We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Pointe Sud Ouest, Le Morne, Mauritius 91202
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Receive 500 free points
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$217
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/09/22
ZenHotels.com
$170
View deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2662)
Room & Suite (415)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riu Le Morne
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 11 hotels in Le Morne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Adults Only & 24h All Inclusive Hotel Riu Le Morne opens all year round and is located on the beautiful beach of Le Morne, right next to the Hotel Riu Creole. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal due to its proximity to SSR International Airport MRU (60 km), La Gaulette (10 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 218 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in the spa area or get in shape at the gym. 2 outdoor pools. Day and evening entertainment, as well as our Pacha Discotheque at the neighboring Hotel Riu Creole. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main restaurant, Indian and Asian specialty restaurants, as well as 3 bars.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Aerobics
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
French
Hotel links
Special Offer:Receive 500 free points
1793Reviews331Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 897
  • 555
  • 172
  • 73
  • 96
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kaps R wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
It was a great stay, great service. Way better than other hotels we were staying before the previous week on the West coast. The food is excellent, service is great. The hotel room was adequate, could be better but it did do its job. We didn't stay much in the room as there was soo much to do around and in the hotel. The kite surfing company in the hotel was not offering any discounts so we had to pay for our own elsewhere. The hotel is pretty windy on the beach, but inside the hotel walkways it was well covered and you were not exposed to the elements. Again the service was really great, much better than a 5 star hotel we were at the week before. The food was excellent.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
MissP9045 wrote a review Jun 2022
Sidcup, United Kingdom1 contribution
I found the staff at RIU Le Morne were extremely friendly and very helpful, always willing to assist. Lovely and clean big rooms and the food was delicious and varied from all cultures. I’ll definitely look to visit again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Meha.R wrote a review Jun 2022
Riviere Noire25 contributions7 helpful votes
Its my 5th visit at RIU Morne / Creole. I was very very disappointed by the food the quality has decreased and no variety as before. Some food were uncooked, told the employees but they didn't even bother to change it. Our mini bar was not filled. Had to call multiple times as we needed drinking water at night. Experience at RIU Morne / Creole is not value for money anymore.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Le Morne
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Meha_R1811, Thank you very much for choosing Riu and for sharing your feedback. As we strongly believe that customer comes first, it is truly saddening to find that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay and that there were some aspects that overshadowed your experience due to the inconveniences. We have of course passed your concerns to the relevant department for an appropriate follow up and we sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you again and share a more pleasant experience. We would also like to take this opportunity for thanking you for being such a loyal guest. We wish to kindly recommend you to vist the Riu Class website, you will be able to read about the benefits of being a class member. Kindest Regards, Hotel Riu Le Morne Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Carine wrote a review Jun 2022
Genval, Belgium2 contributions
Fantastic Holidays at the RIU Le Morne! 😍 Thanks to the friendliness and smile of Sachin at the Pool Bar Paradise on Earth! I warmly recommend it! Friendly people smiling faces every day! Delicious food
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Sha Rag wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
Unlike our experience in December 2021, this time we got the warmest welcome. Room was already ready upon our arrival; decorated bed, clean towels, full mini-bar, well-equipped bathroom. Hygiene was at its best; a plus these days. We even rapidly got an extra blanket when asked as it is one of the cold months in Mauritius. Excellent variety of food. The staff at the restaurant kept coming at the table to check if the guests needed anything. Super nice staff and even more friendly bartenders! Great hopitality. Kudos to Mr. Olivier. Hungry any time? Food is always there! What's best for foodies? Due to bad weather, we had to avoid outdoor activities but the Saturday Night Indoor Rock Show was a win. Until next time.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Claudia wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
An amazing hotel with great staff - we would love to visit again! We actually booked Hotel Riu Creole but got upgraded to Le Morne which was great as we were in the adults only hotel but had access to all facilities across both hotels. The hotels seem busy at weekends but were a lot quieter during the week. Mauritius still has covid restrictions in place (mask-wearing everywhere is mandatory), however this is more relaxed in the hotel and you are only asked to wear a mask in the restaurants. The Sega bar and Jacuzzi in the spa were closed due to covid. The location is beautiful. The beach can get windy which is great for watching the kite surfers but just around the corner is a much calmer beach where you can also see beautiful sunsets. We went for a walk up Le Morne Brabant which had incredible views of the lagoon! We would recommend making the most of the free kayaking/paddleboarding/snorkelling that is included with your holiday and definitely try the free scuba diving session in the pool (with ScubaCaribe). We ended up booking the 'Discover Scuba Diving' course and had an amazing dive - we saw some gorgeous fish and even a sea turtle! Ben and Anne were such great instructors! The weather got windier towards the end of our holiday so we weren't able to do some things we had planned (we'd booked a Seaplane trip with LagoonFlight and looked into swimming with dolphins). If the weather is good at the beginning of your holiday we would recommend getting things booked sooner so you don't miss out and check the forecast with ScubaCaribe. Most activities that are at an extra cost in and around the hotel are priced in euros. Our room was cleaned beautifully every day. We especially liked the flower petal arrangements that were left on our bed a couple of times! The room wasn't super modern but was very spacious and had good air conditioning. The bathroom had two sinks and a huge shower! We would also like to say a big thank you to Chef Ganga, Arnaud, and Vickram along with all of the other kitchen staff, especially those working in the buffet restaurant at Riu Le Morne. My partner has a severe Peanut allergy and was shown around the buffet options every meal time by staff members to inform him of any options that he should avoid. Unfortunately, on our final night he had a reaction which must have been caused by cross-contamination from other guests using the same spoon. Eating something containing peanuts can cause life-threatening anaphylaxis for my partner so we immediately asked reception to call an ambulance as we didn't know how bad the reaction was going to become. We panicked when we were told the ambulance was 45 minutes away as anaphylaxis can happen in a matter of minutes! Chef Ganga really helped us out and thankfully the reaction was only mild. Cross contamination can be difficult to avoid in a buffet restaurant, but the kitchen staff couldn't have been more helpful with informing us about peanuts each day - Arnaud even kept some desserts in the kitchen for us when he was working so we could be confident there would be no cross contamination! We appreciated the late check-out from Olivier on our last day so we could relax for longer. There were plenty of options in the restaurants and we loved Bangalore, and also had some great food at Kulinarium. I am vegetarian and didn't realise that Kulinarium just had a set menu which was mainly meat, however the chef kindly gave me some vegetarian options instead. Overall, we would recommend this hotel if you have any special dietary requirements - just discuss with the kitchen staff and they will be more than happy to help you out. However, be aware that if you do have a potentially life-threatening allergy, you are not very close to the nearest hospital! Thank you all for a fantastic stay. Despite the stress of our last evening we had an amazing time (and enjoyed lots of mojitos and sparkling wine)!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Silvesh Rajanah wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
I would like to thank all the team and the management for there immense help and warm welcoming. No words to describe Riu vibes and all my dedication goes to MR OLIVIER CERDOR who will remain the greatest person I’ve ever met in my life. With happiness, Silvesh Rajanah
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
TheOne O wrote a review May 2022
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom222 contributions60 helpful votes
There are better located hotels on the island than this one: you have to chase the sun among the palm trees if you lounge on the beach; however the pool area gets a decent share of direct sun. My rating is not necessarily based on the location: there are other features to dislike. This is an all-inclusive hotel and the food is generally ok; the drinks are quite basic (never tasted such a bland white wine) and the room minibar contains only sugary soft drinks (coke, Fanta and sprite) and 2 cans of beer (not very impressive). The room features I was most surprised were 1) the kettle: it’s power cable was so short that the kettle had to be placed on the floor; 2) just 2 available power outlets; and 3) only 2 devices could be registered for use on the hotel’s wi-fi (you cannot deregister one to use a 3rd device. Although the rates are perhaps reasonable, the hotel needs an upgrade (the 1st room we were offers smelled damp).
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Le Morne
Responded 23 May 2022
Dear TheOneO, We appreciate you took the time to leave your impressions regarding your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read that despite our efforts we could not fulfil your expectations in some areas. We would like to thank you for having chosen our resort for your stay. Nevertheless, we will take note of your observations for future arrangements. Best regards, Hotel Riu Le Morne Online Reputation Manager
Read more
James P wrote a review May 2022
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom6 contributions17 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed at this hotel from 02/05/22 to 14/05/22. We originally booked the RIU Creole (sister hotel next door), but on check-in, we were moved to RIU Le Morne, which is an adults only hotel. We were also given a room with a full sea view, which was a nice surprise as we had not upgraded to a sea view room. All guests have full access to facilities at both the RIU Creole and RIU Le Morne. The hotel is located in a good position near the public beach in Le Morne and close to the Le Morne Brabant mountain. The beach itself is quite rocky with lots of broken coral, so sea shoes are a must when swimming. The sea conditions for swimming vary day-to-day depending on the wind direction and Le Morne seems to be a paradise for kite surfers. On a windy day, it is not advisable to go swimming due to the sheer number of kite surfers. When it is possible to go for a swim in the sea, the water is calm and shallow. The pool areas of the hotel were nice - there were 4 pools in total, two at Le Morne and two at Creole. The areas were well maintained and the sun loungers were comfortable. The rooms are large, but rather sparse when it comes to furnishings and some things are showing signs of age, such as the bathroom. The beds are huge but mattresses too firm. There was a small kettle in the room, however the milk was rarely replenished and a teaspoon was not provided. We asked for a teaspoon and were told that we had to use the plastic stirrer provided in the room, which was not ideal. Rooms contain a mini fridge and the mini bar service replenishes the soft drinks at no charge once per week. An umbrella is provided in the room, which is a nice touch especially since we had some rain during our stay. We were pleased with the bar service, where various cocktails were available. Special mentions to Sachin and Neeta for their friendly and efficient service. Our experience of the restaurants was quite mixed. The food at the Kulinarium a la carte restaurant was excellent, but the atmosphere in the dining room was quite flat (it would have helped to have some ambient music). We really enjoyed the Indian restaurant - the food, decor and service were all excellent each of the three times we ate there during our stay. The food in the buffet restaurant was generally good but more options would have been welcome and the service was sometimes poor, depending on the number of diners. It was obvious to us that some of the staff were overworked and struggling to keep up. The hotel was very quiet during our stay, however it is worth mentioning that the hotel reaches full capacity at the weekend when locals arrive in large numbers. During this time, it is very difficult to find a parking space outside the hotel (if hiring a car for example) and service levels at the hotel are reduced due to the dramatic increase in hotel guests. Service at reception was mixed. Sometimes they had trouble understanding and following through on requests. We put this down to the language barrier, as the staff's understanding of English was not always good. Often when we called reception from our room, nobody answered the phone so it was easier to get what we needed by speaking to reception face to face. The hotel is ideally located for visiting major attractions in south-west Mauritius, such as Chamarel Waterfall and the Grand Bassin. When leaving the hotel grounds, you will see lots of stray dogs. It seems that Mauritius has a major issue with strays, so if you are a dog-lover please be aware of this before you start exploring the island. To summarise, this is a nice hotel with room for improvement. I would give the hotel 3.5-4 stars, so the 4 star official rating is probably about right.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: A high floored room is preferred due to less passing noise and better views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Kirti wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Had a nice time. Shivam does a great work in the restaurant dept. He is very friendly and provide good service. Amisha also was very welcoming on the client dept. Whereas the hotel service need to be reviewed. AC issue in the room, the temperature was centralized and it was hot. No teaspoon available in the room. 4 swimming pool around the hotel but all of them the water was too cold if one pool can be heated would be nice.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Le Morne
Responded 12 May 2022
Dear 718kirtip, It is wonderful to read you had a nice time. Thank you very much for appreciating Shivam and Amisha, their efforts are rewarded when kind guests like you acknowledge them. We apologies for not having provided a perfect service in some areas, your observations will be shared with the appropriate departments. Warmest regards, Hotel RIU Le Morne Online Reputation Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$181 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MauritiusRiviere Noire DistrictLe Morne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
218
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Le Morne
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Le Morne?
Nearby attractions include Ebony Forest Reserve (7.0 km), Le Morne Brabant (3.0 km), and La Vallée des Couleurs (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Le Morne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Le Morne?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Le Morne?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Le Morne?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Le Morne?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant The Beach, Blue Marlin Restaurant, and WAPALAPAM, Island Eatery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Le Morne?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Le Morne have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Riu Le Morne offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Riu Le Morne?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Riu Le Morne?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Le Morne?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Martello Tower Museum (13.5 km).