We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Drifters Reef Hotel

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Drifters Reef Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Drifters Reef Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 118: English reviews
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Ok where do I start.... #1. walked in and the bathroom sink was leaking all over the floor....call the front desk to report it... no one seem to care.... construction of the bar next door and the hotel was terrible and made it impossible to get in and out of the parking lot....No clean towel! the housekeeper informed us that...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Cage L
driftersreef, Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

I just wanted to thank you for taking time to review the Drifter's Reef Hotel. I apologize that your room wasn't in good working condition. We have fixed the issues that were wrong with the room. We do have an overflow parking lot around back available as well. We also have a grilling area with picnic tables available also. We...

Sanford
Reviewed 20 July 2015

At check in, I gladly paid the the price of $293 for 2 nights of loud music until 3am and an air conditioner that was louder than the music. The clerk said "I would get $10 back for key deposit". At check out, I was told "NO we don't do that". I was able to over look all of the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Mary W
driftersreef, Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

I just want to apologize to you for the inconveniences you had during your stay. I am not sure about the 10.00 key deposit, the only deposit we take are pet fee of 20.00 each day. I wish I had the chance to address this issue with you when it occurred. Again just wanted to apologize for the inconveniences during...

Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

Room are about what you can expect for price. No frills, but a place to sleep. Although it is pet friendly- there really isn't anywhere to let your pet "handle business ". Parking can be scarce because of the resturant in the same parking lot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MNCole
driftersreef, Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We appreciate your business. Come back and see us at the Drifter's Reef Hotel in Carolina Beach. Respectfully, Laura

Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

This is NOT the place to take your family! The room had ants and was generally not well kept. We were kicked out of the pool promptly at 9:00 PM when it closed only to have it fill back up an hour later with a loud obnoxious adult crowd that along with other tenants running all over the place kept...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank James M
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed in the apartment above the main office. Parking is great during the week. The weekends are busy though. We had to park in the fenced in area behind the hotel on Saturday, but it wasn't a far walk. The pool was clean and not crowded during the week. The room was pretty clean, the air conditioning was very nice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teaner B
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 June 2015

First, the hotel messed up our reservation. My Dad booked the apartment because there were 4 people going. However, 2 cancelled, and it turned out to be a good thing. We were put into a double room on the first floor, next to the pool. This was unacceptable because of all the noise. We were "upgraded" to a deluxe double...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank auntmarylynne
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Drifter Reef Motel is dog friendly and the service was great. Everything you need was very close by especially one of the most popular bar and grills around Carolina Beach. It was a wonderful and peaceful vacation.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cindy T
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 6 April 2015

The hotel is really cute and inviting from the outside, because of all the vibrant colors my daughters thought we were staying in a cottage lodge. It is also located in a safe and even through the rooms are not inside like I normally like them when traveling with kids, I felt safe. 1. Location- It cannot be better, it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Connie_H321
North Carolina
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Wonderful stay at a nice place. It was comfortable and actually a last minute decision. It worked out well. It was a quick registration and a great overall stay. Family friendly and close to the boardwalk, restaurants and stores.....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mimigucchi
Shelby, North Carolina
Reviewed 31 March 2015

We were looking for an alternative to Best Westerns etc. and found this place online. Staff was friendly, room was clean, and within a few block walk from the beach. I do not mind staying at older motels as long as they are clean, quiet, and the plumbing works. The only issue we had was with the folks in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike M

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
2.0 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
407 reviews
0.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
0.5 km away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
130 reviews
0.6 km away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#13 of 19 in Carolina Beach
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Drifter's Reef Hotel is located in the heart of Carolina Beach, North Carolina and offers you great accommodations at a reasonable price. We offer microwaves, mini frigs, air conditioning, cable, free Wi-Fi, large outdoor pool, charcoal grills, volleyball courts, laundry facilities, onsite restaurant and bar. The Lazy Pirate is our famous award winning restaurant boasting legendary wings and crab shack! All quests will receive a 10% discount on food purchases! Carolina Beach's charter fishing fleet, top of the line cruise boats, excellent shopping at the Carolina Beach Boardwalk, fine restaurants and our beautiful beaches are all within a few short blocks and easy walking distance. Drifter's Reef Hotel has 57 rooms consisting of King rooms, Double rooms, Double Deluxe, Double Suites and a 2 Bedroom Full Apartment. We hope you will choose Drifter's Reef Hotel for your next vacation!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Drifters Reef Hotel

Address: 701 N Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Price Range: ₹ 7,217 - ₹ 14,242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Drifters Reef Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drifters Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifters Reef Hotel Carolina Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Drifters Reef Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Knoxville, Tennessee
Glouster, Ohio
Winston Salem, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Drifters Reef Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not get a room across from the security lights”
hippsjerryjudi, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If your dog is at all nervous of loud noises - fine someplace else to stay!”
scooternje, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“Ensure you call, not online.”
886billyt, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“first floor has usual easy access.”
SCRAPPYJupiter, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“2 bedroom apartment room 200 is great for families!!!”
867kathrynl, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotwire.com
Expedia.com
Priceline
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates