We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Gideon Putnam

TripAdvisorUS$ 180*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 238*
US$ 180*
Great Deal
US$ 193*
US$ 200*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Gideon Putnam
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,128: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Highly recommend! This was my first stay at the Gideon Putnam. I stayed as a single and felt secure at all times. The room was charming. The main lobby is elegant. The many buffets were deliciously healthy. The grounds beckoned to explore. Staying at the Gideon Putnam is relaxing and luxurious. I look forward to returning. Toni Colella

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toni C
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Safe, secure, welcomed and relaxed - a perfect compliment! Thank you. We look forward to seeing you again.

new york
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are locals and hadn't been to the brunch at the Gideon in quite a few years. We were underwhelmed to say the least. Had a 12:30 reservation and were seated in the room where the bar was, in front of the door with cold air blowing on us. Brunch was just ok. A few platters on the salad bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suenedNewYork
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with Sunday Brunch. The Gideon Putnam is very conscious about food waste, and once a tray of food is put out on the buffet, it can not be reserved. I don't know how busy the restaurant was while you were here, but as we approach the...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Check in could have been a bit more personal oriented, some suggestions of what to do around the area as well as favorite restaurants, hot spots, stores, etc would have been lovely. Very basic and quick check in. Our bathroom tub backed up every time we used it. Not too horrible, but a little unpleasant standing in an inch or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Great feedback, thank you. I will share your comments with our management team. Our Front Desk staff is really good about sharing local information. However, if there was a long line at check-in, they may have sped up the process because nobody likes to wait. I am sorry we did not provide you with the information you were looking for....

Saugerties, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting with modern conveniences and historic charm. Rooms and bathrooms were immaculate, staff were helpful and friendly, service was excellent. We were there for a conference. It was a great place for a small conference or event. Catering and restaurant were a bit disappointing (good food but missing small touches like a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lsbkai
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your conference at our hotel. I will share you feedback with the kitchen - I am sorry your luncheon was anything less than perfect. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff was amazing. The hotel was comfortable. The brunch was amazing. We stayed there on Eater weekend and it was the perfect weather!!! We are sure to be back. The mineral bath/massage is a must. The grounds were lovely. We walked arounds for hours. Lovely weekend!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie P
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing how much you loved your Easter weekend with us! I am so glad to hear we'll see you again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent place to stay! Highly recommended. Room were very clean and spacious and the the staff was wonderful. Really loved walking the grounds in the morning and the free coffee was a nice bonus. Proximity to the town of Saratoga Springs was perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. I hope fond memories will lead you back to us soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second trip to hotel and spa. So relaxing, quiet and peaceful. A short get-away but the forest and spa make it feel like a week. Love the town and the people too. The mineral waters are fun and the guide informative. Will return again and again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Docdag
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for your love of The Gideon Putnam, and for your pledge to return again and again!

Jamaica, Vermont
Reviewed 1 week ago

The mineral baths at the spa are sublime. The tub was so deep that I could float in the healing waters. Aaah. It would have been nice to have the door between the tub room that I was in open to the room my sweetheart was in so we could visit while soaking. But that is a minor detail. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margiesmuse
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Visitors have been Taking the Cure in Saratoga Springs for centuries. Drinking and bathing in the healing mineral waters is something I think everyone should try. Thank you very for your great review.

Shirley, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a great experience at the spa. We enjoyed a spa package. The staff was great. The hotel was very clean if a little old fashioned and the grounds where great for experiencing nature and the spring

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenn B
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Our spa is very popular - I am so glad you had a fantastic experience. Please think of us for future escapes!

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stylish, wellness-friendly place to relax your mind and body. Massive Park includes the Hotel, SPA pavilion, golf fields, Art Center, Museum of auto. Lack of mid-season activities though. Most delicious drinking water sours is located inside the SPA pavilion.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlenaPironko
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

There really is so much to do right here in the Park. In the off-season there are still the walking/biking/snow-shoeing trails, the museums are open, and there are plays at The Spa Little Theater. I am glad to hear you had a good time. Please come see us again.

414 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (254)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (123)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (22)
Viewed
Large Porch Suite (25)
Viewed
Putnam Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Standard Room with Two Double Beds (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
3.2 km away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
564 reviews
3.1 km away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#4 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
285 reviews
2.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
385 reviews
2.0 km away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#15 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
59 reviews
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#10 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Some places are just different. You feel it. You sense it. And when you're there it welcomes you. It encourages you, and it leaves you in a better place than when you arrived. A place that is legendary for making people feel better. It's not just a hotel. It's the cure for what ails you. The Gideon Putnm is a classic boutique hotel located in resort-like setting of Saratoga Spa State Park, minutes from downtown Saratoga Springs and the Adirondack Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gideon Putnam

Address: 24 Gideon Putnam Rd, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-6218 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Price Range: ₹ 9,649 - ₹ 29,075 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gideon Putnam 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gideon Putnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gideon Putnam Saratoga Springs
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#11 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Gideon Putnam staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from The Gideon Putnam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“back side higher up”
purdyde, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a jubnior suite overlooking the golf course. It was very quiet!”
Linspj, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“First floor is quiet and easy access”
Docdag, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a corner suite with a fireplace :)”
Carolyn073, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“suites are nice and spacious”
melissamG5448KJ, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 180* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 193
Booking.comUS$ 200
HotelQuicklyUS$ 238
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates