We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sara-Placid Motor Inn

  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Special Offer
Call Direct To Book!
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sara-Placid Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 116: English reviews
Marietta, NY
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I traveled for a weekend get-away to Saranac Lake. Before we went, we checked out a number of motels online. Half-way to our destination, we remembered that we had left home without our reservation printout. When we arrived at Saranac Lake we stopped in at the Sara Placid Motor Inn, since we were certain this is where...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BarbHMarietta_NY
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure talking with you and your wife, during your brief stay. Hope to see you both again. Steve/Owner.

Vernon, New York
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My husband Ken just finished his 10th Adirondack Classic 90 Miler from Old Forge to Saranac Lake. This is the first time that we stayed two nights at the Sara Placid instead of just the last night. This was the best decision that we ever made. First, the accommodations at the Sara Placid are far superior to the place we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Debra S
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this, as well as your past possitive comments. Hopefully we will see you both again, in the near future. Steve & Linda, Owners.

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The customer service was horrible. We stayed over Labor Day weekend. All rooms were booked except for one in the Prescott House. The owner described the house as "gorgeous" and "bed and breakfast like". It was nothing of the sort. He also told us it was $99 a night (but later ended up charging us $109 a night). Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TravelBoyADK
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review

Sorry that you were disappointed in your two room suite at the Prescott House. It Should be noted that I explained to you at the time you checked in that the property was at another location and did not have a private bathroom. You agreed to take the last room anyway. I explained that the $109 rate was per night...

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We made last minute plans on Friday August 3rd. Steve got us set up in the condo room #13. He was great and stayed up late for our late arrival. The room was nice, very clean,decent towels and very clean bed linens and the bed was very comfortable. We had a wonderful time. We were able to kayak the following...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katiek00
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for all your nice comments about the housekeeping apartment in which you stayed in. We enjoyed having you as our guests, and hope to see you both in the near future. Steve/Owner

Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The service was the absolute best. Gorgeous views of Saranac Lake from my window. Steve, the manager (and owner?) rendered excellent care. He even checked the level of oil in my car !!! Excellent cleanliness and well-keeping. An overall pleasure to stay in, a great experience. Will definitely make this my "go-to" accommodation next time I visit Saranac Lake!!! Saranac...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Deepak S
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review

That's very nice of you to take the time and post a review. I enjoyed have you as our guest and hope that we meet again. Steve

New York
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed in room 14 from the 12th - 15th July 2012. This place was fabulous. I read many of the outstanding reviews, but it was still better than expected! Steve was a pleasure and very helpful. The rooms were wonderful. Location outstanding. We will definitely be back. THANK YOU!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank venicerules
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the perfect review. We hope to have you both stay with us again. Steve/Owner

Johnson City, NY
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I recently stayed here on the weekend as my daughter had orientation at Paul Smith's College. I had called late the same afternoon and was thrilled to find a room as area was quite busy. The owner Steve handled my reservation and was very accommodating. He gave me a wonderful room that had a small kitchenette. When we arrived, very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GMRRI203
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time and providing a review of our property. It was also nice to read your possitive comments of the Sara-Placid Motor Inn. Hopefully your family will stay with us again in the near future. Steve

Reviewed 22 June 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this motel. Our room was one of the largest available with two queen beds and lots of space. The walls were fairly thick because we could not hear our neighbors. Steve was very nice and accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Inmycar
Management response:

Thank you very much for taking the time writing a review on our property. We were happy to read your possitive comments and hope to see you again in the near future. Steve

Waterford, CT USA
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This was an older 1950s type motor lodge. Seems well maintained, reasonably clean, and a decent value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JPCWaterford_CTUSA
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again. Steve

Bath, New York
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I just stayed at this wonderful property last night. The owner, Steve let us stay at the Lake house and we had a great stay. Sara Placid Motor Inn has very reasonable rates and the owners go out of their way to make sure you have a relaxing and worry free stay. The room at the lake had two bedrooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rhondas248
Management response:

Thank you very much for your fine comments about our lakefront cottage. We look forward to your next visit. Steve/Owner

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
#1 of 8 in Saranac Lake
406 reviews
11.3 km away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
9.4 km away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 30 in Lake Placid
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
10.3 km away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
317 reviews
0.2 km away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful lake/mountain setting. Motel rooms, kitchenettes, housekeeping apartments, suites with private bedrooms, Jacuzzi Suite, bed and breakfast type accommodations and three lakefront cottages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sara-Placid Motor Inn

Address: 445 Lake Flower Avenue, Saranac Lake, NY 12983
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Price Range: ₹ 4,561 - ₹ 23,477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Sara-Placid Motor Hotel Saranac Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sara-Placid Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This hotel accepts AAA.”
 of 5 bubbles 389tinab, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“HIgher floor would cause a problem with anyone with mobility problem.”
 of 5 bubbles Myrtlj, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Motel rooms are all essentially the same - same view, same parking, same ammenities”
 of 5 bubbles GaryH363, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Request a room away from the road if you need quiet. Location is good enough to walk into town!”
 of 5 bubbles kwade1758, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room as far from the road as possible. Although it was off-season, traffic was surprisingly heavy!”
 of 5 bubbles JacquesXP, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5