We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Seyyida Hotel & Spa

Kiponda Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 71110 Tanzania
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (424)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (328)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#18 of 38 hotels in Stone Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa, Stone Town’s Boutique Hotel - Zanzibar Feel History! The Seyyida Hotel & Spa, standing proudly on the edge of Zanzibar’s Stone Town, captures the spirit of romance of an island whose history has been written by the Monsoon winds. Zanzibar has a cultural heritage dating back to the era of the Omani rule in East Africa. The hotel’s name, Seyyida harks back to an era in the island’s history when the term “Seyyida” was used in addressing female Arab royals. The Seyyida Hotel & Spa itself is a royal place to be and its physical proximity to the former royal residences is an interesting historical coincidence. To this day, the hotel shares a strong bond with the island’s royal heritage, overlooking the resting place of the former sultans. In the course of its history, Zanzibar witnessed waves of visitors from far and wide making the archipelago an ethnic and cultural melting pot. This is reflected in the art collection in this boutique hotel, which includes handcrafted textiles, artifacts, paintings and oriental furniture. Do you want to know more, or maybe you want to stay with us at the Seyyida Hotel & Spa? Then do not hesitate, for further queries, availability or a quotation request, please, feel free to contact us directly at anytime!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Boating
Diving
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Snorkelling
Bicycle tours
Patio
Walking tours
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Light therapy
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Oven
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 3 more
420Reviews7Q+A75Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 200
  • 119
  • 59
  • 24
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Solveig V wrote a review Mar 2024
Ingolstadt, Germany4 contributions
Really helpful staff!! Big beds, clean and delicate bathroom. Housekeeping was doing a good job! They helped us with different activities/booking guides for us. The breakfast was tasty but took some time, but the view from the table made it worth it. A bit noise from the streets and you can hear some noise from your neighbours. Would recommend! Really zentrale.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mindy L wrote a review Mar 2024
Columbus, Ohio194 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
We arrive at night so could not really see the view until the next day we went to the rooftop restaurant for breakfast and it was an amazing view of the water. The room was nice with mosquito nets. It had a small balcony which was over the little square the first day we was there. There was a wedding and could hear the music from our balcony it was quite interesting. We hired a guide Abdala to take us around in Stone Town and learn about the history of the city. We went to Slave Quarters too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Zanzibar is very hot so an air conditioned hotel with a pool is the only way to go.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
John B wrote a review Mar 2024
Welland, Canada7 contributions
+1
Although there seem to be some critical reviews, we had a great experience at this hotel. Staff were extremely friendly (especially to our 7 month old daughter), and did a great job keeping our room clean. The hotel was very nice and well maintained. I loved sitting on the rooftop patio and enjoying the ocean view! We didn’t eat any food at the restaurant but enjoyed a few evening drinks. We also enjoyed the pool and inner courtyard. As other guests have said, the street is noisy and the alley way to access the hotel may be uncomfortable for some guests. We didn’t mind and never felt unsafe. I enjoyed sitting on the balcony and people watching on the street below. There are no TVs in the room which was unusual. In our room the Air Conditioner thermostat wasn’t working properly so it kept the room at 16 degrees Celsius which was refreshing when first entering the room, but too cold for sleeping. I thought this was a great hotel, and we would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Andre M wrote a review Feb 2024
Sao Paulo, SP39 contributions50 helpful votes
The room we stayed in is an architectural nightmare. It has two floors. The lower floor has the bathroom and a small living room. In the living room, there was only one electrical outlet, and it didn't work. The bed is on the upper floor, connected to the lower part by stairs with extremely high steps. Clearly, it was poorly designed. Good luck climbing and descending stairs with steps that must be over 30 centimeters high just to go to the bathroom. When we booked the room, we were told it had a private balcony. In fact, what it has is direct access to the hotel's balcony, where the restaurant is located. So, it's anything but "private." The room had other problems. It doesn't have a refrigerator (which I find inconceivable, especially considering it's a warm place) and the shower drain was clogged, leaking water all over the bathroom floor. I requested numerous times that they look into the drain issue, until a staff member told me there was "no solution" and that the problem was the narrow plumbing (!!!) Another thing I found bizarre and senseless (and that I only discovered upon arrival) is that the room does not include breakfast. I had to pay extra. So, a room that is offered as "premium" is, in fact, a letdown... With an extremely inconvenient layout and, inexplicably, no breakfast included. Another problem with the hotel (which, in this case, I won't blame on the hotel but on Stone Town) is that it's in an area with no car access. So, you have to carry your own luggage on arrival and departure. Except for these issues, it's an average and reasonable hotel, nothing more. Just avoid the duplex rooms, as they're a trap (no matter how much they try to convince you that they are superior rooms).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Josephat L wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
Was warmly received and ushured to comfortable, neat and cool room. Was a hot day. Had fine dinner at the roof top restaurant overlooking the sea port and the famous forozani food market. Had a dip in the pool. Was home away from home for me. The service is excellent generally. Very good hotel to stay if you are in stone town for some time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Manager, Marketing at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Responded 7 Mar 2024
Dear Guest Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad to read you enjoyed our services and our delicious meals cooked by our amazing chef! We hope to see you again soon! S.Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Traveler D wrote a review Feb 2024
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Our whole experience in Zanzibar was rather disappointing as the island is littered with pollution and plastic bottles almost everywhere. The hotel is nice but was not what we were expecting. There are no lifts in the hotel and instead have to use a flight of stairs. The area where the hotel is situated is not good and not very well lit in the evenings. We only had breakfast at hotel which was sufficient and the normal breakfast items nothing to write home about! We have come to realize that the majority hotels in Zanzibar are privately owned properties with no Big Brand affiliation which was disappointing as the standards are not there, yet the prices charged are that of a luxury destination if not more expensive! Staff were friendly and the rooms immaculate. This is an Island that we will not be visiting again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Manager, Marketing at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Responded 8 Mar 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and choosing us as your destination. Zanzibar is an idyllic island and loved by many, pollution is a problem here just as it is a problem in most places in 2024. Our hotel does not have elevators but they aren't advertised anywhere, we are always sincere regarding our services. We assure you that our prices are up to the standard of the services we provide and a good comparison to those of our competitors, Zanzibar is a gorgeous island that many people do consider a luxury getaway and we are sorry if you found the island to be any less than that. We are glad our breakfast and our rooms were to your liking as well as our team's company. We will share your kind comments with them. We hope to have you back again soon Regards S.Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
worldtraveller4_10 wrote a review Feb 2024
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania104 contributions43 helpful votes
I have stayed at the hotel a few times, and overall my experience has been good. However, several months ago I booked rooms and my reservation was confirmed. Two weeks before my time at the hotel, I received an email saying that there was an error and they could no longer honor my reservation. The original email informing me of this disappointing news suggested they would help find alternative arrangements, and asked for my phone number (local number) to help sort out. After sharing my number, and not hearing back, I called. I was promised they would look into it. However, they did not call back. I called back several times with promises they would call me back but never did. In the end was left on my own to find alternative arrangements. With being only 2 weeks before our trip, we were left scrambling to find a comparable room within our budget . Very disappointed with not only the cancellation but the lack of support to find alternative travel arrangements given it was their error after.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Manager, Marketing at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Responded 8 Mar 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are sorry to hear that your holiday had to be canceled because of a problem from our side, we assure you that we always try to give our clients all the support they need to find a good alternative on the very rare occasion that they can't stay with us anymore. That wasn't the case for you and we sincerely apologize! We hope you can see past this and choose Seyyida again during one of your next stays in Zanzibar! We hope to have you back again soon Regards S.Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carmen wrote a review Feb 2024
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa3 contributions
My friend and I stayed for one night before we returned home. The hotel's location is great for visiting all the historical sites as well as the waterfront and night market. Everything is within walking distance. Our room was spacious, cool and clean. The dinner we had at the restaurant was excellent. The rooftop view is spectacular. Definitely a YES.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Manager, Marketing at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Responded 7 Mar 2024
Dear Guest Thank you for choosing Seyyida and writing such nice comments regarding your stay! We are glad to read your visit at our structure was pleasing! We hope to have you back again soon Regards S.Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
robinsy wrote a review Jan 2024
Norwich, United Kingdom60 contributions177 helpful votes
Hotel was well situated and room pleasant as it had aircon. Some issues in the room, the shower leaked badly meaning there was always water on the floor (a little silicone round it would solve the problem) one of the sink taps was broken and the balcony door flooded after raining which meant half the room was flooded. The pool looked nice but didn't use it however the loungers look like they had seen better days. We had to have breakfast in the room one morning due to rain on the terrace however there is no where for 2 people to really eat. The 2nd morning we ate in the restaurant however avoid the coffee its only instant, which was truly awful. I asked for a cup of hot water and used my own tea bag instead. In a country surrounded by coffee producers i thought they'd have had good coffee. Having spent a week in kenya where the coffee was amazing. Other parts of the breakfast were pleasant they brought a plate of fruit and a basket of pastries All in all average I'd say. Also if you want to do a trip over to prison island don't pay the $45 trip just wander down to the beach and someone will take you over ww paid 60k shillings and spent an hour there and our boat waited for us.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Manager, Marketing at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Responded 7 Mar 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad you chose Seyyida as your holiday destination but would like to point out some things. The shower and sink issue could have been solved had our maintenance department known about it just as the flooded room problem could have been solved had our housekeeping department known about it. We are sorry our coffee was not to your liking, everything we prepare is always prepared with attention and care. We are happy to read that the rest of the food you had was to your liking and we will share your kind words with our restaurant department who will be happy to read them. As for the excursion, we never recommend going with the beach boys as many don't have insurance or permits to lead the trip. We have a list of trusted guides who have everything required to conduct the excursion most safely, hence the price difference between them and the beach boys. We do hope to have you back again soon! Regards S.Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CassErasser wrote a review Jan 2024
Milwaukee, Wisconsin71 contributions10 helpful votes
We got in around 0300 and had a nice cold room, amazing shower and beautiful room! This place is beautiful 😍 we asked for a late check out and it was no problem. They also held our bags for us 🫶🏻 I forgot my glasses in the room and they had them waking for me! Asante Sana ✨
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Amazing shower! AC 👌
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Manager, Marketing at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Responded 7 Mar 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and choosing Seyyida as your destination! We thrive off of positive feeback and hearing that our kindness is appreciated is always a pleasure! We hope to have you back again soon! Regards S.Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Stone Town area.
PRICE RANGE
₹4,846 - ₹8,606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the seyyida hotel stone town, the seyyida hotel and spa
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandZanzibar CityStone Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SEYYIDA HOTEL & SPA (Stone Town) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Aromas of Zanzibar (0.3 km), Old Slave Market/Anglican Cathedral (0.4 km), and Christ Church Cathedral (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tea House Restaurant, Emerson Spice Tea House Restaurant, and Zanzibar Coffee House Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Seyyida Hotel & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, The Seyyida Hotel & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Arabic, and Swahili.
Are there any historical sites close to The Seyyida Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Christ Church Cathedral (0.4 km), Mkunazini, Urban West, Zanzibar (0.5 km), and David Livingstone's place of rest (0.2 km).