We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2067 State Route 52 Route 17 Exit 100, Liberty, NY 12754-2235
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$95
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/02/23
Travelocity
Priceline
Lol.travel$107
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool & Beach (1)

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Liberty
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Liberty? Then look no further than Knights Inn Liberty, a budget friendly hotel that brings the best of Liberty to your doorstep.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as Knights Inn Liberty offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features 24 hour front desk, newspaper, and a sun terrace. Plus, Knights Inn Liberty offers a pool and free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

Liberty has plenty of diners. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Liberty Diner and New Munson Diner, which are serving up some great dishes.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Walnut Mountain Park, which is a popular Liberty park – and it is conveniently located a short distance from the hotel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Knights Inn Liberty as you experience everything Liberty has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Vending machine
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
177Reviews1Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 17
  • 19
  • 51
  • 83
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pablo Figueroa wrote a review Aug 2022
Carolina, Puerto Rico13 contributions4 helpful votes
My wife and stayed at this place from August 14-20, 2022. We gave this Inn one star because honestly the owner and personnel were courteous and polite. Other than that we were appalled by the heavy condensed smell of cigarette smoke in our room, Room 203, in the hallways and around the premises. We guess it sticks to the carpets and A/C filters. Even when this Inn is a nonsmoking inside facility. This has caused my wife to suffer from severe asthma requiring daily respiratory albuterol inhaling treatment. The continental breakfast was unsatisfactory. Coffee is so light it’s best served without cream or sugar. Sometimes there were waffles but mostly bread to toast and butter or jam to add. However the Liberty diner close by was superb for breakfast and dinner. Housekeeping was excellent. The security safe was not working. The mini fridge needs to have the ice compartment defrosted. It was so packed with hardened ice there was no space to fit anything into the freezer. The place really needs to be upgraded. I understand this was once a Howard Johnson.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There are better places to stay elsewhere. You have been forewarned what to expect at Knights...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Knights Inn Liberty
Responded 4 Sep 2022
Dear Pablo, Feedback like yours helps us continually improve, and we appreciate you highlighting where you felt we could have done better. That said, we are still disappointed that this was your experience. Thank you for providing your room details, and we will have our team do a thorough sweep to remedy these issues. Additionally, we are delighted to know that our team was accommodating, and our housekeeping team will be pleased to know that they were a highlight as well. Should you be in the area again, we hope you will return for an even better stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maureen G wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
This place is disgusting! I lost $209.00 because I couldn’t sleep there and I couldn’t get a refund. I checked in but after I saw the condition of the room and the more I thought about it I called about getting a refund. I was told I had to check out first.,but we had an engagement to attend and we were running late, so we attended our venue . I called and expressed my concerns about this place and I was told to check out before any refunds could be given, so after our function,( 5 hrs later )we went back to the hotel and checked out but I was told no refunds will be given. Got in my car and drove 2 1/2 hrs home! Totally deceiving and disgusting to say the least!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Room Tip: Don’t stay there!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Knights Inn Liberty
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Dear Maureen, We're sorry to hear that our refund policy failed to meet your expectations during your visit. We understand your frustration, and we'll be sure to keep your comments in mind for the future. Thank you, and we hope you'll consider giving us another chance later down the road.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LathamJeanne wrote a review Aug 2022
Latham, New York79 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
Omg this place is a dump we had no choice to stay here since all others within miles were booked for Jimmy Buffet concert at Bethel Arts The entire place Smelled like mold and cigarettes Our room had no smoke alarm and bathroom was disgusting I saw no signs of cleaning Sheets were brand new still had creases our only saving Grace here
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid this place if possible
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Knights Inn Liberty
Responded 9 Aug 2022
Dear Latham, We're so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us, and we apologize for any lack of cleanliness during your visit. This is never our intention, and we'll be sure to have our housekeeping team make changes where necessary. Thank you, and we hope to see you again later down the road.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathleen H wrote a review Apr 2022
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, Usa6 contributions1 helpful vote
I wish I had read the reviews FIRST! The door fell off the upper hinge preventing it from closing unless you lift the door into place. Ok, the girl at the desk said new owners were renovating (she didn't know about the door and did offer a new room) Went to take a shower in the morning...the water dial fell off. Yup, I said FELL OFF. No shower. Keep in mind I travel a lot and definitely should know better, but my boyfriend just had injections in his back for pain after traveling 2 days in the car for the doctor's appointment, he just wanted out of the car and onto a bed. I relented. Got the 2nd hotel I went into. The first was a Days Inn that had a severe chemical smell I couldn't bear and it was getting late. Back to the condition of the room... I dropped something on the rug. In retrieving it, I found food wrappers under the bed skirt. In picking that up, I noticed something stuck to the rug. I DON'T want to even know. Now I'm worried so I go to the car and get my emergency blankets cause no way am I sleeping IN the bed. In the morning, I go to brush my teeth and notice spray of something all over the mirror. Again, DON'T want to know! YUCK I complained to the desk clerk who said he would comp the room. My boyfriend was still upstairs so he didn't know I addressed the situation. When my boyfriend went down he spoke with a different clerk and asked for a reduction in price because we couldn't shower. He was told no, nothing would be done. Well, he didn't take that well and called the credit card company asking to dispute the charge on the grounds we did not receive service for the amount paid. After listening, they are refunding his money. The 2nd clerk told me they were renovating. Like that was an excuse for the disgusting condition the hotel is in. Of course I wouldn't have stayed had I known what their definition of renovation is and had my boyfriend not been frazzled after the past few days traveling 10 hours in a car in extreme pain. There will NEVER be a next time! Oh...Knights Inn isn't with Wyndham Hotels and I couldn't find the corporate phone or I would have complained to them. The night clerk said the owner was withdrawing from the current franchise and probably going to change the name. Sleep in your car before staying at this location! I am TOTALLY SERIOUS! Wish I had taken pictures, usually I do.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Knights Inn Liberty
Responded 18 Apr 2022
Dear Kathleen, While we appreciate your detailed feedback, we are so sorry to hear that your experience failed to meet your expectations. Our team endeavors to provide clean and comfortable accommodations at all times, and we apologize for any ways in which you feel we missed the mark. Rest assured that all of your feedback will be addressed with the relevant parties to ensure that we are meeting our own high hospitality standards, and we appreciate your insights in this regard.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
_pfeldman1221 wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York4 contributions
When my wife and I tried to check in to our prepaid room at the Knighs Inn Liberty, they refused to check us in and give us our room Key. The owner (of all 3 days) proceeded to walk us down the hall with the master key opening occupied rooms offering us to stay in one of those rooms. The owner was removing the Do NOT disturb signs and unlocking the doors. These rooms were bolted closed from the inside thankfully. After this happened 2 times, my wife and I ran out of this sh*t hole. Stay away!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Knights Inn Liberty
Responded 23 Aug 2021
We are so sorry for your experience. What you have shared is in no way reflective of our standards in hospitality, and we will speak with our management team immediately about your comments. We know we can do much better than this, and we ask that you consider giving us another try in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom K wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
I reserved three nights. After the first night, I could no longer tolerate the stench and non functioning electrical switches and outlets. The next morning when I told them I was leaving and wanted a refund for two nights, they quoted their 48 hour cancellation policy. When I went up the road to the Days Inn and told them where I was coming from, the woman said "oh how did that work out for you?" What a joke, giving 48 hours was impossible even though I agreed to pay for the one night I stayed....avoid this place at ALL COSTS!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Knights Inn Liberty
Responded 19 Jul 2021
Dear Tom, Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience. It's unfortunate to learn that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. Our 48-hour cancellation policy is listed online, and we apologize for any confusion. However, your feedback is appreciated. Our team hopes you had a memorable trip overall. Please allow us another opportunity to deliver the exceptional stay we're known for.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dmlarry3 wrote a review Jun 2021
Plattsburgh, New York1 contribution
The parking lot had a few cars that were obviously being lived out of. The lobby and hallways were filthy and had bags of garbage sitting in them. The rooms were filthy, too. Sheets were sandy and visibly soiled. Carpet obviously not vacuumed. Mini-fridge had someone's leftovers in it. This place is clearly a halfway house, and it shows. Never stay here. TripAdvisor would be a better site if it didn't even list this establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Knights Inn Liberty
Responded 18 Jun 2021
Thank you for sharing your feedback. It's unfortunate to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us, and we apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. Our goal is to provide every guest with immaculate accommodations, and we regret to have fallen short in that aspect. Your concerns will be addressed with our housekeeping team to ensure that every room is always in pristine condition. We appreciate you choosing us for your lodging needs, and we wish you safe travels ahead.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vincent V wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
Good price, honored the online deal, very clean and tidy, nice compassionate people/family, I’ll totally stay their again and would recommend this hotel over all other hotels in the Liberty area! Keep up the good work!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
davidrU3312MI wrote a review Nov 2019
Monticello, New York12 contributions4 helpful votes
The place has been neglected for a long time its in need of a major face-lift, having said that it serves the purpose if you are looking for a one night stay in the area, the rooms are large, the beds are comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RLResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Knights Inn Liberty
Responded 11 Nov 2019
Dear David, Thank you for your feedback. It is heartwarming to hear that you found our room spacious and our beds comfortable, this brightens our day. However, it is saddening to know that the setting of our facility did not suit your preferences. Our apologies for any inconvenience it caused. Rest assured that we will discuss your comments with the team to continually improve our services and property. Should your travels lead you back to the area, consider staying with us again so we can change your perceptions.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren C wrote a review Aug 2018
South Hadley, Massachusetts50 contributions31 helpful votes
We got referred to this hotel after our first hotel had a "computer glitch" and double booked their rooms. We got offered a discounted rate of $119, which honestly, I wouldn't be able to be paid that much to stay at this hotel. We arrived, after looking at all surrounding hotels in a 30 mile radius, and this and another hotel were the only available options. Right in front of the hotel is old buses that appear broken down and unkept. You couldn't even see the front of the hotel. We went into the lobby, which seemed dated. We checked in, and at first didn't really look around the breakfast area, but we were informed they serve bread and butter and dry cereals. We then noted multiple tables had "do not use" signs on it, and were broken. After we got out room keys, we went to go upstairs and there was a cleaning bucket with a dirty rag that looks like it hadn't been moved in a few days with yellow liquid in it, catching dripping ceiling water. As we continued to go up the stairs, they were covered in water from the dripping ceiling tiles. When we went upstairs, the hallways reeked of cigarette smoke despite all the "non-smoking" signs on every hotel door. The carpet was old and date. When we arrived to our rooms, we opened the door. It also smelled like cigarette smoke, and was warm as heck in there. The AC barely worked. The bathrooms had black grout and stained bathmats. Our box springs had plastic over them. Comforters were mismatched. The other couple we traveled with room had a sign on the window "do not use" because it was broken. After spending 45 minutes searching for another option, we found the only room available at a resort and paying way more than we wanted ($1000 for 2 nights). We went back down stairs to inform the front desk that we weren't comfortable staying in the facility, we then noticed black ants crawling all around the desk. When we told her we weren't staying, we got "well you've been here for almost an hour", and "why don't you want to stay"? As saying this- the lady had a bug fly into her shirt and she had to excuse herself while she removed it. There was a millipede on the floor, which we informed her of, she came around the desk and crushed it with her foot. Since we stayed there an hour, we were charged for one night, which at that point, was complete crap, but I wasn't going to chance getting bed bugs fleas or ill from everything.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$85 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
howard johnson inn liberty hotel liberty, howard johnson liberty, howard johnson hotel liberty
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Howard Johnson Inn Liberty
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkCatskill RegionSullivan CatskillsLiberty
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KNIGHTS INN LIBERTY - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Knights Inn Liberty
Which popular attractions are close to Knights Inn Liberty?
Nearby attractions include Liberty Heights (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Knights Inn Liberty?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Knights Inn Liberty?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Knights Inn Liberty?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Knights Inn Liberty?
Conveniently located restaurants include Yiasou Cafe, Liberty Diner, and Piccolo Paese Ristorante Italiano.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Knights Inn Liberty?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Knights Inn Liberty?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Knights Inn Liberty?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Knights Inn Liberty accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.