Knights Inn Liberty

Knights Inn Liberty

Traveller (70)
Room & Suite (9)
I wanted to swim, she lied and said pool is open. look at this date and photo.
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

2.0
#3 of 3 hotels in Liberty
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.2 of 5 bubbles
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Liberty? Then look no further than Knights Inn Liberty, a budget friendly hotel that brings the best of Liberty to your doorstep.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as Knights Inn Liberty offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features 24 hour front desk, newspaper, and a sun terrace. Plus, Knights Inn Liberty offers a pool and free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

Liberty has plenty of diners. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Liberty Diner and New Munson Diner, which are serving up some great dishes.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Walnut Mountain Park, which is a popular Liberty park – and it is conveniently located a short distance from the hotel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Knights Inn Liberty as you experience everything Liberty has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Hotel links
Special Price:5% Off Or More
180Reviews1Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 17
  • 19
  • 51
  • 86
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
_pfeldman1221 wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When my wife and I tried to check in to our prepaid room at the Knighs Inn Liberty, they refused to check us in and give us our room Key. The owner (of all 3 days) proceeded to walk us down the hall with the master key opening occupied rooms offering us to stay in one of those rooms. The owner was removing the Do NOT disturb signs and unlocking the doors. These rooms were bolted closed from the inside thankfully. After this happened 2 times, my wife and I ran out of this sh*t hole.

Stay away!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Knights Inn Liberty
Responded 23 Aug 2021
We are so sorry for your experience. What you have shared is in no way reflective of our standards in hospitality, and we will speak with our management team immediately about your comments. We know we can do much better than this, and we ask that you consider giving us another try in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom K wrote a review Jul 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I reserved three nights. After the first night, I could no longer tolerate the stench and non functioning electrical switches and outlets. The next morning when I told them I was leaving and wanted a refund for two nights, they quoted their 48 hour cancellation policy.
When I went up the road to the Days Inn and told them where I was coming from, the woman said "oh how did that work out for you?"
What a joke, giving 48 hours was impossible even though I agreed to pay for the one night I stayed....avoid this place at ALL COSTS!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Knights Inn Liberty
Responded 19 Jul 2021
Dear Tom, Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience. It's unfortunate to learn that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. Our 48-hour cancellation policy is listed online, and we apologize for any confusion. However, your feedback is appreciated. Our team hopes you had a memorable trip overall. Please allow us another opportunity to deliver the exceptional stay we're known for.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pablo Figueroa wrote a review Aug 2022
Carolina, Puerto Rico
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and stayed at this place from August 14-20, 2022. We gave this Inn one star because honestly the owner and personnel were courteous and polite. Other than that we were appalled by the heavy condensed smell of cigarette smoke in our room, Room 203, in the hallways and around the premises. We guess it sticks to the carpets and A/C filters. Even when this Inn is a nonsmoking inside facility. This has caused my wife to suffer from severe asthma requiring daily respiratory albuterol inhaling treatment. The continental breakfast was unsatisfactory. Coffee is so light it’s best served without cream or sugar. Sometimes there were waffles but mostly bread to toast and butter or jam to add. However the Liberty diner close by was superb for breakfast and dinner. Housekeeping was excellent. The security safe was not working. The mini fridge needs to have the ice compartment defrosted. It was so packed with hardened ice there was no space to fit anything into the freezer. The place really needs to be upgraded. I understand this was once a Howard Johnson.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There are better places to stay elsewhere. You have been forewarned what to expect at Knights...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Knights Inn Liberty
Responded 4 Sept 2022
Dear Pablo, Feedback like yours helps us continually improve, and we appreciate you highlighting where you felt we could have done better. That said, we are still disappointed that this was your experience. Thank you for providing your room details, and we will have our team do a thorough sweep to remedy these issues. Additionally, we are delighted to know that our team was accommodating, and our housekeeping team will be pleased to know that they were a highlight as well. Should you be in the area again, we hope you will return for an even better stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maureen G wrote a review Aug 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is disgusting! I lost $209.00 because I couldn’t sleep there and I couldn’t get a refund. I checked in but after I saw the condition of the room and the more I thought about it I called about getting a refund. I was told I had to check out first.,but we had an engagement to attend and we were running late, so we attended our venue . I called and expressed my concerns about this place and I was told to check out before any refunds could be given, so after our function,( 5 hrs later )we went back to the hotel and checked out but I was told no refunds will be given. Got in my car and drove 2 1/2 hrs home! Totally deceiving and disgusting to say the least!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
Room Tip: Don’t stay there!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Knights Inn Liberty
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Dear Maureen, We're sorry to hear that our refund policy failed to meet your expectations during your visit. We understand your frustration, and we'll be sure to keep your comments in mind for the future. Thank you, and we hope you'll consider giving us another chance later down the road.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cazz C wrote a review Jul 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Had to leave and cancel before even coming in there were people doing drugs in front of the building and no joke I the building was practically crumbling. I wouldn’t let my sister anywhere near there. Extremely misleading pictures just update the pictures clean up the place and be honest about how the place is run/looks/the people very sure it is a welfare based hotel. I wish I got photos to show how bad it actually was.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Knights Inn Liberty
Responded 4 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your remarks. It's disappointing to receive a low rating as you decided not to stay with us. We assure you that the comfort and safety of our guests are our highest priorities, and our team members are available to answer any questions or to address any concerns that may arise. Please consider joining us in the future so that we can show you just how great a stay on our property can be.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mobile19556470758 wrote a review Jul 2023
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
3 years of terrible reviews…how is this place still in operation??? FILTHY. The entire building reeked of cigarette smoke. Left in the middle of the night after we discovered the room was full of roaches. This place should be closed immediately.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Knights Inn Liberty
Responded 8 Jul 2023
Please accept our apologies for any lack of cleanliness during your visit. Our team will be sure to look into all of your comments and make changes where necessary. Please consider giving us another chance soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wanderer35939 wrote a review Aug 2003
Fulton, NY
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We made reservations on line and when we drove up, the place looked deserted, and it looked like a bullet hole was in the window next to the entryway. Interior appeared dirty, dingy, run-down, and the unpleasant smell warned us to stay away. We asked to see a room and just going down the hallway made us nervous! The price was low, and now we know why!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jamaican-at-Heart wrote a review Sept 2011
Syracuse, New York
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was pretty leery after reading all the negative reviews, so I called ahead and said so and that I wanted to make sure our room was clean. When we arrived we were treated very courteously, we were shown a room to make sure we found it acceptable, and shown 2 additional rooms. We chose the first as we liked the private back side with a little patio. It wasn't great, but it was clean and comfortable, certainly not worthy of all the negative reviews. Our only complaint was the ice machine was not working (I kind of thought it may have just been unplugged to conserve), but there was a gas station / mini mart across the parking lot and we just went over there and bought some. Still a lot cheaper than the extra $40-50 it would have cost at their nearby competitors.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer B wrote a review Apr 2011
Waterloo, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was very convenient. Pizza Hut is next door as is Liberty Diner. Major fast food restaurants in walking distance. The family who runs the hotel are very friendly. Not everything was *perfect* but the owners definitely made everything right whenever we needed anything.
We had no noise issues - we were on the main hall on the first floor not far from the pool.
There were no signs of bedbugs in our room as mentioned in other reviews. I fully inspected the bed and headboards and I've seen infestations so I know what to look for. The beds were perfectly clean, we had no rash or bites at all.
My child slept wondefully in the provided crib.
The breakfast was toast your own bagels, individually wrapped cinnamon rolls, coffee, milk and juice. Two kinds of cereal. Standard fare. Nice breakfast area with a big TV and remote control.
The Wifi was fast and needed no password.
We arrived late and all of our wishes on our reservation had been noted and taken care of so we could get right to sleep (crib was ready, extra pillows).
I would stay there again. It is definitely a budget hotel, but it is by no means a dive.
The family who runs the hotel were very lovely and made us feel very at home.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Pre-pay and save.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kristofer B wrote a review Dec 2015
Jericho, New York
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hello folks, I don't often follow up my visit with a review, but someone in charge needs to know the experience my family and I had when recently visiting upstate NY in the Liberty area. It was a horrible experience, and one I never would have expected from a well-known reputable name like Howard Johnson. I booked the room the same day we stayed (Friday, 12/11/15), and the online booking process was a breeze using Trip Advisor. The three employees we dealt with while there were all nice, from the night we arrived to the next morning when we left. We went off to our room after a long day of being on the road and expected nothing more than two beds to sleep on, which is exactly what we got. Room #128 to be exact. The first bed on the left looked like Swiss Cheese, as there were burn holes everywhere and yet it still somehow made the cut for guests to use. There was long hairs on all the pillows as if they were not cleaned or even moved at all after the last guests left. The back sliding door which went out to a patio took the work of two people just to get it closed. Thank god we had tools with us, it required a screwdriver, pry bar, and piece of wood just to keep it sort of closed. At the top and bottom the door was open 3/4 of an inch all night for a nice December draft to come through. The back patio was enough to have this place condemned. We had the privilege as well of dealing with a pimp and his "co-workers" whom nicely greeted us outside. The boss wanted to know if we wanted a piece of his girls action as they waited inside the unlocked hotel side door and waited on the inside steps that the guests use. Red flags from the start, we made it work though and got out first thing in the AM. Howard Johnson has this one experience wanting me to steer clear of ever staying in a HOJO again. Kris B - Long Island
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Date of stay: December 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM_CustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Knights Inn Liberty
Responded 21 Dec 2015
Dear guest, I am personally looking into your review. Sincerely. GM.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pablo Figueroa wrote a tip Aug 2022
Carolina, Puerto Rico12 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are better places to stay elsewhere. You have been forewarned what to expect at Knights Inn. The place is run by good people."
Read full review
Maureen G wrote a tip Aug 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay there!"
Read full review
LathamJeanne wrote a tip Aug 2022
Latham, New York79 contributions47 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place if possible"
Read full review
Z6202AZkathyk wrote a tip Aug 2017
Castle Creek, United States5 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Doesn't matter. It is behind a Body Shop, so lots of tires, broken cars, and car parts."
Read full review
Jerard W wrote a tip Aug 2017
New York City, New York25 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I have no tips, correction check the place fully before paying money."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Liberty area.
PRICE RANGE
₹7,598 - ₹9,351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
howard johnson inn liberty hotel liberty, howard johnson liberty, howard johnson hotel liberty
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Howard Johnson Inn Liberty
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkCatskill RegionSullivan CatskillsLiberty
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KNIGHTS INN LIBERTY - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Knights Inn Liberty
Which popular attractions are close to Knights Inn Liberty?
Nearby attractions include Liberty Heights (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Knights Inn Liberty?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Knights Inn Liberty?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Knights Inn Liberty?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Knights Inn Liberty?
Conveniently located restaurants include Yiasou Cafe, Liberty Diner, and Piccolo Paese Ristorante Italiano.
Are pets allowed at Knights Inn Liberty?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Knights Inn Liberty accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire