We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
100 E Onondaga St, Syracuse, NY 13202-2618
Lowest prices for your stay
Marriott Hotels
$194
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$206
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$165
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$165
Travelocity$165
Agoda.com$206
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (226)
Room & Suite (79)
Videos (1)

About

#6 of 19 hotels in Syracuse
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Combining traditional grandeur with a very modern sense of style and convenience, the AAA Four Diamond Award winning Marriott Syracuse Downtown shows class. Occupying a magnificently restored historic building dating from 1924, our hotel provides an ideal destination for business trips and romantic getaways. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at our two on-site restaurants, including an all-new Shaughnessy's Pub. All renovated hotel rooms and suites feature the finest quality Stickley furniture, pillow otp mattresses and flat-panel TVs. With 34,517 square feet of flexible meeting space including an IACC Conference Center and a professional planning and catering team, we can host your next event for any occasion.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Public wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Business
496Reviews12Q+A60Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 268
  • 114
  • 44
  • 36
  • 34
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Betsy W wrote a review Nov 2022
19 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
I have spent more than 100 nights in hotels this year, and this was one of my favorites. Everything about my visit was great. The front desk and housekeeping staff was flawless. The historic building is gorgeous—-the lobby especially is breathtaking. The rooms are furnished with all Stickley furniture. It felt like we were stepping back in time. And it was such fun to stay in downtown near Antique Underground, Pastabilities, and the MOST. I loved it. My kids loved it. I’ll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Responded 4 days ago
Dear betsyw638, Thank you for the high praise; we appreciate you taking the time to share your kind review for Marriott Syracuse Downtown. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed our fantastic property and that we could help make your stay memorable. It will be an honor to pass along your compliments to our associates. Thank you once more for choosing us for your visit, and we are excited to welcome you all again soon. Warm Regards, Jon Mathews General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris wrote a review Aug 2022
6 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I wanted to spotlight an employee at this hotel. JEFF (Security Guard) Thank you for helping me I really appreciate it. So I arrived at this hotel with a big group and over 30 pieces of luggage. As you can imagine it was a bit chaotic but Jeff stepped up and helped me organize and deliver luggage to over 20 rooms. Not once did he complain or get frustrated. He was cool the entire time and got it done. I can’t thank you enough bro!! Take care!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Dear Okaykriss, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Marriott Syracuse Downtown. Your review was a pleasure to read, and we were delighted to learn that the service provided by Jeff surpassed your expectations. We will enjoy sharing your compliments with him; we appreciate knowing that we met our goal of making your visit special. Thank you once more, and we look forward to your return the next time you are in the area. Warm Regards, Jon Mathews General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alastair_8 wrote a review Nov 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom223 contributions190 helpful votes
We stayed one night in a Large King Room with en-suite shower. It was spacious, clean and comfortable and was very acceptable for a short stay. Breakfast service was very slow and the standard of food poor which reduced our overall rating from 4 to 3. The area immediately surrounding the hotel seemed rundown. Although the hotel itself and the rooms are good, we would probably avoid Syracuse (and certainly Downtown) if returning to the area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Alastair R, Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy you liked our clean and spacious accommodations, but we are sorry for not meeting your expectations with the breakfast we offer. We will share this with our food and beverage team so we can learn and improve accordingly. We encourage you to try us again as we are confident you will have a better experience. Warm Regards, Jon Mathews General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Swan wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
After making a reservation a month in advance to visit our granddaughter at Syracuse University, we arrived at the hotel and were told they had no rooms left. They sent us to another hotel 20 minutes away. We were told by the desk clerk at both hotels that Marriott Syracuse Downtown frequently over books and sends guests with reservations elsewhere. We were sent to a much lower class Marriott property hotel. We were not charged for that night at the lesser property but nothing else was done for the inconvenience and lost time this caused us that night or the next day when we came back to check in to our room. This room was right next to the elevator. The elevator dings and floor announcements were heard in our room. We were unable to find a room in another hotel close to the university. We had an early flight, when we checked out three days later. We were told by the valet that they wouldn’t be open when we needed to leave, but would leave our keys at the front desk and our car parked in the front of the hotel. When we came down to checkout, there wasn’t anyone at the front desk. We called out and waited sometime but it appeared that no one was on duty yet. Luckily, my husband saw a pile of keys behind the desk and he was able to retrieve our car keys.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Tejas442, On behalf of our entire team, please accept our sincere apology for not providing you and your family with impeccable service during your recent visit. We are very disappointed to know our valet associates did not provide you with the exceptional service we are known for, and we understand the frustration this caused you. We have shared your concerns with our associates to make sure that this does not happen again. Although we were able to move you to a different property, we understand your disappointment and truly regret letting you down. We know that the compensation we have provided will not change your experience. However, we do hope that you now feel more comfortable with our attempt to resolve this unfortunate situation and, in some way, help restore your confidence in our hotel. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope you will give us another chance to show you our commitment to exceptional experiences on a future visit. Warm Regards, Jon Mathews General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carol p wrote a review Oct 2022
Fairfax, Virginia12 contributions8 helpful votes
This is an old, renovated historic hotel and it is beautiful! Unfortunately, use of the executive lounge is based on your Marriott Membership level and we did not qualify. That said, we were upgraded to a suite and were given breakfast for two. Our bed was so comfortable and the room was quite nice. The location is good and easy to get to.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Responded 25 Oct 2022
Dear H7280MXcarolp, Thank you for your kind review of Marriott Syracuse Downtown. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed your room upgrade. We do, however, regret not meeting all your expectations. We appreciate your understanding and patience and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards, Jon Mathews General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sweeneyshouse wrote a review Oct 2022
Lakeway, Texas1 contribution
+1
So We had a fabulous wedding October 1st in the 10th lower ballroom everything perfect food and space. We took a break to go downstairs to check on my car that was valeted...ask The attendant took my car up further because it was located at the corner and I didn't feel safe with it being there keep he refused said that it was fine... cameras /under a street light and police presence on that corner! well 2 windows got broken into on my car and a $5000 bike that was covered with 3 locks taken. The lift We use for the wheelchair and to get my brother's letter electric recumbent bike off was also manipulated...strapes cut. They said our rooms would be compted and still have not seen anything about that on my bank account that count I feel like it was an inside job...we drove from Tx . With 2 ebikes in the car...nothin taken inside♡♡♡
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Responded 5 Oct 2022
Dear sweeneyshouse, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We regret that you experienced vandalism to your property while staying with us and for the difficulties you endured. We also apologize if you felt we were not considerate of the situation. We take the safety and security of our guests and their property very seriously and are taking steps to increase security and reduce the risk. Your feedback and also your patience in working through this matter are much appreciated. We will share your message appropriately as we are committed to enhancing our services and guest experience on all levels. Warm Regards, Jon Mathews General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cmisterl2525 wrote a review Sep 2022
53 contributions22 helpful votes
I am a big Marriott fan! And when I was visiting Syracuse University and saw that there were a massive Marriott hotel with a M-Club - it was a no brainer to stay here! I was so wrong and disappointed on many many levels. 1) Front Desk service was horrible. The guy who checked me in was on his first day at the job and knew absolutely nothing. A typical 5-7 mins check in took 15+ minutes 2) When he asked for help - the “on-duty manager” was super unhelpful and very short with him in front of me. She was absolutely unpleasant to deal with as a “manager” and very unprofessional. He asked for help 3x and on the 3rd ask, her response was “Can’t you see I am helping a customer”? Valid point - except she was gossiping about life and there was another person actually helping that customer - she annoyed me the most! Zero apologies and zero empathy! 3) As a platinum member, you get access to the M-Club! No one mentioned it to me and they didn’t even give me access upon check-in (newbie dude’s fault). So i asked for access and then finally got it! And to my shocking surprise, it was empty! After walking around, I understood why! The place was dirtyyyy, oldddd, and there was nothing! Wine fridge was chained up! Empty empty empty of anything else - where is this all day snack and breakfast that was advertised??? All they had was milk for coffee that did not exist! Ok i think three reasons is enough… i have others, but do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere! Oh btw, i gave feedback to the real manager the next day and all he did was nod his head… no follow up or apologies or anything!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Responded 1 Oct 2022
Dear Cmisterl2525, Thank you for your feedback and for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy Platinum Elite member. That said, we are extremely sorry for not being able to provide you with a pleasant stay and for your disappointment with the M lounge. We also truly apologize for the unsatisfactory service you received from our front desk and for the behavior of our team members. You have our assurance that we will take necessary actions on this. We never want our guests to leave with a negative impression of our hotel; therefore, one of our managers will be reaching out to you at the earliest. We will really be grateful for your understanding and patience in the meantime. Warm Regards, Jon Mathews General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Genevieve A wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
Great location. Room was large and comfortable and staff very helpful and courteous. Peter at the front desk found a great rate for us as we got in later at night. He even offered to place the parking pass on our windshield so we would not have to go back out after checking in. Hotel located in Armory Square with lots of great restaurants for dinner and the Malt restaurant for breakfast was perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Responded 10 Sep 2022
Dera Genevieve A, Thank you for choosing Marriott Syracuse Downtown. It is wonderful to read that we exceeded your expectations and that you were pleased with our accommodation, location, and friendly staff. We will enjoy sharing your compliments with Peter. It was a pleasure hosting your visit, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm Regards, Jon Mathews General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LennyT wrote a review Sep 2022
Red Bank, New Jersey3 contributions1 helpful vote
Not enough help, no one made bed of cleaned the room for our 3 day 2 night stay. The TV Remote did not work and the replacement did not work. The food was good but the service was very slow. We were not happy with the hotel service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Responded 8 Sep 2022
Dear LennyT, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations and for the service issues you experienced. We will follow up on your comments appropriately to ensure we are more diligent in our efforts going forward. On a positive note, we are glad you had a pleasant dining experience. We are grateful for your feedback, and we hope you will consider giving us a second chance in the future so we can provide you with the superior hospitality you should always expect from us. Warm Regards, Jon Mathews General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bobbie E wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions
Visited the hotel for a trivia tournament on 7/27/22. Ordered a drink from the cash bar. It was a margarita in what was only slightly bigger than a shot glass. When I made it to the table with my other friends, who were white, they were crowing about how they were poured a double instead of a single. We paid the same price. The other POC at the table showed me her glass and it too was a single. Later, we sent a white guy to get our refills and he came back with large cups. Same price, same drink. It’s things like this that keep POC paranoid. Just sayin.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Dear bobbiee508, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us while here for a match. We are genuinely sorry for the issues you experienced at our restaurant and for not providing the exceptional experience you deserve. We want our guests to see our dedication in everything we do; therefore, we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. Your feedback is valuable to us and has been addressed with our culinary team to ensure we are well-poised to serve you in the future. We hope you will allow us a second chance to restore your confidence in us. Warm Regards, Jon Mathews General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$146 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkFinger LakesSyracuse
NUMBER OF ROOMS
261
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MARRIOTT SYRACUSE DOWNTOWN - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Marriott Syracuse Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Museum of Science & Technology (MOST) (0.5 km), City Market (0.4 km), and Onondaga Historical Association (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Marriott Syracuse Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Marriott Syracuse Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Marriott Syracuse Downtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Marriott Syracuse Downtown?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Marriott Syracuse Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lemon Grass Restaurant, Modern Malt, and 317 @ Montgomery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Marriott Syracuse Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Marriott Syracuse Downtown located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Syracuse.
Are any cleaning services offered at Marriott Syracuse Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Marriott Syracuse Downtown?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Marriott Syracuse Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.