We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area

Save
Share
356 Elmira Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-5115
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
FindHotel
$99
View deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Traveluro$133
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area
Updated 02/06/20

About

#18 of 24 in Ithaca
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Quality Inn their hotel of choice when visiting Ithaca. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Rooms at Quality Inn offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

A fitness center and breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Quality Inn, free parking is available.

Nearby landmarks such as Sciencenter Sagan Planet Walk (1.4 mi) and Downtown Ithaca (1.5 mi) make Quality Inn a great place to stay when visiting Ithaca.

While in Ithaca, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Quality Inn, including MIX Kitchen and Bar (0.8 mi), Saigon Kitchen (1.2 mi), and Maxie's Supper Club and Oyster Bar (1.1 mi).

If you’re looking for something to do, Buttermilk Falls State Park (0.6 mi) and Ithaca Beer Co. (1.1 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Quality Inn.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Quality Inn as you experience all of the things Ithaca has to offer.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Shuttle bus service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family

Location

Full view
56Somewhat walkable
Grade: 56 out of 100
25Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
256Reviews1Q+A53Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 32
  • 95
  • 59
  • 37
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Debra V wrote a review Sep 2021
Woodstock, Georgia144 contributions54 helpful votes
Stayed at this hotel end of July. If I could give it zero stars I would. Because we checked in with a dog they put us at the end of the hotel near their area for dogs. Which wasn't a problem. But the moment we walked into the room we were hit with a wall of humidity even they the a/c was running. No matter what we did the a/c didn't go past a foot from the wall. No other rooms available that night. Next day the carpet was soaked under the a/c unit. Went to the front desk to try for another room but nothing available that night either. They said they would send someone back to check on a/c unit. Came back late afternoon and room still unmade and a/c still not working. Per the front desk they were short staffed and the maintenance guy had already left for the weekend. Still no room to change to. Came back again later that night and room still not made up and no clean towels. Since the room was so humid or towels never dried. I tried calling up to the front desk only to find out the phone in room didn't work either. Had to go to the front desk just to get some towels. Next day requested another room. Finally got a new room for our final night. Next day upon checking out requested a refund for the first 2 nights of the horrible room and service. Manager on-site said she was putting it in for a refund that day. Called several times to speak to the manager and never received a call back. Took 2 months to finally receive the refund. Also, breakfast was included. We were better served with the food at Dunkin Donuts next store. Without a doubt the worst service and facility.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
eja117 wrote a review Aug 2021
New England347 contributions116 helpful votes
Didn't like the neighborhood. The breakfast was the cheap grab bag thing that every place in America is doing because of Covid, so there was a fruit cup, muffin, coffee, juice, yogurt, which is fine, but when you come in there's this big banner showing waffles. Take the banner down. No soap in the room. They said they were out. Then drive down to the Wal Mart and get some soap. Hall ways smelled musty. Wife thought it smelled like smoking. I see a review that says bed bugs. I didn't see that at all.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
talia_lewi wrote a review Jul 2021
Oneonta, New York47 contributions5 helpful votes
Great location and price, but the rooms are dark, moist, and musty. We found burn holes in our sheets and there was a lingering cigarette smell. Overall, gross. We won't be staying there again. I would rather pay $100 more per night to stay across the street.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
MarG wrote a review Jul 2021
Vienna, Virginia2 contributions1 helpful vote
I would give 5 stars if I could: 1. Their web site says daily housekeeping but it is not true. The first night, when we returned from our sightseeing, we found the room undone, the beds were not done, bathroom was not cleaned, garbage cans not emptied. The followinf morning we ask the receptionist and she said that "they did not have time to do the housekeeping". The fact is that we did not see a single housekeeping lady the whole morning in the corridor and rhe hotel only has two sory levels. Totally unacceptable. 2. They have a note in the bathroom stating that unless you request it, they only change bed linens and towels every 3 days to "save the environment". Difficult to believe their concern with the environment when EVERYTHING in this place is unrecyclable, single-use plastic. 3. The breakfast is a joke. They have a machine to make waffles but it is out of service due to Covid safety guidelines, really? The mask is not requested in the premises common areas nor is the safety distance. But conveniently for this hotel, no waffles. 4. There are other hotels near by, a bit more expensive but worth it. Avoid this dump.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Paradise381330 wrote a review May 2021
New York City, New York3 contributions
After a 45 minute check in process because the hotel "lost" our reservation, we were given Room 142 which strangely had its lights on when we entered. As always, we inspected the mattresses and here we found beg bug feces at the head of the bed closest to the sliding glass door. It was reported to the desk which offered us a different room several doors down, but said its only bed bug policy is to inspect (which clearly was not being done). So, we checked out immediately and were forced to find a different hotel at 1a and asked for the manager to call us. We got no call back, but the hotel refused to refund the prepaid fee for 2 nights. AVOID!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Solange R wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
men mulling around parking lot all Hours of the day. Smoking in cars. Collecting cans on bikes and passed out on the grass. Lady with two dogs living in her room operating a business moving items to a fro. Nice staff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western Inn, Other at Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area
Responded 5 Oct 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to point out your concern with the hotel, we look at one to ensure we improve our hotel
Read more
NicoleH788 wrote a review Oct 2019
West Seneca, New York160 contributions57 helpful votes
This hotel came up on our search when we were looking for a place to stay near the Center for the Arts - it was reasonably priced, clean, and well-stocked with cookies in the lobby. Friendly staff, nice sized room, close to the highway and the cute little main street. I would definitely stay here again for the price and the convenience of the location.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
cyclerad wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
The original room they gave us was not correct. We booked a king bed and the first room was 2 beds. they corrected this for us after we showed the online reservation. The room was very humid and felt damp all the time, even with the AC running all day. We had many issues with our room key not working and I was given a total of 3 different sets. It would work for the exterior door to let you into the hotel but not on the room. Most of the staff were nice but a few just didn't seem like they had a clue.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Choice Hotels
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Best47958, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area
Responded 29 Jul 2019
Thank you for your feedback and apologize for the keys not working. With the weather as hot as it was, it was a challenge to keep the building comfortable. We hope when returning to Ithaca, you might give another chance. Your comments makes us all the better to accommodate our guests in the future. Best, Jim
Read more
jen1382019 wrote a review Jul 2019
Rocky Point, New York2 contributions
Outdated with overpriced weekend rates. Small beds, no soundproofing so you hear every door opening and closing around you at all hours of the night. They ran out of multiple breakfast items (including plates) and there is no staff at front desk.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Choice Hotels
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Best47958, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area
Responded 29 Jul 2019
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. The rooms have two double beds as published online. We apologize for the breakfast items as the hotel was quite hectic that weekend. We hope you will give another chance when visiting Ithaca. Kind regards, Jim
Read more
jbach1021 wrote a review Jul 2019
Massillon, Ohio119 contributions82 helpful votes
This Quality Inn was only fair as far as Choice Hotels go. Our room had a mix of new updates as well as old furnishings. The bathroom was nicely re-done, however! My chief concern was the threadbare and pilled sheets. The front desk said the property was in the process of replacing the linens. Our AC did not cool below 75 degrees. Breakfast was the usual. Be sure to go early, though. It was slightly disappointing for being in a college town.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Best47958, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area
Responded 8 Jul 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that our accommodations were not typical of a Choice hotel. We are making changes daily and your comments will assist in our services, We hope you will give another chance in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$109 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort hotel ithaca, comfort inn ithaca, ithaca comfort inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Comfort Inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkFinger LakesIthaca
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area
Which popular attractions are close to Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area?
Nearby attractions include Buttermilk Falls State Park (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area?
Conveniently located restaurants include Old Mexico, Texas Roadhouse, and Five Guys.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area have airport transportation?
Yes, Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Quality Inn Ithaca - University Area accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.