We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mtoni Marine Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mtoni Marine Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 153: English reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We were about 7 people and stayed for two days. It is under construction . The rooms are clean and tidy.The beds are cosy. I would recommend this hotel. The hotel staff were courteous. Had a good time .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Huzaifa N
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Their hospitality is so superb and above all what i liked the most is their service .The rooms were of high quality in that you cannot regret in anyway especially if you are with important friends.Their food is so exquisite and filling.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Platinum S
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel months in advance and got 3 week before an email that it will be closed because of refurbishment without offering any kind of alternitive. Bad costumer service we call that! We found a better place ourselves.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Branko D
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We used to stay here quite often. The pool is big and nice, the rooms were (relatively) cheap, and it was a quick 10,000 shilling taxi to Stone Town. That being said, they've undergone new management, and they've removed alcohol from the hotel. While there are plenty of dry resorts in Stone Town- understandably so in a conservatively Muslim island-...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MamfeMan
Mumbai, India
Reviewed 1 April 2015

This place has small rooms and they have mosquito net over bed. Garden outside each room is in ruins. But the place is really quite and soothing for relaxing. This place has two pools, where one can spend quality time with family and friends. You can either play beach football or enjoy beautiful sunset here. It also has multiple snack...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guru2003rahul
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2015

I have used the Mtoni Marine for many years on business while in Zanzibar. It was convenient to Stone Town and the upstairs Palm Court Rooms were more than suitable, in fact very good. However the main smaller rooms next to the road were very bad. There was a good Sports Bar and the food was good excellent apart from...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank PeteHotelInspector
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reaching out to us. We thank you for expressing your thoughts and feelings regarding the new ownership and the changes that have taken place. We understand that the no alcohol policy has caused an inconvenience to you and we are sorry about that. However, we are confident that there are and will be clients who...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 20 February 2015

this is one of the most terrible places you could chose. You can not use the beach or swim (dirty and polluted, run down unkept grounds, flies, heat, stink misery and not allowed to drink there either. I would not stay there even for free.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Basia725
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting a review about our hotel. We are sorry that you were not satisfied and that we did not meet your expectations. Our hotel is undergoing some refurbishment for upgrading the hotel. We are sorry for all inconveniences caused to you due to this. Please feel free to contact me should you want to discuss...

Polokwane, South Africa
Reviewed 7 February 2015

We've booked this hotel primarily for the dinner show at the palace ruins. Unfortunately the event was cancelled due to a lack of interest. Food are extremely expensive at both restaurants. No swimable beach, due to the pollution caused by the harbour nearby. You pay extra if you book any tour through reception. Taxi's are permanently on standby on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TravelAddictToo
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for writing about your stay with us. We are sorry that we did not meet some of your expectations. Our rooms are usually ready by noon which is our check in time for our guests. Our hotel is a beach hotel but in Zanzibar, the best beach is in the North in Nungwi. Since we are situated...

dar es salaam
Reviewed 2 February 2015

a short stay in this hotel will demonstrate to you that you will only get what you will pay for. a run down 2 stars hotel! since change of ownership just recently, you also need to forget about alcohol. (maybe you like a place without beer or wine?) maintenance people are walking in the restaurant during breakfast to change light...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank eytanin
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reaching out to us regarding your stay with us. We are very sorry to know that your expectations were not met and that you left our hotel sad. It is our top priority to ensure that our guests are happy and satisfied when they leave. We shall work on all the areas that you have...

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 28 January 2015

We arrived at Mtoni Marine for a relaxing weekend with some friends to find the hotel no longer served alcohol in any of its bars (as of 15th January). No glass of wine with dinner, no cocktails by the pool. Felt very disappointed. It meant we then needed to go elsewhere for lunches and dinners if we wanted to drink....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PerthCathyH
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to reach out to us regarding your stay at our hotel. We are very sorry to know that you were not satisfied with our services. As of 15th Jan, our hotel is now a non alcoholic hotel and we are sorry that this policy disappoints you. We would like to thank you...

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
8.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins
6.9 km away
Mangrove Lodge
Mangrove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chuini
142 reviews
5.1 km away
Zanzibar Ocean View
Zanzibar Ocean View
#143 of 171 in Zanzibar Island
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Chapwani Private Island
Chapwani Private Island
#105 of 171 in Zanzibar Island
83 reviews
3.3 km away
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Botique Hotel
6.1 km away
Zanzibar Beach Resort
Zanzibar Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Mazizini
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mtoni Marine is located on the west coast of Zanzibar, 10 minutes north of Stone Town and neighboring the legendary Mtoni Palace. This laid back and family friendly hotel is the ideal location from which to explore Stone Town and the rest of the island, while providing a peaceful retreat from it all. The hotel offers great facilities including a newly built infinity pool, a variety of restaurants and entertainment,Spa,The neighboring Mtoni Palace where Princess Salme was born and the perfect setting for Zanzibar weddings! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mtoni Marine Hotel

Address: Malawi Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Price Range: ₹ 10,355 - ₹ 14,822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mtoni Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mtoni Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mtoni Marine Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Hotel Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mtoni Marine Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose a room with the A.C running to observe that it is not too noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles eytanin, 1 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The family rooms were fabulous”
 of 5 bubbles PerthCathyH, 27 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 165gaels, 18 Jan 2015 | Read review
“try and stay in the Palm court as the rooms near the road are apparently very noisy once the traffic starts in the morning”
 of 5 bubbles clivel2014, 11 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Palm Court rooms”
 of 5 bubbles LoveTravelLady, 22 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay