We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gideon Putnam

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,048 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Gideon Putnam
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,045: English reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Wonderful overnight trip with extended family. Shuttle to downtown Saratoga was wonderful. Driver was so very helpful. Breakfast in dining room was included in the package we purchased. Very nice !!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patti G
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review, and for checking out The Gideon Putnam. Watch for more great package deals via our e-newsletter.

Albany, New York
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The shuttle service is a great perk and the driver is friendly and helpful. My biggest complaint was the sheets were very starchy and rough and the carpet under the furniture was dusty and dirty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C W
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Renovated guestrooms and carpeting are part of this year's renovation plans. We hope you will return and tell us it was a "Great Experience!"

Binghamton, New York
Reviewed 19 February 2016

A Great spot enjoyable for a long weekends stay. The grounds are beautiful, great for a winters hike with our dogs. The charm and warmth of the wood burning fireplaces in the lobby are great to relax and read by. The location to town is ideal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank svail
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your mini-break here at The Gideon Putnam. Thank you for taking the time to share your restful and relaxing experience!

Schenectady, New York
Reviewed 16 February 2016

I had a great experience at Gideon Putnam. The hotel is close to a lot of things to do and only a 5 min drive to Downtown Saratoga. The room was clean and comfortable. We had dinner at Putnam's which had a smaller menu but plenty of options. The best part was that if you're staying in the hotel, you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess S
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us that you had a great experience at The Gideon Putnam. Happy belated Valentine's Day!

Sackets Harbor, New York
Reviewed 16 February 2016

I felt transported back to the 1930's driving up to the hotel arriving in the early evening. It looks grand, imposing and beautiful in the middle of the park. While it is dated in a certain respect, it has such old world charm, staffed by the most wonderful people who are more than friendly and accommodating, which makes up completely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

We love to welcome pets and their people! Thank you for your high praise... of everything, really! We hope your experience will lead you back to us in the future.

NY
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Have stayed here multiple times. It is an old hotel, with areas that show its age such as cracked paint on bathroom ceilings, but it is a lovely place. All the staff are there to make your stay pleasant, Putnams the lounge/ restaurant is very nice, friendly bartenders, attentive wait staff and a menu that changes with the season. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindywou
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

I am glad you felt well-taken care of. We do our best to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 15 February 2016

I had received a coupon to stay here from the Casino and booked a get-a-way date for Valentines Day. The coupon was for a standard room which was pretty small. The hotel is in the middle of the State Park which would make it a wonderful stay in the summer. The building is very historic, so the rooms are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessica k
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for checking us out. I'm glad you found us friendly and clean, warm and cozy! I'm sorry our housekeepers woke you in the morning - I will share your feedback with their manager. We hope you will come stay with us again.

Reviewed 15 February 2016

A delightful hotel, clean, accommodating , and in a beautiful setting.The food was good in a very pleasant dining area. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to be of service. Our room was very comfortable with a lovely view from our window.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martha P
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

We have the unique advantage of being located in a beautiful State park. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

No valet to help park the car when it's minus one outside - strike 1. Self park is very far away. Froze walking back from car to hotel. No bellman to help with luggage - strike 2 Man at front desk reception was ridiculously rude and verbally abusive to my wife during check-in - strike 3 Was told rooms would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 613mikez
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

I am sorry we did not provide you with a better experience. Let me address a few of your complaints. We only have a valet on duty during the Summer. This past weekend was the coldest it has been in more than 10 years, so I know how far away our parking lot must have felt. We are part of...

Middletown, New Jersey
Reviewed 11 February 2016

Beautiful room in a wonderful setting. Nice romantic getaway! The architecture is wonderful. The Roosevelt baths was a wonderful way to unwind. We also added a couple massage for an extra special stay. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scooby8891
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

I am glad to hear you had a special experience. As adults, many of us forget how wonderful and relaxing a bath can be - the minerals and the natural effervescence make our baths extra special. We hope you will join us again in the future.

364 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (204)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (22)
Viewed
Large Porch Suite (25)
Viewed
Putnam Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Standard Room with Two Double Beds (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
3.2 km away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
543 reviews
2.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
591 reviews
3.1 km away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#3 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Sp...
#4 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,227 reviews
2.0 km away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#15 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
39 reviews
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#10 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Some places are just different. You feel it. You sense it. And when you're there it welcomes you. It encourages you, and it leaves you in a better place than when you arrived. A place that is legendary for making people feel better. It's not just a hotel. It's the cure for what ails you. The Gideon Putnm is a classic boutique hotel located in resort-like setting of Saratoga Spa State Park, minutes from downtown Saratoga Springs and the Adirondack Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gideon Putnam

Address: 24 Gideon Putnam Road, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Price Range: ₹ 7,691 - ₹ 13,749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gideon Putnam 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gideon Putnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gideon Putnam Saratoga Springs
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#11 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Gideon Putnam staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
new york
3 months ago
Glenville, New York
8 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Gideon Putnam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Consider a winter getaway when it is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles ajefferson2015, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a view”
 of 5 bubbles 106merled, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the front are the best”
 of 5 bubbles S6938ZFpatriciag, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a view of the partk”
 of 5 bubbles jgatti2016, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Fifth floor parlor suite--two bathrooms and best view”
 of 5 bubbles fsscook, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay