We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pridwin Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Pridwin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Pridwin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 223: English reviews
New York
Reviewed 20 September 2014

The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. The views are stunning. The rooms at Pridwin are showing their age. And they are very small. Bathroom was updated but again very small. Really no place in room to sit and enjoy the view. I haven't seen a TV that small or old in years. The noise from the bathroom plumbing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bean0906
PridwinOffice, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

We very much appreciate you taking your time to review the Pridwin Hotel. Indeed, many of our rooms are small. When the hotel was built in the 1920s, it was designed for shared baths and rooms that were still considered small by today's standards. When we renovated for private baths, some of that space was lost as well, but we...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 12 September 2014

This is a quaint old hotel with spectacular views of the bay! The rooms were small but clean with a very comfortable bed and bedding. Such a treat to lie in bed gazing out on the water! Towels were small and thin but the bathroom was otherwise well stocked with amenities. The staff was friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tirelesstraveler_11
Bronxville, New York, United States
Reviewed 10 September 2014

First of all, we went after Labor Day. No food served except for a horrible breakfast buffet consisting of defrosted plain bagels and English muffins, some cut up fresh fruit, yogurt and cold cereal......of course there was fresh oj and tea/coffee..........The place has been in business since 1928 and there were plenty of items that were still being used from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzanne D
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Pridwin Hotel, although we are sorry that your stay was unsatisfying. The post-Labor Day shift is fairly dramatic as Shelter Island goes quickly into the off-season. The Pridwin too goes quickly into off-season, our full buffet breakfast transitions to a continental breakfast after Labor Day, though we typically still include our...

Miller Place, New York
Reviewed 9 September 2014 via mobile

Here on September 9, 2014. Here on the upper deck watching the sun go down. Could not find a better spot to watch the sun go down except maybe for Aruba. Very quiet here. I may be the only guest here this time of year. The hotel itself is very nice. It must be crazy here during the summer. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Loki4546
New York, New York, United States
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Nice hotel, great location. Staff is very nice and helpful - most of them from the UK in the country for the summer season. A family property, you would feel like your are living in the 50s. Rooms are small but clean. Great view from the restaurant and front lawn.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Betti O
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a quietly elegant hotel, retrofitted from times when people were smaller. The bathrooms are minuscule (but nicely done).The guest rooms are attractive, but they should certainly have two night tables! The Pridwin has a lovely private beach and a marvelous restaurant--you'll love both, if you can find the hotel. You see, there are two Shore Roads on Shelter...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sharon M
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We have taken your comments on board and appreciate your honesty! We are aware with the problems with GPS on the island, unfortunately we have two Shore Roads on the Island, and some GPS companies send our guests to the wrong one. We apologize that you were not informed of the lack...

Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

There's a message on the notice board at the Pridwin that reads "It's nice to be important but more important to be nice" if this chimes a note with you then you will hopefully love it here. If not then you should stay at Sunset beach down the road, that's packed to the rafters with the important. The Pridwin on...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank John M
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

We love that you were able to take from the message we have on our board. Thank you for such a kind review, and we are so happy you recognized the timeless feel of The Pridwin. We hope to welcome you again in the close future, and hope you enjoy the remainder of your summer.

anonymous
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were very pleased with the courtesy and compassion of the staff, since I arrived after having an accident, and was limited in my mobility. Although we arrived after the kitchen was closed, when the front desk heard we came directly from the hospital, they quickly contacted the chef who then cooked dinner for my husband. The water view room...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank O1419VAanonymous
ThePridwinHotel, Owner at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your trip at The Pridwin Hotel. We would also like to thank you for the kind words about our staff. We hope you feel better soon and that the remainder of your summer is enjoyable.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Pridwin in late July and I delayed writing a review as I thought my negative reactions to the place would have been mitigated by the passage of time. Well, they haven't been. The hotel presents well in its website photo, and it has an appealing patio for outdoor dining if you don't mind an armada of...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Grammycoco
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that your stay at The Pridwin Hotel did not meet with your expectations. To address some of your concerns, we are aware that a seagull sometimes perch on the roof of our hotel. We do have signage suggesting to take a plate cover to cover your food when you are away from your table....

Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Pridwin is not a cookie-cutter, corporate hotel, but a unique family-run place, and that is it's charm. The hotel is a grand dame of a place with a stunning view and the kind of family feel that calls to mind the hotel in "Dirty Dancing" minus most of the organized events ( we did go to the Wednesday night...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Heather F
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for the kind words you shared of our hotel! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found your room comfortable. The breakfast proves to be ever popular, boasting our wonderful home made donuts and crepes! We hope to welcome you to our hotel in the future and hope that you enjoy...

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
1.2 km away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
63 reviews
32.7 km away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
10.0 km away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
3.5 km away
Sound View Inn
Sound View Inn
#2 of 7 in Greenport
459 reviews
6.6 km away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pridwin Hotel is an iconic Shelter Island hotel on Crescent Beach, Shelter Island. With 40 rooms, 9 cottages, private pool, beach, docks for boating and a restaurant and bar overlooking the bay, the Pridwin is a small resort with many amenities for a relaxing escape. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pridwin Hotel

Address: 81 Shore Road, Crescent Beach, Shelter Island, NY 11964
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Price Range: ₹ 14,725 - ₹ 72,906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pridwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pridwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pridwin Shelter Island
Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pridwin Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
New York City, New York
9 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Pridwin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“both waterfront and court views have their charms.”
 of 5 bubbles iandU644IF, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My favorite rooms are the corner water view rooms on the 2nd/3rd Floor”
 of 5 bubbles craigs83, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose between a view and a normal sized room...”
 of 5 bubbles MargaritaP287, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the back can be noisy with the morning bustle of getting the restaurant ready.”
 of 5 bubbles Butterfly-lane, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a water view”
 of 5 bubbles TonyF22, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5