience at The Ballantyne. It’s great hearing that you enjoyed exploring the great shopping and dining in the area after your sessions at Dana Rader Golf School! We hope to have you back with us again soon. Sincerely, Peter Grills General Manager

Atlanta
Reviewed 15 April 2015

My girlfriend and I travelled to charlotte for her birthday weekend and decided to give The Ballantyne a try, as we had always wanted to stay there. The good : The hotel and grounds are absolutely gorgeous. The pool and workout facility were incredibly well equipped. The in room dining was delicious and reasonably priced. Every staff member we came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atl1988
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Atl1988, We appreciate you taking the time to share this review on your stay. It is always great to hear how our friendly staff was able to leave a positive impression. We take great pleasure in ensuring our guests receive a high standard of service that is unique to The Ballantyne. Unfortunately, it sounds as though a couple uncharacteristic...

West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Stayed here for 3 days while visiting Charlotte for a college lacrosse game. Rooms were bright, clean and comfortable. Staff was always ready to provide whatever was needed and the food was terrific. Golf course right on the property so you get nice service of having your clubs taken from you and delivered right to the course. Was very disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoyalRed610
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Dear RoyalRed610, Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to know you enjoyed your warm retreat with three beautiful days! We pride ourselves on providing outstanding service and are glad to hear your needs were met to give you a well-deserved break. We hope you will join us again at The Ballantyne...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Stayed at the Ballantyne for one night with my wife for our anniversary. We had the spa package (massage and pedicure) to start, then checked in our room. Because it was our anniversary, we were upgraded at no extra cost, and got a view of the golf course. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very professional. A very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaemonW
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Dear DaemonW, First and foremost, congratulations on your anniversary! We are privileged that you chose to share your special day with us and we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. It is a pleasure to hear that your room upgrade and attentive service from our staff made for a memorable and relaxing experience together. We wish you...

Stow, MA
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Stayed at the Ballantyne 2 nights with my husband. Had golf view King room with balcony. Unfortunately we hit the "record cold" days there (came from Boston area, so not great news!) We enjoyed the lobby bar, sampled their custom made bourbon, great service, enjoyed the spa, driving range, indoor pool and had a lovely dinner at the restaurant as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GatcB
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gatcb, Thank you for the opportunity to learn more about your experience. While it is unfortunate you stayed with us during unseasonable cold, we are glad you found plenty of things to enjoy at The Ballantyne. It sounds as though you stayed with us for leisure. From the Spa, course driving range, pools and Gallery Restaurant, we are delighted...

St. Louis
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Attended the Dana Rader Golf Academy (terrific - see separate review) and choose the Stay and Play package offered through the Academy. From the attentive service/information pre-check-in, through check-in and check-out this resort has it dialed in. All service, and we mean all service personnel, greeted us at every opportunity and truly took an interest in 'how we were doing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg574Vino
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Greg574Vino, Thank you for choosing the Stay and Play package to complement your golf lessons! We enjoy our partnership with Dana Rader Golf School and hope you made the most of the experience. It is wonderful to know our staff's Southern hospitality could make your stay more memorable. We regret that the sink was not addressed more promptly. We...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Stayed at the Ballantyne for two nights as part of a conference, and I was very pleased with everything from the guest room to the various amenities offered at the hotel, and I would certainly return as part of a leisure trip in the future. Our guest room had 2 double beds, rather than a King, which was fine -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveler104
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Traveler104, We appreciate the opportunity to learn about your stay for business at The Ballantyne. We are pleased to know your conference was a success and you enjoyed your accommodations. A future trip for leisure can be just as pleasant, if not more – especially if you leave time to visit our spa or play a round of golf,...

496 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (227)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (215)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Executive Suite with Balcony (44)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe Double Room (23)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe King Room (25)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#18 of 177 in Charlotte
587 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 177 in Charlotte
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barclay Downs
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#43 of 177 in Charlotte
403 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#38 of 177 in Charlotte
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ballantyne, located in Charlotte, North Carolina, is a member of Starwood Hotels & Resorts' The Luxury Collection. Guests are welcomed with exceptional service, complemented by a timeless elegance. Enjoy resort-style amenities including spa, golf, fitness, exquisite dining and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a cottage and lodge retreat with sophisticated meeting, wedding and event venues in a vibrant setting. The Ballantyne is located within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and a thriving business community. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Price Range: ₹ 13,099 - ₹ 29,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Matthews, North Carolina
Matthews, North Carolina
7 months ago
over a year ago
Stow, MA
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find a room with a balcony so you can open the windows for the breeze.”
James_n_shelly, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“High floors are good”
paulwiseman2016, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for the breakfast package to save a few dollars.”
irbflyfish, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the golf course”
ahbaggins, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Balcony with golf view. If you do not request a golf view you will be overlooking the parking lot.”
obrienstech, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
LuxuryCollection
US$ 299* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 299
Booking.comUS$ 299
PricelineUS$ 299
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates