We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,487 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,629: English reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2015

My wife and I visited Mauritius for the first time and we were recommended the intercontinental by a close friend there ! We had a great stay there and it was courtesy the warm staff (most of them) great food, lovely beach front view, quality facilities and programs everyday! Our room was well made, clean, spacious and well equipped !...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mayank_Solanki1
Michael_Janssen_GM, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Mayank_Solanki1, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are extremely happy to hear about your experience with many of our team members, we will make sure to pass on the positive experience that you had with them. With a large beach front property we are working with our associates to ensure that the...

moscow, Russia
Reviewed 31 March 2015

We had a family vacation with two kids. Before coming to the hotel we send an email to the Chief concierge Mr. Kevin Ritoo for transfer arrangement. The driver met us in the airport despite more than one hour flight delay. The way from the airport is around one hour. We were quickly checked in and upgraded to a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tatiana T
Michael_Janssen_GM, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Tatiana T, Thank you for sharing your comments with us, we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful holiday from the beginning to the end. We aim to offer a unique and memorable stay to our guests and it is gratifying to read that we delivered on your expectations. For your next trip to Mauritius, we have...

Bareilly, India
Reviewed 31 March 2015

I had stayed to this lovely resort in sept 2009 at my hunnymoon the rooms are fully modern with all aminitties really its a luxury the beach of the resort is clean and excellent if I got a chance I will definitely once again go to this resort

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mudit_agrawal
Michael_Janssen_GM, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear, mudit_agrawal We are delighted to read your review and are extremely happy that you had such a memorable stay with us that you still have fond memories after nearly six years. Please do come visit us for your next trip to holiday to Mauritius, it would be a great pleasure to welcome you among us again. Please do not...

Paris, France
Reviewed 30 March 2015

It was my first time in Mauritius island, but my husband who is french had been there as a child. We loved the hotel and the service was great. I loved the spa area and the massage from Maya was really nice. Herve took great care of us to find the perfect table outside for dinner and he knew how...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ina I
Tehran, Iran
Reviewed 28 March 2015

the area is very good, restaurants are very good but the rooms are a little bit dampen and old, if the rooms and interior is not important for you this hotel has very good exterior view specially the beach and service on the beach is very good and you enjoy it a lot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamed H
Mauritius
Reviewed 28 March 2015

I recommend this resort to everyone, specifically to honeymooners. If you like to experience a great , friendly and multicultural environment, intercontinental is the best choice. Top food, best customer service and quality assurance was delivered by staff, in particular by the chief concierge Kevin. And don't forget to take the chrysler for the trip down to the South with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mujib R
Hertfordshire
Reviewed 27 March 2015

The rooms were terrible. We had three rooms booked and all were so damp that after three nights our clothes had mould on them. After two nights one of the double beds was removed and replaced with a single. When challeneged it was apparantly because they needed the mattress for another guest. The breakfast and evening buffet food was terrible....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TucksCottage
Mi_Janssen, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear TucksCottage, Greetings from InterContinental Mauritius Resort. Your feedback is extremely important for us; thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our facilities and the service provided by our team member. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced. Indeed, due to the...

Reviewed 26 March 2015

This is the worst hotel I have ever been to.. No value for money... The staff is not at all hospitable.. Leave away the managers even the waiters will ignore you.. No variety of food..the same food is repeated everyday.. An option for 0 stars does not exist else this resort is not even worth that.

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank shivangi123
Mi_Janssen, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear shivangi123, Greetings from InterContinental Mauritius Resort. Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our facilities and the service provided by our team members. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced. My team and I are always at the attention...

Hyderabad
Reviewed 23 March 2015

I visited Intercontinental resort in the second week of March 2015 for my honeymoon, and I was delighted by the overall experience I had throughout the stay. The view as soon as you enter the resort was breathtaking, with a long n clean beach, where you can enjoy the sunset view as well. Each and every staff person was very...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AtulAg1987
Reviewed 23 March 2015

This is by far the best 5 star all inclusive hotel I have been to. Great staff, excellent food, food is partially halal (ask hotel staff for your own reassurance), quiet and peaceful resort with loads of activities and entertainment and beach BBQ.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shumi k

3,121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2368)
Viewed
Room/Suite (301)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (467)
Viewed
Bathroom (57)
Viewed
Dining (138)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (554)
Viewed
View from Room (113)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (723)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (458)
Viewed
Amenities (57)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (68)
Viewed
Family Room (60)
Viewed
Jacuzzi Room (59)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
South Pool (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (295)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Dining (121)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (67)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
28.0 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,179 reviews
18.0 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,173 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
0.8 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,361 reviews
0.8 km away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#4 of 5 in Balaclava
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Price Range: ₹ 14,842 - ₹ 27,076 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort staff and other travellers.
110 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (110)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some of the rooms are of Maharajahs style”
 of 5 bubbles mvidyadhar, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Anything that's sea facing really”
 of 5 bubbles franktX8722TP, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“1014 was a great room!”
  • 1014
 of 5 bubbles ToniN719, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms near the infinity heated pool are the best..however the main restaurant will then be slightly further..”
  • View from boat trip
 of 5 bubbles zinahd2016, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room near the lobby or you will do a lot of walking”
 of 5 bubbles Bhupen4359, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5