We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mont Aux Sources Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 177: English reviews
Linkoping, Sweden
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Spacious room with great views over the Drakensberg mountains. Make sure you check the rate at the different booking sites before you do a "walk in". We had no booking and just walked in and asked for a double room. The price we got was R1000 over the price we found at Booking.com. Of course they gave us the lower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargarethaN
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaretha, Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel following your stay. The hotel runs specials on various platforms including booking.com whereas you will sometimes find it cheaper online with a specific website, but we are pleased to see that they have assisted you in a professional manner. We are absolutely ecstatic to see that...

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We only went to have lunch. They have a variety of burgers on the menu but the waiter let us know they were out of stock of burger ingredients. So we tried ribs.. And again, they didn't have stock of ribs. They got some of the orders incorrect and when we asked for the desert menu they brought the bill.....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jaco K
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jaco, Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel after your lunch. We would like to apologise for the service and experience you had with us as this is not acceptable. Your feedback assists us to improve our operational aspects of the Hotel. Senior management is also involved. We do hope that you will afford...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the mountains and the view onto the amphitheater from our chalet. The chalets are outdated, but I understand that the are busy revamping them. On the activities side not much is organized, but at least they seem busy upgrading the mini-golf. We had dinner at the hotel buffet, which was limited but very tasty....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pimmetje_7
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pimmetje_7 Thank you for your great and in depth review of Mont Aux Sources Hotel following your stay. We are absolutely ecstatic to see that you had such a good time with us! And yes all is being upgraded it just takes time and money! Thank you for understanding. We would like to thank you for your suggestions and...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 December 2016

Our first room, in old section, could have been passable except for the 100's of flies. The fresh pillowcases were still damp but room service changed them for slightly less damp ones and brought another towel so we could each have one! No coffee, just tea bags, which reception remedied at my request. When I showed reception the pile of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seainland
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Seainland, Thank you for reviewing Mont Aux Sources Hotel after your stay. We would like to apologise for the any inconvenience the flies may have caused during your visit and your upset tummies that you had. We are pleased to see that you have been upgraded to a better room. Once again we do apologise for the amount of...

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

This is an email( not replied to) regarding our experience staying at the Mont Aux Sources Chalets in Drakensburg. Upon searching for accommodation to let in the web, I came across this resort, it looked appealing via the website with all the modern pictures and luxury promises. Little did we know we were in for a surprise: the rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Angelica F
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel . We are concerned to learn of your disappointment on your recent stay. Excellence in the services we offer and customer care is of paramount importance. We do assure you that this is no way our guests should be treated, and therefore we would like...

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We rented a self catering chalet. The location is awesome. The gardens and property is lovely. The staff are good. That's where it ends. The chalet is poorly equipped, poorly furnished, barely clean and quite neglected. This could be a gem in the Drakensberg BUT it has been neglected by its owners. Not sure why but we won't be back...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Waggy1610
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel following your stay. Your feedback is valuable and will be reviewed by the Line Manager concerned. This helps us to know that we are delivering the standards we aim towards and where improvement is required. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you...

Howick, South Africa
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Just had a week in unit 18 at Mont Aux Sources. Andrew the manager answered all my questions before we arrived so really appreciate his efforts. Elsewhere, things not so good. The chalet is needing a serious fixer up. Rotten doors in bathrooms, broken toilet roll holders, doorknobs that fall off, hinges that squeak terribly, patio chairs missing half the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ashley C
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel . We are concerned to learn of your disappointment on your recent stay with certain aspects of our services. Excellence in the services we offer and customer care is of paramount importance. We do assure you that this is no way our guests should be...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Great location and views. Decent food in the buffet. But the fact that they seem to have one towel per room is unacceptable. Each day we had to beg to get towels. There were 3 of us in the room and we got 1. They said the rest were in the drier. Same issue affected many guests. Also these towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jgr83
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Mont Aux Sources Hotel. We are concerned to learn of your disappointment with certain aspects of our service. Excellence in customer care is of paramount importance. Your comments specifically refers to the standard we strive to achieve. We cannot afford to be complacent and we are making constant...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

My dad and I stayed here for a night before a mountain bike race and, although it was just a place to crash for the night, we were still left very disappointed. The worst of it were the dirty sheets which I couldn't bring myself to sleep on - stained yellow with other marks all over - really disgusting. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Raymondorae
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel . We are concerned to learn of your disappointment on your recent stay. Excellence in the services we offer and customer care is of paramount importance. We do assure you that this is no way our guests should be treated, and therefore we would like...

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Last year we mention on Tripadvisor that we believe that it is unacceptable to stay there and then to get a letter that say that the restaurant area is closed due to a religious group that stay there. The management actually say on Tripadvisor that they agree and will look into it. This year a letter was received in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wim_traveler
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wim, Thank you for taking the time to review the Mont Aux Sources Hotel. We are concerned to learn of your disappointment with certain aspects of our service. Excellence in customer care is of paramount importance. Your comments specifically refers to the standard we strive to achieve. We cannot afford to be complacent and we are making constant strides...

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
34.3 km away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
4.7 km away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
37.7 km away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
439 reviews
3.1 km away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
10.4 km away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled at the foothills of the majestic Drakensberg Mountains, this landmark property is easily accessible from Johannesburg and Durban. The Mont-Aux-Sources Hotel & Resort borders the renowned Royal Natal National Park and offers magnificent views of the world-famous Amphitheatre. The Drakensberg is home to many world heritage sites and is the second most photographed destination in Southern Africa.Experience the stunning natural beauty, while enjoying the numerous activities, onsite and nearby. Afterwards, enjoy a hearty meal in the restaurant and relax in the comfortable lounge with its inviting log fireplace. The beautifully landscaped grounds add to the tranquil ambience of this popular country retreat. As one of the region’s finest country hotels, it welcomes guests from all over the world, and is known for its warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Address: D119, The Cavern Road | Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Price Range: ₹ 4,704 - ₹ 8,764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont Aux Sources Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mont Aux Sources Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mont Aux Sources Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mont Aux Sources Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with a mountain view, waking up to that is priceless.”
chaplain2729, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upgraded rooms NB”
swingbd, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“avoid completely”
KoroushaC, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on the top floor, they have a small balcony) and away from the bar.”
europeholidays, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the chalets until renovations are completed. The hotel rooms are fine.”
68fanij, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5