We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN University Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN University Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN University Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 451: English reviews
Streamwood, United States
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Very nice hotel with all the things I come to expect. Had the 2 Queen Beds, Microwave and Fridge. All of which worked great. Also the internet is not bad at all, no issues when I was there with connectivity or slowness.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thanks for the kind words on the Best Western. We are glad you enjoyed the room with two queen beds. We are working with our internet provider to ensure guests are able to access the internet better than ever. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Jim McMann

New York
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Room was nice, it was clean, it was very close to Cornell University, the pool looked good, we didn't go in it, though, it was close to town and all the restaurants, I would recommend this hotel to others, the price was reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virginia c
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Virginia, Thank you for your kind words on the hotel. Proximity to the Cornell campus is one our best selling features, especially with the lack of parking . If you didn't have a chance, the shuttle does go to The Commons in the evening, if you are looking for a variety of dining options. Hope to see you again!...

Kendall park, United States
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Staff is very professional and location is very close to downtown and all other attractions. Best experience stay at hotel.This is my definetely go to hotel for Ithaca stay. It has large rooms and pool.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pinakin P
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Pinakin, We really appreciate your great review of the Best Western! I believe our location is one of our best attributes up here in the East Hill Plaza. Many of our guests are surprised that there are quite a few great eateries right here, along with a 24 hour grocery store. We look forward to having you as our...

Black Canyon City
Reviewed 23 July 2015

As usual, you guys blew the competition away, only my experience was better than normal. the internet was fast (24 Gb/s) and the bed spreads were plush, you know those resorts where you want to take the robe home, well we wanted to take the comforters home... they were the best.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Peter, We are really liked our comforters! We just got them and they really make sleeping a great experience. It always makes our job easier when we get a 5 star review. Thanks again and looking forward to seeing you in the future. Best, Jim McMann

Reviewed 19 July 2015

Very convenient to Cornell U, Grocery store and several restaurants within walking distance. Staff was friendly and responsive to our couple of small requests. Breakfast standard for this type of motel. Room and halls were clean, but the exterior clearly showed neglect and lack of caring. Exterior entrances were littered, etc but never cleaned during the 1 week we were...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank donbC7662HY
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear don, Thanks for taking a moment and filling out an evaluation of the Best Western. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location, staff and your room. We are disappointed that you were not happy with the exterior location. It is the responsibility of the housekeeping department to vacuum the entrances in each section of the building. We will...

Reviewed 13 July 2015

For the second weekend in a row we had a great time in Ithica and it all started with This hotel. Great staff and outstanding location not just to the campus of Cornell but to everything you want to do. Very nice breakfast as well. We got up early each morning just so we didn't miss it. My wife loved...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Wow, what a great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your staff and your wife loved the waffle machine! I hope you had the chance to explore all that Cornell has to offer, including all the gorges. We definitely will print your comments for our staff to see. Please contact us again when you return to Ithaca....

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We were satisfied with this hotel. Clean, comfortable beds and dipped my feet in the pool for a few minutes before going to dinner. The breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly. Thank you for the quality stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Todd, We are glad you were satisfied with your stay with us! Thank you for your comments on the breakfast, as well. We hope will return to Ithaca again and take a dip in our pool! Best, Jim McMann

Borden, Indiana
Reviewed 13 July 2015

I was visiting Cornell for business and the motels in Ithaca seemed to be filled by conferences, so options were limited. During a 10 day trip to New York we also stayed in several Holiday Inn Express and Microtel Inns. All were about 1/2 the price of the Best Western and had better facilities across the board. The Best Western...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BurnsHollowers
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear BurnsHollowers, We are extremely disappointed that you found the Best Western not to your standards. There is no excuse for your experience with the breakfast area. We did have two very large weddings last weekend. We open the pool in the morning for guests to have their breakfast. I have a made a copy of your comments on the...

Reviewed 8 July 2015

My daughter and I stayed here during our visit to Cornell. Was very close to Cornell and they offer free shuttle service so that you don't have to worry about parking at Cornell, which can be difficult. Very nice, large room with 2 queen beds and sofa sleeper, great bathroom. Nice breakfast with plenty of choices. Price was somewhat high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Barbara, Thanks for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to the Cornell campus. Parking can be a challenge, but our close proximity and shuttle are a great benefit when coming to campus. We are glad you also enjoyed the breakfast. Should your daughter decide to attend Cornell, we hope we will...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 4 July 2015

We stayed here while visiting Cornell University, a short drive away. Our hotel room was surprisingly large, as was the bathroom. It was very comfortable. There was free wifi and free breakfast. The hotel has an outdoor pool, although it was rainy most of the time we were there, so we didn't use it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beth A
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Beth A., Yes, unfortunately the weather was not on our side this last weekend. We hope you had the chance to use our free shuttle service to Cornell during your stay with us. Should you be returning to the area in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us. Kind regards, Jim McMann

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
5.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
619 reviews
3.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
4.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
209 reviews
4.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located only 1/2 mile from Cornell University and 12 minutes from Ithaca College, the hotel is located in the East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. Hotel is approximately 1 mile from downtown Ithaca. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn

Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Rd, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Price Range: ₹ 7,974 - ₹ 14,837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN University Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN University Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“a good room is far, far away”
 of 5 bubbles RobertD161, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Hotel promises pet-free rooms, but broke that promise!”
 of 5 bubbles CNYTravelView, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“"All rooms are the same" per the receptionist, which would mean that all rooms have old mattresses and slightly worn rugs.”
 of 5 bubbles jeremysmom, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go to Collegetown Coffee just a few steps away in the plaza. Much better fare for breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles Fotogrrl247, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I think there's an extra charge to accommodate pets; they also have a slightly discounted "hospital" rate.”
 of 5 bubbles 544pk, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5