We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Forge Camping Resort

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Forge
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Old Forge Camping Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Old Forge Camping Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 3 August 2016

This is the second year we have rented a Cottage and we have loved it. The campground has any and all amenities you could ask for. Everything is kept very clean and it has proven to be a quiet place, the two times we've been. I have to shake my head when I read the complaints about bears! YOU ARE...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank csmith1280
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review

We are so happy you had a nice time at our resort. Our staff works very hard to provide a clean safe camping environment. The bears were here first, and we try to educate all of our guests to their presence and how to avoid an encounter. They are part of the beautiful area we all share, and working together,...

Poland, New York
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We stayed 1 night,everything was Great , with the exception of the Bears. Didn't get much sleep on account of wondering if the Bears were gonna break through the Cabin. Had them on our Porch and running throughout the site. Kinda Freaky ! Think we will stay elsewere on account of this.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Russell B
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Russell, for taking the time to write a review of our campground. Wildlife is a large part of why people visit our area. It's important to remember that the animals were here first. We share this space with them. We do our best to educate guests to the presence of black bears. We have information in our gazette...

Binghamton, New York
Reviewed 16 July 2016

I barely know where to begin with my disappointment in this campground. I'd have to start by saying that the online booking was subpar at best and definitely didn't provide as much information as we should have had before booking. In addition the layout of the campground must have been done by a blind person having a bad day. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spivey91313
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy our resort. We have hundreds of online booking here each year. All of our policy and reservation information is available on the website that is used to book sites. Several different accommodations are offered as far as sites are concerned. A water and electric site has a water and electric hook up. A...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

We just spent three nights here, with our three small children. It was great! The sites are a little close together was our only complaint. But overall it's very clean, quiet. The staff were all very friendly. The little restaurant was good, the donuts and coffee are delicious! We were very nervous about the Bears, as long as you follow...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tennhold
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for such a nice review. Our staff works tirelessly to provide the best possible camping experience for all types of campers. As long as sites are picked up and coolers are kept out of sight the bears can be easily avoided. Wildlife education is key when camping in the Adirondacks. We appreciate you taking the time to review...

Green Valley, Arizona
Reviewed 13 July 2016

This Park is an old KOA with lots of big trees, narrow roads with tight turns. Sites are dirt, and not too level. Lakeside sites have full hookups with 50amps. Running your air conditioning is banned. Kids everywhere as the featured attraction of Old Forge is a water park a half mile away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review

Hi Phil. Thanks for taking some time out of your day to write a review of our camping resort. We have been here, in the heart of the Adirondacks, for many years. Our sites have been in place for many years. Campers keep getting larger and larger and unfortunately our sites do not. When calling to book a site you...

N Ft Myers
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We were in the best site in the campground, number 374. It was newly graveled, and appeared to be the only one that wasn't all dirt. I was very happy that we got it, as I hate to live on dirt. That being said, we noticed that sites are raked and cleaned before each new camper. The site is on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graz3228
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Air conditioners are allowed in the campground. Unfortunately our electrical supply does not allow them to be run on our outlets. We try to make the policy clear when reservations are made so no one is surprised. Generally temperatures here are reasonable, and most people can get along quite nicely without an air conditioner. We...

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We have been coming here for years and have enjoyed the environment and their yearly festivities until this year. We will say the campground is very clean but we were EXTREMELY disappointed with this years pre-summer event. The kids events were ok but still not like the prior years that we attended. The evenings were nowhere near the same. That...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acenllinfo
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort! Every year is slightly different. We have many different campers here, with different camping styles. This spring with the beautiful weather many people chose to have campfires and cookout. As the evening progressed, and as usual, the crowds for the evening entertainment grew. Everyone had a very good time and...

Oneonta, New York
Reviewed 19 June 2016

My husband and I went here for the weekend to get away for our anniversary. The location was great, and right near Water Safari. The staff was very welcoming and the grounds were very well kept. The bathroom and shower areas were very clean. We stayed in a cabin and loved it. We didn't bring a fan so during the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SierraDM
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review our resort. Our staff will appreciate your kind words and recognition of their efforts. We can't wait to meet your relatives when you return!

Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

We booked this cabin last minute as a quick overnight getaway to disconnect, spend some time together and be able to bring our dog with us. We booked a cottage and it was the perfect size knowing we were not planning on spending a ton of time indoors. Our site was the perfect size, secluded but close enough to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HRA22
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for such a nice review! We do our best to accommodate guests and provide a cabin or cottage in the best possible location for them. We will extend the kind words to our team. They work very hard to provide a clean, safe, and fun camping environment for all and deserve the compliment. We hope to see you...

Utica, New York
Reviewed 6 June 2016

All of the employees at the Old Forge Camping Resort that we stayed at were sooooo nice, cheerful, knowledgeable & very helpful! Three of us stayed in a cottage which was a nice size. It was very clean and peaceful - and, we had beautiful weather for our stay! It had everything we were looking for and more - we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swtstuff
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Our staff works tirelessly to accommodate the needs of all of our guests. We are glad you had such a nice stay and do look forward to seeing you again in the future!

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
9.2 km away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
85 reviews
34.9 km away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
256 reviews
3.3 km away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
97 reviews
1.4 km away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
12.9 km away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Forge Camping Resort is a year round campground located in Old Forge, New York so we’re perfect if you’re coming for camping, skiing, snowmobiling, kayaking, canoeing, or whatever Adirondack adventure you’re after. Enjoy a true vacation in the Adirondacks here at our campground as you relax and camp in the peace and quiet of the surrounding Adirondack Mountains. We offer several types of accommodations: cottage rentals, log cabins rentals, RV camping and tent sites. Each type has a picnic table, fire circle, and is conveniently located near one of our seven heated Restroom and Shower Facilities, all at an affordable cost. We are located just a half-mile from the center of Old Forge, our Camping Resort provides full amenities within the campground. The free shuttle bus can bring you directly to the Enchanted Forest Water Safari, Calypso's Cove and to the beginning of the village of Old Forge, where there are many souvenir shops and restaurants. Our scenic campgrounds, beautiful private lake and helpful staff will ensure that your Adirondack camping experience is a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Forge Camping Resort

Address: 3347 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Region: United States > New York > Old Forge
Number of rooms: 132
Also Known As:
Old Forge Camping Hotel Old Forge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Forge Camping Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Old Forge Camping Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In the summer there are typically more bears on the far side of the property”
X2334HHandrewp, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to request specific locations”
amys534, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Cabin 14 was good”
nancyk847, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We prefer a lakefront cottage.”
csmith1280, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a lakeside site”
PhilS112, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5