We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany

Show Prices
#2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy\/Albany
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
See the most recent reviews
Showing 401: English reviews
Port Perry, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Stopped off to break our journey back to Canada. Great location for nearby bars and restaurants and the river. Breakfast was superb - one of the best free breakfasts I've had.Hotel decor was nice and it will be great once the construction of the new rooms is finished. We would definitely book here again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
Guiiderland, United States
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The service at this hotel was exceptional. We booked this hotel for my daughter's wedding and blocked rooms for two nights. The staff couldn't be more welcoming from check in to check out. The rooms were clean. The lobby was spacious and welcoming. The breakfast was included and plentiful with varied selections which were very good.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carina E
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The entire area this hotel is located in is undergoing renovation, and it appears this hotel will be adding a lovely addition. However, that makes staying there now a little less than ideal. They are dealing with the renovation as best they can. The staff was very nice, the rooms were fine though the view is of construction, not the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jjjjam
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 12 October 2016

This is the first hotel that I've ever been in (and I'm well over 60) that felt like I was staying in someone's home. By that, I mean that the hospitality and concern for their guests in this particular Best Western was over and above any normally shown by a chain hotel. The owner/staff make you feel like you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bekssa
florida
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Round& round you go trying to find This place in "one way Troy". Then good luck trying to park in this under construction hotel! Staff nice. Security poor because side entrance is not visible from desk and is open access til 10pm.Rooms small but Clean. Nice touch lobby cookies and ice water& coffee self brewer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acer5
Whitknee39, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and taking the time to review our property. We just wanted to assure you that our side entrances are monitored by security cameras 24 hrs a day to ensure guest security. We apologize that you had an issue with parking as our property is currently under construction. However we do have complimentary parking...

Sturgeon Bay, WI, United States
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Hotel was okay for an inner city hotel. Room was clean and everything was operational, and staff was helpful. The breakfast was not that good, and there was no attendant in the breakfast room. There is a significant lack of safe parking around the hotel. I guess you could say that the value was okay for a downtown hotel in...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald A
Fairfax, United States
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Hotel staff and manager Ivan always made my stay very comfortable by providing great caring and customer service. Staff is very friendly and they go extra mile to help. I always stay at this hotel and will recommend others,

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aquil A
Wyandotte, Michigan
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Because we had spotty cell coverage, I used my AAA book, and the only hotel that showed up was the Best Western. We booked over the phone. The only complaints I had, the TV did not work properly, and the fridge ticked all night. We were too tired to call down, so I slept with a pillow over my head....

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RUBBERWALLS
Stratford, New Jersey
Reviewed 5 September 2016

My son and his now wife had their wedding at Franklin Plaza which is right across the street from this hotel. I believe they are both owned by same group and the service by EVERYONE associated with both locations could not have been better. They were very attentive to bridal party since everyone got ready in their suites at the...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lferris89
Willow Street
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The motel is attractively furnished in a nice downtown area. There is an extensive breakfast buffet, but the room was cold. Water was dropping from a ceiling vent in the dining area--probably from condensation. Construction made parking a bit of a challenge. My car almost was blocked in by a car that parked along the driveway where it should not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rock1774

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
1.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
6.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
10.3 km away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
6.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
9.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located 0.4 miles from Rensselear Polytechnic Institute (RPI) and at the center of historic downtown Troy, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany offers comfort and convenience within a short distance of all the major Albany, NY attractions. Stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany as you attend your next wedding or event at one of our two luxurious ballrooms, the Franklin Plaza and Franklin Terrace. Make yourself at home in one of our luxurious 62 rooms. Standard rooms are available with either one king size bed or two queen size beds. Accessible rooms with specially designed bathroom grab bars, wheelchair accessible entrance ways, and roll in showers are available upon request. Upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms with a king size bed, whirlpool hot tub, and living area. Our two-room Fulton suite offers a king size bed, spa shower, living, dining and bar areas. All reservations include a full free hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free onsite parking, and free access to our gym and business center. All rooms are equipped with 32" inch flat screen television sets, refrigerators, individual cup coffee makers stocked with complimentary coffee and tea, hair dryers, and iron and ironing board sets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany

Address: 1 4th St, Troy, NY 12180-3225 (Formerly Franklin Square Inn)
Region: United States > New York > Troy
Price Range: ₹ 6,993 - ₹ 15,229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Hotel Troy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book early and get a corner room”
 of 5 bubbles ajgjpot4, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“dont plan on taking a shower at 9 AM no hot water”
 of 5 bubbles 980jeffm, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay on front side of the hotel to avoid renovation noise. Elevator doors chime every time they open and can be heard in nearby rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles nic715, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to be on the top floor, on the end, not above the bfast room”
 of 5 bubbles N1178GZmichaels, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The suite is great if you dont mind paying.”
 of 5 bubbles robertbakewell, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5