We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Arabella Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Arabella Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

779 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 717: English reviews
Start your review of Arabella Hotel & Spa
 Click to rate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Some bad reviews on Trip Advisor made us apprehensive but certainly, the Spa African Rainforest experience for couples in a February Valentines offer, was excellent. Arrival to departure, the staff were helpful, professional and delightful, the spa itself is beautiful and every bit of the 5-6 hours we spent there, was thoroughly enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bluebell30
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went for a business conference to this hotel. The hotel is quite a distance from the airport ,maybe 90 miles and took about an hour and a half to reach by car. The rooms are well furnished and the room service is also good. The highlight is the golf course which is quite scenic to play, but you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Old_monk57
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Last year we played golf at Arabella and were so impressed by the look of the hotel that we decided to spend 2 nights there this year. What an expensive mistake! Our Grande Deluxe room had a magnificent view, but housekeeping had not been checked and we had to ring for towels and toiletries. Not a 5* hotel. Worse was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemaryat9
Helga H, Guest Relations Manager at Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Rosemaryat9 Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor and for complimenting us on our golf course and magnificent view. We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet or exceed your expectations. We appreciate that you have shared your experience, highlighting all the areas we need to be aware of, to improve. Regards...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my husband stayed at the Arabella Hotel to celebrate my birthday. I must admit that i looked forward to staying at this hotel but i was nothing but disappointed with the services received. I can totally relate to all the badly rated reviews on this site- i wish i checked here before we booked. The staff upon check-in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Toni969
Helga H, Guest Relations Manager at Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Toni969 Thank you for making us your choice of accommodation to celebrate your Birthday and thank you for taking the time to write the review about your stay with us. We appreciate that you have shared your experience, highlighting all the areas we need to be aware of, to improve. We are disappointed that your experience was not what...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Would highly recommend this fabulous hotel... excellent location with beautiful views and golf course. Rooms very well presented and spotlessly clean ... staff attentive and very good service, with the exception of one evening meal when somewhat unprofessional and slow...would put this down to there bring a golf tournament taking place and maybe relief staff being used in restaurant. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank langebaan28
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was a bit disappointed that all the amenities closed at 8pm in heart if summer. My stay seemed more like an over priced sleep for a night. Otherwise nice room facing lagoon that was about that was about the only consolation. Plus eating halaal was a bit of a challenge

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nazeem B
Helga H, Guest Relations Manager at Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nazeem Thank you for recently choosing Arabella Hotel & Spa as your overnight destination. We are glad that you have enjoyed the beautiful view from your lagoon facing room. We are disappointed that you left feeling dissatisfied that the amenities closed at 8pm and that eating halaal was a bit of a challenge. Kind regards Helga Horn

Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would have to spend a long time going into the detail of our stay to give readers an idea of the level of ineptitude so I will select just a few items. 1) Our room doors did not lock and took hours to get sorted. we were offered a move but had unpacked already and felt that the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AfricanSalad
Helga H, Manager at Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear AfricanSalad Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after your recent stay at Arabella Hotel & Spa. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve our standards of service and facilities. Regards Helga Horn

Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Golf course in great condition Hotel rooms are OK, so was the food at dinner. Breakfast buffet is comprehensive. Service in the restaurants (dinner or breakfast) is totally unprofessional. When we visited the SPA, service was inexistent. Used towels everywhere, on the floor, in the showers etc. Had an impression that the place was not very clean or even sane....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
Helga H, Guest Relations Manager at Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Peter M Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. Your valued feedback highlighted a number of areas for improvement that I have since shared with the team. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our magnificent golf course. Kind regards Helga Horn

Cape Town
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went to play golf at Arabella Golf Club and stayed for three days at the Arabella Hotel. Sadly, whilst the golf course was very excellent, the hotel very much not so. The Arabella hotel sells and markets itself as a 5 Star Hotel with prices to match. I was given a nicely located room on the ground floor, with...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CapeTownCharles
Helga H, Guest Relations Manager at Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear CapeTownCharles We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel on this platform. Although we appreciate your positive comments about our excellent golf course it was concerning that the service delivered by the hotel team failed to meet your expectations We would like to extend our apologies for any challenges you were faced...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Arabella over Christmas for 4 nights and we loved the quality of the rooms, the hotel amenities and the food was excellent; however the high quality of the resort was put to shame because of the poor service we received. Unfortunately, the few good staff members spent their time apologizing instead of fixing the problem. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew S
Helga H, Guest Relations Manager at Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Andrew S Thank you for sharing your experience at Arabella Hotel & Spa through TripAdvisor and for complimenting us on the quality of our rooms, the hotel amenities and excellent food. We are disheartened to hear that your stay at Arabella Hotel & Spa did not meet or exceed your expectations. We would like to extend our apologies for...

449 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (332)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (117)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kleinmond
14.9 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
15.1 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
635 reviews
14.9 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
391 reviews
15.3 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hermanus
852 reviews
14.8 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Arabella Hotel & Spa is situated just over an hour's drive from Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel delivers grandeur in design and style that pays homage to the rare beauty that surrounds it. Luminous colours, soaring wooden beam ceilings and unique designs welcome you while attentive and gracious service enhances the experience of complete comfort and warmth. As you are surrounded by the majestic Kogelberg Mountains and bordered by the vast Bot River Lagoon, indulge in a sensory experience that will leave you with treasured memories. Savour the beautiful aromas of fresh salty sea air and fynbos; distinctive sounds of exotic birdlife and enriching sights of emblematic green mountains and sparkling waters that meet an indigo sky. The Arabella Golf Course stretches through Rolling fairways, deceptive bunkers and challenging water traps await you in this golfer’s paradise. You may get distracted by the Bot River Lagoon and indigenous wild flowers, so concentration is a necessity. Your stay would not be complete without a visit to the Arabella Spa. This glorious retreat captures the essence of luxury, privacy and rejuvenation that is at the heart of your stay. Beyond this blissful escape, the destination offers a number of activities to guide you on your path towards complete relaxation. Explore the Overberg with its magnificent charms and treasures that await you. Be enriched by exciting quad bike rides, kayaking expeditions at sea and lazy horseback rides while golden shores and serene Botanical Gardens will leave you in awe of its unspoilt beauty. A valley of vineyards and wine and historic museums invite you to absorb the town's legacy; magnificent hiking and mountain biking trails and captivating boat rides with the ocean's big 5 will leave you inspired. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arabella Hotel & Spa

Address: R44 Arabella Country Estate, Kleinmond 7195, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Kleinmond
Price Range: ₹ 11,165 - ₹ 22,195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Arabella Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Arabella Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabella Hotel Hermanus
Arabella Western Cape Hotel
Arabella Western Cape Hermanus
Western Cape Spa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Arabella Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Arabella Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only used the Spa and comments are for that only.”
 of 5 bubbles Bluebell30, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Look for the golf course facing rooms , they have a better view”
 of 5 bubbles Old_monk57, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on higher floors have superb views”
 of 5 bubbles langebaan28, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the suites facing the golf course are peaceful and scenic”
 of 5 bubbles merriam11, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“4th or 5th floor with golfcourse view”
  • Hole 9
 of 5 bubbles Brekkan, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5