We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

663 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 651: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The staff were quite helpful. The room was comfortable ... on the 15th floor (so almost at the top of the hotel). Use the hotel-provided shuttle to go back and forth from campus (it's not too far away, but it is uphill and the shuttle is convenient) and to the airport (save yourself $30ish dollars). Something to be aware of--there's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank henare
General M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

henare Thank you for taking the extra time to let us know about your stay. Our close proximity to Syracuse University is one of our favorite things. We loved hearing you enjoyed your stay, and hope that if you travel back to Syracuse we have a chance to see you again. Jeremiah T

Reviewed 22 September 2016

This is a hotel to stay at! My husband and I travel to Syracuse often, and this is our choice stay. The ambiance is wonderful. The Library is a very comfortable place to have a drink and an appetizer. There are couches to relax in, and it feels like you're at a friends house! The rooms are cozy and comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
General M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay, we love having you visit with us, and look forward to seeing you again soon. Jeremiah T Manager

London
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Having cancelled the second night in a hotel in Saratoga and re-booked here I was disappointed to have made another bad choice. I specifically asked for a quiet room but although the hotel seemed practically empty, they put us in a room facing the adjacent motorway. From the early hours I could hear the sound of traffic as the tyre...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank theguyonthenexttable
General M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

theguyonthenexttable Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valued feedback. I'm very sorry to hear that we failed in making your stay the enjoyable experience we hope to offer each and every guest that comes to visit. I will bring the breakfast issue to our Management teams attention, to discuss and see what we can do from...

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and the staff are friendly. The rooms are much nicer than I expected, with great views of the city. The bar are has a cool lounge feel to it with comfy furniture and a good atmosphere, and the restaurant has good food although a little pricey for the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hlawlor24
General M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

hlawlor24 We loved hearing from you, and are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you. We hope that next time you visit Syracuse we get a chance to see you again. Jeremiah T Manager

New York
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Mixed review. The service at the hotel is generally quite good, the people are helpful and friendly. The hotel is round, so the room shape is interesting. The bathroom in our room was well designed with the sink separate from the toilet/shower. And the redesign was very attractive and functional. BUT - the elevators are being updated, so there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2005
General M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Traveler2005 I'm sorry to hear that your recent stay with us was not the enjoyable experience we hope to offer our guests. I will be reviewing all of your points with our management team to help prevent similar incidents from occurring. I appreciate you taking the extra time to tell us about your stay, and hope that you will give...

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Easy access to various highways. Clean, comfortable. Beds and pillows are perfect fora great sleep. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable and willing to look up information they may not know. If you have children you might want to know you can enter a Pokemon gym from the lobby. If you walk out to this park with a beautiful memorial you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wshng4
General M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Wshng4 We loved hearing about your recent stay, and that you had a chance to enjoy Forman Park, and yes it proudly boasts 3 poke-stops and a Gym in the Pokemon Go game. We hope if you need a place to stay in Syracuse again, that we have a chance to see you. Jeremiah T Manager

Ballston Spa, New York
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We have stayed here before & had a good experience. This is a smoke free hotel however our room smelled of smoke. Sold out so no chance of a change.. Also shower was not clean with extremely loud air conditioner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mhenrdh
General M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Mhenrdh I appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback from your stay, and just wanted to take a moment to apologize, we strive to give our guests a warm, relaxing, and comfortable experience, and I can see that this time we failed to do so. I hope when you notified our staff of these problems that they offered...

Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We visted with two children, 11 and 13. Its a nice hotel, the beds sleep comfortably and the hotelroom is clean. People at the desk are friendly, the ladies at the restaurant are very nice too. Breakfast was not great, but it was definitely fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny H
General M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. I know you mentioned breakfast was not what you hoped for, we will be starting a brand new menu that includes breakfast in just a little over a week, so if you are traveling back to Syracuse, we hope...

Reviewed 23 August 2016

The service was...just bad. We stayed for my sister's wedding,for which I was the co-matron of honor. The reception and rehearsal dinner were both held at the Crown. We requested an early check-in, which I know is not guaranteed. We arrived at 12:30, were told our room was still dirty and would be ready by 2pm. We were understanding of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah F
General M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear about your recent experience with our hotel. Rest assured that we take this very serious, and will be addressing every point you make with our staff and management team. The good news is that we received positive feedback from the bridal party, and are thankful that you were able to help them make their stay a...

Clifton Park, New York
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Let me start with the rooms- they were decent- bed and pillows were comfy and the room seemed clean. The bathroom door is a little awkward, but overall I would recommend this place as a place to stay downtown. The food was decent. The staff was very nice. I do not think there was a pool, but there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leneyB
General M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

leneyB Thank you for taking the extra time to let us and our future guests know how we are doing, all of the details you mentioned truly help us gauge what we are doing right, and how we can improve. I will pass on to our staff all of your feedback, and was happy to hear that your overall experience...

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (159)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.1 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
502 reviews
0.8 km away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
1.0 km away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#16 of 31 in Syracuse
412 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Skyler
Hotel Skyler
#5 of 31 in Syracuse
350 reviews
1.0 km away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crowne Plaza Syracuse is located in the heart of Downtown and easily accessible from the NYS Thruway and Interstate 81. The Hotel caters to not only leisure guests but also to group and business traveler. Guests enjoy attentive service, newly appointed guest rooms and inspired dining at Redfield's Restaurant. Covered parking, free high speed internet, daily newspapers, in-room coffee, in-room safes, shuttle services, and a Fitness Center are just some of the amenities that guests can expect. Crowne Plaza Syracuse features 12,500 square feet of meeting and event space and banquet halls including a Conference Center which accommodates up to 200 people. And for those extra special occasions, our 20th Floor Ballroom features spectacular panoramic views of the Syracuse skyline. For the business traveler, we offer ready access to companies; as well as to Healthcare facilities in the Syracuse area. For those in Syracuse for leisure, the excitement of the Syracuse Orange and the Carrier Dome, Syracuse Crunch AHL Hockey, Syracuse Stage, the Syracuse Symphony Orchestra, the New York State Fair and so much more are within minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel

Address: 701 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1505
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Price Range: ₹ 9,373 - ₹ 16,548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Syracuse
Syracuse Renaissance
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The higher up the better the view”
Benson07R, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“avoid floors 3 6 9 stay far away from stairwells do not accept rooms facing highway if u want a good night sleep. BRING EARPLUGS!!!”
dblbell56, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try the top floors, 14,15 great views”
jtubis, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for room on other side away from highway!”
pearllodea, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Really nice... very clean... GREAT STAFF!!!!!”
GourmetGirl2017, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5