We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

477 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 477: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a lovely little inn. The staff is low key but competent and attentive. I had two major problems with it. I chose it because it had a farm and, I believed, farm-to-table food. Unfortunately, the eggs from their chickens and some produce from local farms were the exception not the rule. There was a plethora of gluten, dairy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shea T
CJ H, General Manager at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Shea T, I am sorry that you were unable to get spa appointments at the specific times you requested when you arrived for check in. Our spa is very popular and highly rated. We do recommend advanced booking for spa services for this reason exactly - so we can accommodate our guests at the time preferred. Our breakfast, lunch...

Long Island, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I absolutely love it here. We went in May of 2014, which was not available as an option on here, so I had to put April of 2016 haha. The only reason I have not returned, is because the price defiantly seems to have gone up a bit. ($300 a night now) But it was beyond pleasantly surprised. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbrennen20
Reviewed 13 March 2017

My boyfriend and I came here from Brooklyn to celebrate his birthday. Its a comfortable 2 hour ride from NYC. The metro north goes straight to Poughkeepsie, then we took a $25 cab (an 8 min ride.) to the Inn. Our room was so nice and cozy. Had a working whirlpool tub plus a working fire place. I had arranged...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellen g
New York City, New York
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We had a small room on the first floor of the main house that was nevertheless more than adequate, with nice details including a gas fireplace, jacuzzi bath, and French doors opening to a small patio. The staff was uniformly helpful and attentive. We had a delicious dinner at the restaurant on the property and also enjoyed the low key...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank demetrios212
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Stayed in the North Cottage for a girls weekend. The cottage was perfectly sized, very comfortable, and felt like home. Gorgeous views. As animal lovers, we really enjoyed visiting the animals and spending time interacting with them. The grounds were beautiful, we did a bit of hiking. Lovely breakfasts in the main house each day. The hotel staff was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xxxxxooooo
New York
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Having now lived in the Mud-Hudson valley full time for a year I have wanted to visit the restaurant "Henry's at the Farm" since reading about it a year ago. I was not sure what to expect. And after along day in the office I made a quick reservation and hoped for the best. Thankfully I was not disappointed. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pzc65
CJ H, General Manager at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear pzc65, Thank you for sharing your experience in such detail with the TripAdvisor community. I am happy to hear that Annmarie offered warm service and shared detailed information on our other offerings! We have actually taken your advice on the Ice Cream Sandwich and have been testing 2 smaller sandwiches instead of the large one. It seems to be...

Reviewed 28 February 2017

We visited Buttermilk Falls Inn over a long weekend in order to celebrate our sister getting married! We stayed in the River Birch House and it was perfection. We enjoyed the spa, walks all around the grounds, Henry's restaurant was wonderful and the morning breakfast and tea time at the inn was delicious! Perfect getaway and would love to visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny Hunt M
Long Island, New York
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

The place looks lovely and the room was quaint and clean with the exception of the mildew in the shower. The grounds are also nice and assume even nicer in the spring, summer or fall. But, overall the staff was cold and impersonal which permeated throughout the place. We have been to many inns and B&Bs and felt this to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan N
New Rochelle, New York
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We made a long weekend just before Valentine's Day, and Buttermilk was a perfect place to unwind and enjoy being together. We stayed in a nice room on the second floor of the inn, but there are several, larger private accommodations around the sprawling property. Each day starts out with breakfast served in a room which looks down the property...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCacace
Wilmington, DE
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Buttermilk Inn & Spa is quite a surprise. Beautiful large property with excellent accommodations. There is a full breakfast included with made to order dishes each day. Afternoon tea is a delight. Nice Spa and indoor pool. And there are animals to observe and enjoy during your stay: Llamas, goats, donkeys, chickens, and peacocks are kept by the hotel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lovesdogs101

352 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (335)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (154)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton
21.0 km away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
318 reviews
12.4 km away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
69 reviews
32.1 km away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
2.1 km away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
410 reviews
29.6 km away
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Salisbury Mills
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on 75 acres overlooking the Hudson River. Cascading waterfalls, swan ponds, organic gardens, fresh gourmet breakfasts, eco-friendly spa with pool, sauna and steam room. Rooms with private fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and balconies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa

Address: 220 North Rd, Milton, NY 12547-5506
Region: United States > New York > Milton
Price Range: ₹ 20,939 - ₹ 35,135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buttermilk Falls Hotel Milton
Buttermilk Falls Inn And Spa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose either the second floor of the main Inn or a separate cabin or the 4 br house for rent”
NYCGW, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“North Cottage great space for 2 couples, great views and location”
lovesdogs101, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room in the main inn was lovely with French doors opening to a patio overlooking the Hudson River.”
alicebT799CM, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the inn on the river side are much nicer”
barbaramM5541UI, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Many rooms have fireplaces!”
libbys829, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5