We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kiponda Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 71110 Tanzania
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$72
View deal
Expedia.com
$77
View deal
Agoda.com
$66
View deal
Priceline$133
Hotels.com$77
Travelocity$77
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (364)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (314)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#18 of 41 hotels in Stone Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa, Stone Town’s Boutique Hotel - Zanzibar Feel History! The Seyyida Hotel & Spa, standing proudly on the edge of Zanzibar’s Stone Town, captures the spirit of romance of an island whose history has been written by the Monsoon winds. Zanzibar has a cultural heritage dating back to the era of the Omani rule in East Africa. The hotel’s name, Seyyida harks back to an era in the island’s history when the term “Seyyida” was used in addressing female Arab royals. The Seyyida Hotel & Spa itself is a royal place to be and its physical proximity to the former royal residences is an interesting historical coincidence. To this day, the hotel shares a strong bond with the island’s royal heritage, overlooking the resting place of the former sultans. In the course of its history, Zanzibar witnessed waves of visitors from far and wide making the archipelago an ethnic and cultural melting pot. This is reflected in the art collection in this boutique hotel, which includes handcrafted textiles, artifacts, paintings and oriental furniture. Do you want to know more, or maybe you want to stay with us at the Seyyida Hotel & Spa? Then do not hesitate, for further queries, availability or a quotation request, please, feel free to contact us directly at anytime!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Boating
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Diving
Snorkelling
Bicycle tours
Patio
Walking tours
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Light therapy
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 3 more
386Reviews7Q+A66Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 187
  • 111
  • 50
  • 23
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jeremy H wrote a review Oct 2022
United Kingdom13 contributions3 helpful votes
Basically a great hotel. Comfortable rooms, small friendly feel and located in a place you can always find - even when a little disorientated in the narrow streets of Stonetown. The pool was adequate, but didnt look like it had been cleaned for a while. Linen all a bit bit tired and needs replacing (towels very grey, holes appearing in bed sheets). Major issue ? Bathroom looked as if had been fitted by a DIY enthusiast with more sealant than skill. Oh, and the roof top restaurant / bar. Once the food / drinks arrived they were great, one of the best mocktails my children have ever had - but you have to wait for it, then wait a bit longer. I dont know how it can take quite so long to make a G&T. Breakfast was good. We had dessert one night - frozen cheesecake and the ice cream had some plastic in it. We would have liked to have seen less plastic used throughout whole hotel. Agree some of the rooms really noisey - but it is in the middle of stonetown. Summary - absolutely fine, but shabby around the edges.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from S Carusi, Marketing at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments regarding the comfortable rooms, the locations, and our pool. Unfortunately, being in the open it can happen that some leaves fall in. As for the bedsheets, it must have been an accident and we apologize for it. Our bathrooms and renovated often and we are sorry you did not like the aesthetic. As for the restaurant service, we are happy you enjoyed your drinks and breakfast, while we apologize for the long wait. We hope to see you again soon amongst our most welcomed guests, Regards S. Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Snelling71 wrote a review Oct 2022
Copenhagen, Denmark137 contributions62 helpful votes
Good location and you feel the vibes of the city. However room/hotel in need for some redecoration. Staff very helpful. Swimming pool okay. Somewhat expensive rooftop restaurant and limited menu. Do not go for the chicken biryani - you get a chicken with 'thai' paste...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from S Carusi, Marketing at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay, We are happy to read you enjoyed the location, our swimming pool as well as our amazing team's company. We apologize if the food was not to your liking and we will take it into consideration to improve. We hope to have you back again soon Regards S. Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
merakimoyo wrote a review Oct 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates89 contributions65 helpful votes
Unfortunately never got the chance to stay, as e-mails and text messages were unanswered. This used to be my all-time favourite hotel to stay - back in 2018. However, because of its amazing rooftop I thought I would take my friend for a dinner during sunset to oversee the waterfront of Stone Town. The service, if you may call it that was beyond poor. The waitress was rude and arrogant, to say the least, cocky. Not one of our orders was correct, we had to follow up several times, despite the fact that my friend even ordered in Swahili. Apparently, a change of management, the manager herself wasn't much of a manager or problem solver. It is a pity because the building the rooms the atmosphere and the location are simply perfect and very unique - and this place has so much potential. Everything falls and raises with people - with people working there compassionately and with guests - returning and recommending.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from S Carusi, Marketing at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay, we are sorry to hear you did not like your stay. Although we would like to mention a few things, first of all, we always try to respond to messages and emails, it might be that you had the wrong address or phone number. Our staff is always kind to everyone, which is something that many of our guests appreciate. If your food order was incorrect we apologize for the inconvenience and we will make sure it won't happen again, but we assure you that our chef always tries to satisfy our client's needs. As for our amazing manager, she is also greatly appreciated by our other guests, we once again apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and hope to have you back to change your mind about our structure. Regards S. Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jules T wrote a review Aug 2022
Los Angeles, California12 contributions
+1
I traveled to Zanzibar after climbing Kilimanjaro this past July and decided to stay at The Seyyida. I had originally booked this trip for 2020 but we all know how that story ended…The staff at The Seyyida were generous enough to move my booking to 2021, andddd then again to 2022 when my trekking group postponed the trip a second time (still due to Covid). The hotel itself is beautiful. I had a room with a ocean view and I felt like royalty. The bed was HUGE, the bathroom lovely, and the balcony (albeit small) offered a *STUNNING* view. They offer to spray mosquito repellent every night and, although I do highly recommend taking them up on this offer, it does have quite a lingering smell. So plan to be out of your room for dinner or a tour for a couple of hours. The rooftop restaurant is beautiful and offers an amazing view of the city and ocean. The hotel staff was nothing short of amazing. When my hair dryer broke, they found me another. When I needed more towels, they brought me them immediately. When my driver never showed up for a a tour I had booked, they arranged for a new tour and a driver was there in 5min. They mailed a postcard for me when I asked where the bearer post office was! They let me leave my suitcases there after I checked out because my ferry wasn’t until the afternoon—and they even helped me carry my *very* large duffel (from climbing the mountain) all the way to the ferry!!! I also had an amazing massage here on a rainy day when I wasn’t sure what to fill my day with. The front lobby is unreachable by car, but it is perfectly located, and quick/easy by foot to meet a driver on the road. Within walking distance of so much. I didn’t use the pool, but it looked lovely as well. It’s not very big, but big enough to sit and relax. Cannot speak highly enough about the wonderful front desk workers (and all other staff) and this beautiful place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simonetta Carusi, Marketing at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and choosing Seyyida as your destination! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the beautiful rooms and views that our hotel offers, as well as our amazing rooftop terrace. We will share your kind comments on our team's company with them and they will be delighted to hear them. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the spa as well as the pool. We hope to see you again amongst our most welcomed guests Regards S. Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stefan s wrote a review Aug 2022
41 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Hi, I did a workshop there with a small group of 10 people. We were more than happy and this is due to the fact that the manager of this hotel, Maureen, worked from morning till night to make our stay a success. To the owner of this place: you should do everything to keep Maureen. I do lots of events in Africa so I know how important a good General Manager is, and that he/she has good relations with the staff. Maureen transformed the boarding room into something really beautiful so that I can really recommend the place for small groups up to 12 people. Food was very good, with big portions and great choices, allthough on the expensive side. Rooms are big and very clean. The best thing about Seyyida is its location which can't be beat: next door to Palace Museum and Forodhani gardens, with sea and sunset views. I the middle of he old city but some steps away from the tourism frenzy. You have wonderful breezes in the evening up there. Breakfast is abundant, with even sparkling wine if you like. All in all a fantastic place which felt like home thanks to Maureen.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simonetta Carusi, Marketing at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location and found it to be convenient due to its very central position. We also thank you for your kind comments on the food, rooms, and most importantly our amazing Manager, Maureen. We will share your kind words with her and hope to have you back amongst our most welcomed guests. Regards, S. Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jon G wrote a review Jun 2022
Bristol, United Kingdom22 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed 2 nights on our honeymoon. We arrived 9.30 at night and were greeted with indifference and given room 206. The room was at the front of the hotel and suffered from a lot of street noise. We changed rooms next morning when staff were a bit more responsive. Lovely views from breakfast
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simonetta Carusi, Marketing at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Responded 18 Jul 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay. We would like to mention that the rooms we assign are the ones chosen during your booking, we are glad that you found yourselves more comfortable after your room change. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast from our fantastic terrace and the views it has to offer. We hope to see you again soon, Regards S. Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SUSHOVAN S wrote a review Jun 2022
New Delhi, India132 contributions63 helpful votes
The entry to this property is the only negative thing. Location is just perfect, Emerson by Hurumzi 2 min walk, Beach 2 min walk and shops few steps ahead. The most fascinating thing about this property is the rooftop restaurant. With white building and blue water it gives a santorini feeling. Hotel very neat and breakfast lavish .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Sea was visible from my balcony
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simonetta Carusi, Marketing at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Responded 18 Jul 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location and how close it is to the beach, as well as our amazing rooftop restaurant which is appreciated by many, and the food that it offers. We hope to see you again soon amongst our most welcomed guests, Regards S. Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W wrote a review May 2022
Seattle, Washington7 contributions
Lovely spot with gorgeous views and great location in the heat of Stone Town. I spent four nights as a solo traveler and Seyyida exceeded my expectations. Fabulous staff, Massoud makes a great Dawa! Rooms are comfortable, spotlessly clean, WiFi and Air Con both perfect. Thank you Miriam and all the Seyyida staff for your warm welcome and a fantastic stay, I will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Easy walking distance from the ferry terminal.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simonetta Carusi, Marketing at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Responded 30 May 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location, rooms, and services amongst the company of our amazing team, we will share your big words with them. We wait for your arrival again amongst our most welcomed guests! Regards S. Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NANCY HAWKINS wrote a review May 2022
Vancouver, Canada21 contributions2 helpful votes
Staff were amazing from the Chef to the servers. Beautiful hotel. Easy access to the boardwalk and city tours. Highly recommend. City tour was arranged by our guide Furahini Ngoda and was excellent. Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simonetta Carusi, Marketing at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Responded 30 May 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such kind review on our structure and for staying at Seyyida. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our teams company, we will share your kind words with them. We are pleased to know you also enjoyed the services provided by our team and facility. We hope to see you again soon amongst our most welcomed guests. Regards S. Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thesqueakyflipflop wrote a review Apr 2022
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom76 contributions47 helpful votes
the hotel is down an alley and you have to walk through a lot of mess to get to it. It is convenqetoenly located however. The rooms were spacious comfy beds and nicely decorated but the hotel is so so noisy, we barely got any sleep as the walls are thin! The lecterns were soaking and crackling as we used the plugs so not ideal! the restaurant staff and lunch/dinner menu and chef were great, really nice food the breakfast however was covered in flies and not appealing. the front desk staff were ok but not particularly friendly. the pool was a nice touch in the very hot afternoons.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simonetta Carusi, Marketing at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Responded 30 May 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at Seyyida and taking the time to write the review. We are glad to hear your enjoyed the room and amenities as well as our swimming pool, restaurant food and team's company. we will share your kind comments with them. As for the the noise, it is normal that being in the heart of town you can hear sounds coming from the outside, it could have been solved by asking to get a room change to another room further from the noise. We apologise for the plugs inconvenience but it could have been solved if we knew about it as the maintenance would have done anything possible to solve it. We hope to see you again soon Regards S. Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$60 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the seyyida hotel stone town, the seyyida hotel and spa
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandZanzibar CityStone Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SEYYIDA HOTEL & SPA (Stone Town) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Aromas of Zanzibar (0.3 km), Old Slave Market/Anglican Cathedral (0.4 km), and Christ Church Cathedral (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tea House Restaurant, Ma Shaa Allah Cafe', and Emerson Spice Tea House Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Seyyida Hotel & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, The Seyyida Hotel & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Arabic, and Swahili.
Are there any historical sites close to The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Christ Church Cathedral (0.4 km), Mkunazini, Urban West, Zanzibar (0.5 km), and House of Wonders (Beit-el-Ajaib) (0.2 km).