We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel North Woods

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel North Woods
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 172: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel North Woods
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I am going back here for the 3rd year, own my own b and b and find this place wonderful,staff are always helpful and very nice,rooms are clean,beds are excellent,and breakfast is the best in Lake Placid

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandi B
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel North Woods. We sincerely appreciate all your kind words about our staff and establishment! Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us determine what we are doing right, and things we could do to improve. Thank you as well for you continued...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms look like they have been redone recently. We weren't able to control the heat - the thermostat said 61, but it was 71 in the room. The fan ran constantly, so we had to unplug it. The room was really small, but clean and comfortable. I would suggest bringing your own pillows because they were really small and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaime F
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your room, but am sorry that you experienced issues with the in-room heater. Yes, we did recently remodel all of our rooms which included Tempu-Pedic beds in every room as well as the carpeting, and all the other decor. I am...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at A LOT of hotels over the years, both for pleasure and business, with large groups and solo, but THIS was a "unique" experience. It has been my experience that front desk staff most often will bend over backwards to make you happy, while housekeeping staff tends to be more... quiet, reserved. I found the exact opposite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZoeBear9
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this review

Thank you for providing your candid feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our centralized location and the restaurant staff. I'm also delighted that our housekeeping staff was able to provide you with such an exceptional experience. I would like to apologize though, for the issues you had with the front desk...

Deer Park, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Where to start. The rooms are dirty, the whole place smells terrible. Lady at the front looked like she wanted to die rather than work another day there, and that translated into a lackluster service. The parking is atrocious. I was even told I had to move by a snotty old man because I didn't have my parking permit yet....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tico42
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I sincerely regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for noticing the recent remodeling of our guest rooms. I do apologize for the inconveniences you may have experienced due to our limited parking. Many non-guests try to park in our lot, so we have to monitor the lot to...

Freeport, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Location is right in the middle of town. Walk out the front door and go right to the beach and left to shops and restaurants. The Plus - Big Comfortable Room with Balcony - Room had two VERY Comfortable Queen Beds with. If sitting area and bathroom - The Hotel was clean, had bikes for rent and two restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TwoBoysOneDad
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel North Woods. We truly appreciate your kind words about our amazing location and friendly staff. The hotel originally had a pool, but it was removed many years ago to create the parking lot. I'm so sorry for any inconveniences you may have experienced due to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I and our friends spent Saturday night there. The power went out in Lake Placid at 3:30 Saturday afternoon and did not come back by the time we left Sunday morning at 8AM. The Manager was exceptional!! He brought us together in the lobby for a fun time. A guest played his guitar while we all sang....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nancy M
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding your recent stay! The power outage was certainly a wild evening, the likes of which we haven't seen in over a decade. I am delighted that you were able to pass a memorable evening with the band and impromptu mardi gras party. The manager did...

Clifton Park, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely staff and good food. View of Lake Placid and Mirror Lake was beautiful. Rooms are much smaller than they appear in photos. Our one bedroom w sofa bed for 4 was very tight, especially w the sofa bed out at night. Spotty wifi made it difficult to do work in the room, kept getting disconnected. Poor parking; We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eavrich
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel North Woods and for taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry that you found our rooms to be smaller than anticipated. As for the Wi-Fi we are working on honing in our signal, and include a phone number in your room so that you can call our carrier directly which allows...

Ajax, Canada
Reviewed 7 February 2017

This hotel has lots of charm. Our room was large with a nice sitting area, a lovely separate bedroom with a view of Mirror Lake. It is convenient as it is on the main street and lots of shops are nearby. We loved eating breakfast in their restaurant which featured delicious options and hearty portions. The bar features Blues bands...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heatherd15
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this review

Thanks you for your fantastic review of Hotel North Woods. Our team is very pleased to hear that the accommodations offered were the perfect choice for your recent visit. We value all feedback from our guests as it helps us determine what we are doing right, and how we can make things even better. We look forward to hosting you...

Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay!! I use to live in Lake Placid, and have been back numerous times since, staying in many different hotels. This was one of my favorite, and the price is great. Right on Main Street, Starbucks next door, everything walking distance. Nice modern roomy rooms. Highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brigitta F
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this review

Dear Brigitta, Thanks so much for choosing Hotel North Woods, and for taking the time to post such a nice review! Our team is very pleased to hear that the accommodations offered were the perfect choice for your recent visit. Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you next time you are in the area.

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Had a great visit. Stayed at other LP hotels in the past 10 years. For location, convenience, free parking, friendly staff & value it was the best. Not fancy but comfortable with character. Traveled with teenagers and the North Woods staff unlike some other LP hotels treated them with respect. Thanks, they're good kids. I'll be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lew M
Pam S, Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel North Woods. We truly appreciate your compliments and kind words about the staff as well as all the hotel has to offer. We work very hard to make all our guests feel welcome here. Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Pam...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,227 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.1 km away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
85 reviews
1.9 km away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
512 reviews
0.5 km away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Cabin Grill
The Cabin Grill
Cuisines: Healthy
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel North Woods enjoys the preeminent location in the village of Lake Placid. With 92 newly refurbished guest suites you have your choice of lake view suites with stunning views of Mirror Lake, Whiteface Mountain, and the High Peaks, their attendant sunrises, sunsets, and the magic and vibrancy of Lake Placid. Hillside Suites have private balconies. As the home of the now legendary Delta Blue, and The Cabin Grill, and with a compliment of over 6,000 sq. ft. of versatile function space, the Hotel North Woods can provide full a la carte meal service, or host receptions and dinners in excess of one hundred people. With the Olympic Arena and the Lake Placid Conference Center only a four minute walk away, the Mirror Lake Beach only a five minute walk, and with the abundance of shopping and dining attractions outside the front door, we can assure that you will have all of Lake Placid at your fingertips when you stay at the Hotel North Woods. We do not guarantee onsite parking, if our lot is full there is a max of USD 5.00/day charge in village lots. Minimum check-in age is 18. Also be advised that a USD 50.00 refundable security deposit will be collected at check-in for incidentals. As of June of 2015, all guest rooms have been completely renovated. Amenities include refrigerators and microwaves in all rooms and complimentary hi-speed WiFi. Note: Check-in time is 4pm and Check-out time is 11am EST. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel North Woods

Address: 2520 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Price Range: ₹ 5,371 - ₹ 13,953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel North Woods 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Hotel North Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwoods Hotel Lake Placid
Northwoods Lake Placid
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel North Woods staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Coventry, United Kingdom
Rochester, New York
over a year ago
De Pere, Wisconsin
6 months ago
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel North Woods staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with views have no balconies. Rooms with balconies have no views. All-suite is a bit misleading.”
 of 5 bubbles ZoeBear9, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Largest room if you are traveling with more than 2 people in your party. Worth paying little extra for the view.”
 of 5 bubbles Eavrich, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The 6th floor had amazing view of the town, mountains, and lake”
 of 5 bubbles K2396BFsamanthah, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upper level rooms that face town have a great view of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles Jann01, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure if the balcony is worth much as it looks into the parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles slalemand, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5