We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

944 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 909: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was pretty perfect - and we were somehow upgraded from estuary view to seaview which we could lie in bed and appreciate. Loved the semi-outdoor shower. Neighbours at times a bit too close and their cigarette smoke seemed to come in through the thatch... Food was very good if just too plentiful and frequent - but hey, it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoziTwirl
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Reviewed 1 week ago

The surroundings are beautiful and the rooms are top quality. The fish eagle trip as well as the mangrove trip was wonderful. It is really a pity the quality of food not matches above and the relatively high prices. The staff was friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan Lund S
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jan, Thank you so much for your kind review, happy you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the activities on offer. Your comment on the food is noted and wish to let you know we have now employed a new Executive Chef in the meantime so hope you would appreciate the changes made. Thank you so much for...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow, this lodge is an amazing location. Some of the chalet are on the river and they have a very nice view. The food is good but the staff at the restaurant they are quite slow and a bit confusing, we were waiting log time for our meal. Our room was super clean and with a huge bed, with a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elsa D
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Best family getaway in the world. Have not changed the winning formula for 50 years . Can't get better service, food and child friendly facilities anywhere. Umngazi needs to be on everyone's list at least ounce.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grantsafrica
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Umngazi Guest, Thank you so much for this wonderful review, it is great to read that the whole Family enjoyed their Umngazi holiday! We certainly look forward to welcoming you all back again soon. Kind regards, Graham

Sandon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here as part of a trip from Hazyview to Capetown (the whole journey took 6 weeks) and the resort is delightfully located with great seaviews and wonderfully attentive staff. The only minor complaints are 1)that whilst the food is good (and in more than ample quantities) it does not quite live up to the write up on the website...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hertfordshirelad
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Umngazi Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review, it was lovely that you had indeed enjoyed your stay with us and of course the appreciation of our amazing location on the Wild Coast, it is certainly the most magnificent setting. With regards to the road the Provincial Roads department has assured us that they will be addressing...

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What can I say, a happy return for the umpteenth time & no disappointment in site.Evergreen !! The people are as still amazingly helpful,accommodating& really friendly from the guy who meets you at the gate to the general manager.I must say it was a nice touch from our gracious hosts who run the place to have their personal recommendations on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lumko M
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Umngazi Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review, it is greatly appreciated. It was wonderful to read how the tram had taken care of you and of course that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your support and of course look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Graham

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of city life and spend your days on an isolated beach then this is the place for you. However, use a 4x4 to get there. We flew in to Mthatha airport and then took a 2 hour rip by road to get to the place. Lots of road works...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eugene S
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Umngazi Guest, Thank you so much for the review, it is of course greatly appreciated. The road we have been promised by the Provincial Government will be attended to in the coming months, I think it is that many people are in a rush to get to Umngazi to start their holiday so tend to drive straight through the...

Winterton, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited for lunch which we enjoyed on a shady verandah overlooking the pool and lagoon. Food was presented in a professional buffet style, freshly prepared, attractively displayed and replenished as necessary. Tasty and enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bergview
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Umngazi Guest, Thank you so much for this kind review, so happy you enjoyed your lunch and hopefully next time we get to welcome you back for longer. Thank you so much for the support. Kind regards, Graham

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The service was excellent. Food is delicious. Rooms are clean and tidy. Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa is situated in the WildCoast, Eastern Cape, one of the most beautiful places in South Africa. Everything at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa is great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonard G
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Leonard. Thank you so much for this wonderful review, so good to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and had enjoyed the beauty of our surrounds. Thank you so much for the support, I do hope we get to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Graham

Kloof, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What an awesome stay - so relaxing, wonderful food with a huge menu & choices & with an uphill walk to our chalet to help digest the meal 😃 Plenty staff to facilitate all needs. One of the best spa experiences I've had

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Letitia M
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Letitia, Thank you for much for this wonderful review it was great to read that you had enjoyed every aspect of your holiday, just as it should be and how we would want it! Thank you so much for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future. Kind regards, Graham

372 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (361)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (156)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port St Johns
6.9 km away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
203 reviews
7.1 km away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
44 reviews
35.8 km away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#4 of 14 in Port St Johns
68 reviews
6.2 km away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#6 of 14 in Port St Johns
23 reviews
10.9 km away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tucked away on the Wild Coast, in the heart of Pondoland, and encompassed by a rocky coastline, indigenous forests, secluded coves and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, lies the award winning Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa - an award winning family resort & spa. The thatch-roofed bungalows are situated amongst the indigenous gardens which provide the perfect setting for a totally relaxed holiday. Weekly fly-in packages are available Friday to Friday from Durban where you fly at 500 feet above sea level along the beautiful coastline - a wonderful way to start your holiday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

Address: i, Port St Johns, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Hotel Class:4 star — Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Umngazi River Bungalows Hotel Port St Johns
Umngazi River Hotel
Umngazi River Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would say a sea-view is preferable to a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles EvaKateJane, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The beach view rooms are the best but also the most expensive.”
 of 5 bubbles DianeG514, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Sea- facing rooms really are lovely.”
  • Room 48 on the left
  • Room 41a
 of 5 bubbles KyleMartin83, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“prices vary according to bungalow location”
 of 5 bubbles jerushah2013, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Couples should try book in Emolyeni rooms - private and on the river with sea views”
 of 5 bubbles MegCr0sby, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5