We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
8/10/2017 9/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Mdonya Old River Camp

    | Mdonya River, Ruaha National Park, Tanzania
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    8/10/2017 9/10/2017
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruaha National ParkSee available hotels in Ruaha National Park
    Traveller (286)
    Room & Suite (28)
    Dining (17)
    M.R.Hotel
    9 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Iringa
     
    Ruaha River Lodge
    211 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Ruaha National Park
     
    Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
    83 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Ruaha National Park
     
    Overview
    • Excellent82%
    • Very good17%
    • Average1%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    Breakfast included
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Paid Wifi
    Free Parking
    Pool
    Room Service
    Suites
    2.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    M.R.Hotel
    9 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Iringa
     
    Ruaha River Lodge
    211 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Ruaha National Park
     
    Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
    83 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Ruaha National Park
     
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    Reviews (206)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 143 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    That title is for Andreas! We had the best time and loved this camp. Our hosts were charming and I can't think of anywhere else where you are actually pleased to have had your tent changed because the naughty elephants have pushed a tree down...More

    Thank lizandtheBeagles
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    We booked a "last minute" getaway with Coastal/Essential Destinations, for 3 days and 2 nights, a really economical way to see the most amazing landscapes and animals. The camp is well organized and truly a bush camp. Elephants and hyenas wander through the camp, untroubled...More

    Thank LLR100
    Response from Essential Desti... T, Manager at Mdonya Old River CampResponded 2 weeks ago

    Thank you for your review of your last minute safari to Mdonya. We are glad to hear that you found it a well organised experience as well as a unique and worthwhile safari option even after several years of safari experience in Tanzania. We hope...More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    This was our first safari and it was a magical trip. Rebecca and Andreas are terrific hosts who run a friendly welcoming camp . I loved sitting round the campfire pre and post dinner chatting with them and the other guests. Dismas did a really...More

    Thank holiday500
    Response from Essential Desti... T, Manager at Mdonya Old River CampResponded 3 weeks ago

    Hey, thank you for this great review of your stay with us. We are delighted that your first safari was such a hit. Sitting road the camp fire chatting about the day is in our opinion is the perfect way to end a day in...More

    Reviewed 14 August 2017

    This was our first trip to Ruaha - and we weren't disappointed! We spent five nights in all at Mdonya Old River Camp - and I would recommend this length of stay. There were great options in terms of how much time you wanted to...More

    Thank tonyballance
    Response from Essential Desti... T, Manager at Mdonya Old River CampResponded 17 August 2017

    Thank you for your recommendations of Mdonya as well for your guide and driver. We are pleased that you found five nights a good length of stay and that you had such a good impression of Ruaha as a destination. We like to give a...More

    Reviewed 14 August 2017

    We were lucky enough to have been recommended this camp for our family safari. This is a really well run camp with Rebecca and Andreas looking after the guests very well. We were welcomed back from each drives and we had very friendly conversations around...More

    1  Thank Julie R
    Response from Essential Desti... T, Manager at Mdonya Old River CampResponded 17 August 2017

    Thank you Julie for your words of praise of your experience at Mdonya. It is very good to hear that Kahimba transmitted his passion for the wilderness and wildlife with you as well as sharing his knowledge and insight of the bush, this is exactly...More

    M.R.Hotel
    9 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Iringa
     
    Ruaha River Lodge
    211 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Ruaha National Park
     
    Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
    83 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Ruaha National Park
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Hotel class
    • Number of rooms
    • 12
    • Location
    • Tanzania >
    • Iringa Region >
    • Ruaha National Park
    • Also Known As
    • Mdonya Old River Camp Hotel Ruaha National Park
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (286)
    Room & Suite (28)
    Dining (17)
    Pool & Beach (8)
    Hotel & Grounds (256)
    Bathroom (5)
    Nearby
    M.R.Hotel
    9 reviews
    115.14 km away
     
    Ruaha River Lodge
    211 reviews
    25.89 km away
     
    Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
    83 reviews
    .00 km away
     
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    DougBelyea
    22 June 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Essential Desti... T | Property representative |
    Hello, sorry for the late answer, we had some satellite internet problems recently. All our tents have wildlife passing by but if you request tent n 0 or tent 8 you have a better view of the dry riverbed
    1
    Vote
    Amanda R
    Reading these reviews is making me insane with excitement for my visit this July, my first ever to Africa! While I was first looking into this dream trip I was told over and over by different tour operators that I should do the northern circuit, but I knew right away I wanted to visit Ruaha. I also would like to say that I appreciate that off-road driving is prohibited as it means the animals have the opportunity to not be seen. I would prefer to see one tenth the number of animals and go away knowing that no animals had been stressed for my enjoyment. My question is about vegetarian food. I realize that preparing a special menu for one person in an isolated location is simply not always possible and I am prepared to be as flexible as I can. I wonder however whether it would be reasonable to expect as least some vegetarian choices. Thank-you very much. I can't wait to get there!
    25 May 2017|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Essential Desti... T | Property representative |
    Hello Amanda, thank you for contacting with your question regarding vegetarian meals. It is no problem at all for us to cater for vegetarian diets, for lunch and dinner we have at least 2 vegetable dishes as well as carbs... More
    1
    Vote
    cccc77
    10 October 2016|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Polly65c | Reviewed this property |
    There is no walking or boat safari n Ruaha,only in Selous.Hope this helps.
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "Any tent would be fine"
    Read review
    "These are camps so you stay in tents but you have your own shower and toilet - clean and bug proof."
    Read review
    "I would have to say that having the tent on the outside, furthest away from the central camp, was very nice..."
    Read review
    "A torch would be useful."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing