We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gurney\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 329: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 20 January 2016

A great getaway a couple of hours drive east of NYC. We've been here several times over the years, but they have been renovating with a flair for modern chic. Even in the offseason they are busy. We enjoyed the spa and resturants during our stay. The restaurnt hosts & hostess were very nice. Angel, our server was great! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimeTraveler0123_10
Robin T, Guest Relations Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear TimeTraveler0123_10, Thank you for your comments on the restaurants, spa and our great staff. We are delighted to know your truly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon and please contact me if I may assist you! Kind regards, Robin Torr Guest Relations Manager

Secaucus, New Jersey
Reviewed 14 January 2016

We have gone to their big New Year's Eve party with a polar bear plunge the next morning twice. The party usually has a theme such as James Bond which adds to the festivities. So it is really cold in Montauk in the winter so doing a polar bear the Gurney's way is the only way! You spend about 40...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjtravelagain
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jjtravelagain, Thank you for the comments regarding your NYE stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us more than last year and that you'll join us again before next year to enjoy the resort. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 14 January 2016

After many years of being "run down" a new renovation is restoring Gurney's back to what it should be, beautiful. Sitting above the Atlantic ocean, you get a magnificent view of the beach below. Sunsets explode against the sky here. The staff is friendly and helpful. Scarpetta, the main restaurant is delicious. Tilly's for brunch on weekends is great for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NMT2015
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear NMT2015, Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate the feedback regarding your stay with us! We do hope that you'll join us again soon and please contact me for assistance if necessary. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager

Sayville, New York
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at Gurneys many times and love it! We don't like the newly renovated king ocean front. They are a little cold and not very private. The only privacy on the terraces are a Bush. This month we rented a 2 bedroom cottage with another couple. . The bridge room 529.. right on the water. We didn't know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank metsma62
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear metsma62, Thank you for staying with us again and thank you for the feedback regarding the renovated rooms. We do hope that you'll return to stay with again this year and please contact me for assistance in making reservations. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 January 2016

I recently spent the New Years Eve weekend with my girlfriend at Gurney's and we had a wonderful time. We stayed in an Oceanfront King and the view was amazing. The beach was probably a 30 second walk from the room. We kept one of the windows open slightly and the the sounds of the waves filled the room day...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelingpeon
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear travelingpeon, Thank you for staying with us and for the comments. I'm sorry about the cleanliness of the room and I will follow up with the team. We've added many new amenities and we're enhancing the service and your feedback is helpful in doing so. Kindest regards, Michael Nenner General Manager

Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewed 7 January 2016

I surprised my ailing Mother in law and my Wife with a visit to Gurney's for a what I thought would be a fun intimate Weekend. It was a disaster, as the Hotel was/is being renovated and dinning rooms were filled up with very loud business and tipsy conference attendees. Very disappointed that I did not check out Gurney's (2015)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doranltd1
Robin T, Guest Relations Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Doranltd1, Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us! I'm sorry that you experienced a shortfall in service with the renovations and other events that were going on during your stay. We strive to provide the highest levels of service and cater to all guests. I'd love to discuss this further if possible and please feel...

Reviewed 6 January 2016

Loved the renovation. Exquisite design, very friendly staff, and excellent spa and pool facility. The restaurant atmosphere was elegant yet down to earth and food was excellent! Highly recommend it...also since it's been a mild winter so far, one should take advantage of the discounted rates vs. summertime.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Edmond N
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Edmond N, Thank you for your comments regarding the renovation, staff, spa and the restaurant atmosphere. We appreciate the feedback and please let me know when you plan on returning, so I may assist with reservations. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager

Reviewed 6 January 2016

I went to Gurney's the weekend after Christmas from 12/26 - 12/27. We were in a two bedroom oceanfront suite which was roomy, clean and the beds were VERY comfortable. The restaurant onsite was delicious. Overall everything has been improved and upgraded and my experience was wonderful. I had a wonderful 90 minute facial which I can compare to Four...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline K
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline K, Thank you for the wonderful comments and I appreciate the feedback, even if the pool was too chilly. I'm pleased to hear that everything has improved since your last stay and next time you'll have to try the ice skating. Please contact me directly for assistance upon your next trip and I'd be happy to make the...

Southampton, New York
Reviewed 6 January 2016

I stayed at Gurneys during Christmas week and was blown away by the differences from my last stay in February. I stayed in a king suite and everything about the room was first class. The bathroom was superbly updated, the decor top notch from the coffee maker to the robes and slippers in the bathroom. The umbrella in the closet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jopookie
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jopookie, Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your return stay with us. We're very proud of the strides we've made in service and in the resort product and this is seen in your comments. We appreciate the feedback and use it to improve everyday. We can't wait to welcome you back again in 2016 and hope that it...

Carlisle, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 January 2016

This is an update from last year. It was spectacular last year, and didn't disappoint. I can't pretend to claim that they listened specifically to my issues but it somehow most of the little things I mentioned that kind of 'got in the way' of a perfect experience were solved--- allowing for pure enjoyment of a beautiful and peaceful oceanfront...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarTRVLR
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear CarTRVLR, Wow,.. Thank you for the amazing comments and I'm so pleased that we were able to address the concerns you had previously. We learn everyday from our guests and this helps to improve the service offerings for all of our guests. We do hope that you'll join us again in the future and please contact me for assistance....

464 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (308)
Viewed
Aerial Photography (44)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Beach (31)
Viewed
Junior Suite (26)
Viewed
King Oceanfront Room (23)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Premium King Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montauk
7.5 km away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 39 in Montauk
466 reviews
4.3 km away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
287 reviews
25.9 km away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 km away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
95 reviews
4.4 km away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
294 reviews
7.8 km away
Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on Montauk's most pristine stretch of oceanfront real estate, Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa is a Hampton's icon and the only four-season resort in Montauk. Providing guests with direct access to a 2,000 ft. private sand beach, Gurney's features 146 rooms, suites and beachfront cottages, each with dramatic ocean views. With five unique dining and cocktail venues, guests can enjoy a wide range of dining options, from elegant seasonal cuisine to casual fare to grab-and-go cafe favorites. All of Gurney's venues feature spectacular ocean views, none more so than The Beach Club, which provides the only on-beach dining experience in the Hamptons. No trip to Gurney's is complete without visiting The Seawater Spa, featuring Roman baths, Finnish rock saunas, a fitness center, and our world-famous indoor/outdoor sand-filtered, ocean-fed, heated seawater pool. The Seawater Spa is the only authentic Thalasso Center in the continental United States and offers customized thalasso therapies, harnessing the healing and restorative properties of the sea. The spa also offers a wide range of innovative spa services including uniquely tailored massages, facials and body treatments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa

Address: 290 Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954-5048
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Price Range: ₹ 19,318 - ₹ 78,213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney`s Inn Resort, Hotel Montauk
Gurneys Resort Montauk
Gurneys Inn Montauk
Gurneys Hotel Montauk
Gurneys Inn Resort
Gurneys Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“OceanFront Rooms, not to be confused with OceanView Rooms, are the best rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles katebranning, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Confirm you attendance early to ensure a room on the grounds.”
 of 5 bubbles johnn844, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There's no distinction bet. guests of the resort & outside visitors. If you can't get a reservation in the restaurant, you're out of luck.”
 of 5 bubbles HelperT, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beware the non-renovated rooms in the foredeck building”
 of 5 bubbles Starrbry, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The renovated rooms are modern, but some of the rooms are older.”
 of 5 bubbles michelleeD6089KB, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5