We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Explorers River Camp

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Explorers River Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Start your review of Explorers River Camp
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a day rafting with Nile River Explorerss. Was incredible and our guide Koa was amazing. He made us feel safe yet gave us an exciting trip. The campsife was a lovely place to chill for a few days and to organise other water activities. Bar was well stocked and lively.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty W
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Kirsty W. I will ensure your compliments of Koa are passed on.

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a great time here. The staff were excellent and the food was great. Good atmosphere and value for money! I decided to stay for a few extra days since I enjoyed rafting so much and this was very easy to do and I was given good discounts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeatherFeather1989
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I came here with a group of 23 people and we spent 4 nights here and everyone loved it. It's very secure, clean, and most importantly, hot showers! It's very convenient to have a bar /restaurant at the camp. If you choose to go into the town that's also easily accessible. They will also organize all sorts of activities if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wmena
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review

Thanks for the review wmena.

Frisco, Texas
Reviewed 28 November 2016

I traveled alone from Kigali to Kampala by bus, and I decided to go over to Jinga for the night to get away from the chaos in the city. I took a taxi from downtown Kampala to Jinga (6,000 UGX). It took about three hours with moderate traffic to get to Jinga. I exchanged money downtown on a Saturday around...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cay1979
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Cay1979, I will ensure your comments about the massage are passed on to our camp managers.

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Explorers River Camp for 6 nights. The location is great overlooking the Nile. It's easy to go to Jinja with a Boda. The tents overlooking the Nile are lovely - a bit cramped but once you get organized it'll do just fine. Had 2 nights in a double room which I wouldn't recommend. It gets really noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amalie Schultz H
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review

Thanks Amalie Schultz H for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are appreciated.

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Great view from the picnic tables off the bar. There isn't a lot to see on the Nile cruise they offer, but it's still a nice way to wind down the day on the water. The bar did get some traffic on Saturday night, but the real noise came from the town outside the camp; disco all night, children up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat9699
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Kat9699. Yes, unfortunately the local village does occasionally like to party.

Reviewed 9 August 2016

Went here to raft, and ended up loving this place. Could easily have stayed a couple of more nights. The dorms were very small, but we all knew each other who stayed there, so for me that was no problem. Might be a bit of a hassle if you end up with strangers. The restaurant with the amazing view over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Straahl
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review

Thanks Straahl, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Cream Ridge, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 August 2016

I came here for one Saturday night with a group of 8. We stayed in the safari tents (2 people per tent, $35 for one night) which were great! The food was really good, and on saturdays they have a 7-9pm happy hour where you can buy 2 beers for 1. The bar/restaurant area was overlooking the lake, and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nandini S
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We were warmly welcomed upon arrival, shown to our accommodations which were tents with beds (for those who want a camping experience but don't do well with sleeping bags), had a light bulb inside, chairs to sit just outside (balcony of a kind), a table, mirror, towels & even a lockable suitcase to keep your belongings!! The showers are just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kanylll
Uganda
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We live/work in Uganda and have stayed here twice so far (May 2016 and July 2016). This place is about a 20-25 minute drive from Jinja town. The communal hangout area and bar has great views over the water and feel like a great, hangout/chill spot. The bar area can get a bit wild at night and turn into a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank worldadventurer813
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review

Dear beachbum0623, Thank you for the review of Explorers River Camp, we are please you enjoyed your stay and apologise if you feel the rooms were a bit cramped. It is our experience that with such a fantastic view of the Nile that very few people spend much time in the actual accommodation. There is Bilharzia is the Nile, as...

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jinja hotels
3.1 km away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#1 of 7 in Jinja
147 reviews
8.7 km away
Brisk Hotel Triangle
Brisk Hotel Triangle
#4 of 7 in Jinja
38 reviews
6.1 km away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Source Of The Smile Hotel
1.2 km away
Holland Park
Holland Park
#6 of 25 in Jinja
146 reviews
17.5 km away
Wildwaters Lodge
Wildwaters Lodge
#1 of 25 in Jinja
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fantastic views of the Nile, a well stocked bar and excellent meals have made this site one of East Africa’s most popular places to stay. Whether you are camping, staying in dormitories or rooms, our bar deck overlooking the river is the perfect place to enjoy a cold beer and amazing sunsets. The trees above boast a multitude of tropical bird life and the ‘riverside showers’ alone have become famous for the incredible scenery they overlook. Lush terraces offer secluded safari tents with stunning views of the River Nile. Secure and cozy with fresh linen at your disposal, they have become extremely popular. Numbers are limited so it is strongly advised you book well in advance.In addition to our terraced safari tens we now offer standard safari tents in the main camping area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Explorers River Camp

Address: Bujagali, Jinja 2155, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Price Range: ₹ 1,507 - ₹ 1,572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Explorers River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Explorers River Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Safari tents quietest and have best views.”
 of 5 bubbles poaliker, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Take a trip to Ithanda falls with a motorbike”
 of 5 bubbles BaviaansNick, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the lodgings with a view of the Nile. The view is just stunning!”
  • Sunset view of the Nile from the top deck (bar)
 of 5 bubbles 862val_riep, 5 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Choose Safari Tent Extras as far from the bar as possible - noise and people walking past your tent will be minimised”
 of 5 bubbles laurabX6222IM, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“If you get a chance to stay in the glam tents overlooking the river - DO IT! I wish we did.”
  • Glam Tents
  • View from themed shower
 of 5 bubbles JennaC_NZ, 26 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Jumia Travel
* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates