We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Pridwin Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Pridwin Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Pridwin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 221: English reviews
Long Island, New York
Reviewed 2 September 2016

My fiancé and I arrived at the hotel a few hours early, the staff was friendly and our room was ready and clean for check in. The beach was private and well kept by the staff with cushioned lounge chairs and umbrellas. The pool area was even more pleasing. It was super private nestled by trees yet we could still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tug11
ThePridwinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you found the staff friendly and attentive. Our hotel, beach and pool are always guaranteed to satisfy our guests and we are very pleased you were able to experience all the hotel has to offer, including the Wednesday Night Cookout and a great night’s sleep. We look forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

This is my second stay at the Pridwin and I loved it for all the same reasons I loved it the first time. Let's get this out of the way the Pridwin is not a luxury hotel, it doesn't obsess about thread count for linens or expect it's staff to be obsequious lap dogs, it is a Shelter Island institution...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
ThePridwinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. We are pleased that you appreciate the old world charm of the Pridwin, and Shelter Island itself, and hope to welcome you back many more times in the future. Jennifer Bolton Guest Experience Manager The Pridwin Hotel

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Stayed in one of their cabins last week with my wife and my 19 year old son. Cabin wasn't ready for nearly two hours past check-in time. The exterior of the cottage was in need of stain/paint with peeling occurring in multiple places. The screen door to a wooden deck had a broken lock relying solely on a stick meant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul L
ThePridwinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for your inconvenience upon arrival and are saddened that you did not feel that your cottage was exceptional. We appreciate all of your feedback. Maintaining a hotel that is nearly 100 years old to standards that retain its original charm has its challenges. Our design aim for the...

Holbrook, Arizona
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a quick getaway anniversary celebration at the Pridwin. From the moment we arrived, the staff could not be any more friendly and hospitable. It may seem small, but I really loved the different water stations throughout the hotel offering pear and apple infused water, lemon infused water etc. It was truly refreshing after getting lost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kibi94
ThePridwinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review and we are so glad you found the staff welcoming and helpful. Our hotel, beach and pool are always guaranteed to satisfy our guests, and we're very pleased that you got to experience all the Pridwin has to offer for your anniversary celebration. We can't wait to welcome you back to the...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

I think if I had read the reviews of the Pridwin before going , I'd have thought twice about booking ..thankfully I only looked up the resort on their website and going by the images of the place reckoned if would be fine ..and it was.. Firstly lets get things in perspective ..in the Hamptons , there are no Four...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony F
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review, we hope you have a pleasant summer and hope to welcome you back to the Pridwin in the future.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We came here on a Monday-Wednesday for an easy getaway. The hotel is lovely. Yes it's old, but we knew that going in. We stayed on the first floor by the bar - and were able to get a deal with the stipulation that we couldn't ask for a refund for noise complaints. If you're not a very light/early sleeper...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jessica z
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review, we hope you have a pleasant summer and hope to welcome you back to the Pridwin in the future.

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Dear friends, We have never before had such a degrading experience in any hotel in the whole world.  What a nightmare. The hotel’s website misleadingly alludes to an establishment of classic style that could possibly justify the rates they demand. Instead, to our great dismay what we found is a dirty YMCA style hostel / beer-smelling college dormitory. We checked...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank AlessandroBarile
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us and we appreciate the opportunity to redress your concerns, as we did, in person, at the hotel. We do not wish our response to be exhaustive, however, for clarity, we feel it is important to offer some perspective to the points raised. The...

Dix Hills, New York
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This was our second stay at the Pridwin. There are many things I love about the place and would most likely stay here again. BUT they are in desperate need of updating their lobby, lobby bathrooms, and room bathrooms. The carpeting in the lobby, up the stairs and in the rooms looks worn, dirty and very old. The ladies bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank barbara m
New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We planned a last minute visit to Shelter Island with our daughter, her husband and our 2 grandchildren. We overlapped our stay, The hotel met all of our needs. The setting on the water with the view was one of the best on the island.The standard room was very nice though my daughters bathroom shower had a shower head that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carol M
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We absolutely love this place. We rent a cottage for a week during the summer every year, this is the fifth consecutive year. Very unpretentious but still cleaned up. The Pridwin is kid friendly, but with the nicest families and really well behaved kids. Fantastic breakfast, do not miss the powdered sugar donuts. The staff is super nice, cleaning staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R G

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
1.2 km away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
61 reviews
32.7 km away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
3.5 km away
Sound View Inn
Sound View Inn
#2 of 7 in Greenport
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
10.0 km away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
184 reviews
0.9 km away
Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach
#5 of 5 in Shelter Island
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pridwin Hotel is an iconic Shelter Island hotel on Crescent Beach, Shelter Island. With 40 rooms, 9 cottages, private pool, beach, docks for boating and a restaurant and bar overlooking the bay, the Pridwin is a small resort with many amenities for a relaxing escape. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pridwin Hotel

Address: 81 Shore Road, Crescent Beach, Shelter Island, NY 11964
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Price Range: ₹ 13,206 - ₹ 75,834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pridwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Pridwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pridwin Shelter Island
Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pridwin Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
New York City, New York
6 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Pridwin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“both waterfront and court views have their charms.”
 of 5 bubbles iandU644IF, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My favorite rooms are the corner water view rooms on the 2nd/3rd Floor”
 of 5 bubbles craigs83, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose between a view and a normal sized room...”
 of 5 bubbles MargaritaP287, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the back can be noisy with the morning bustle of getting the restaurant ready.”
 of 5 bubbles Butterfly-lane, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a water view”
 of 5 bubbles TonyF22, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay